We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No electronic console hook up on extremely outdated TVs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #60 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Reviewed October 21, 2012

I travel a bit for my job and usually I will have to stay several days. I've learned to tag along with me my PS3 when I want to relax with DVDs or just to play some games before bed. Most hotels I've been to have outputs for it, if not HDMI at least A/V. The tvs here have a/v outputs but are not compatible with ps3 or any console. Assuming this is so you're forced to spend more money buying movies THEY have. otherwise the hotel is extremely outdated but concierge and staff are helpful. Only wish is that they'd get rid of the 90s Zenith box TVs and invest in some flat screens. But that's just my personal preference.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anela12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RudyFao, Manager at Airport Honolulu Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2012

Aloha and mahalo for your candid review. We sincerely apologize that you were not able to use your PS3 during your stay with you. We do currently have some Deluxe rooms available with LG flat screen TVs and I-Home docking stations and we will be upgrading all our TVs early next year.
We are glad that you found our staff helpful and we hope you'll return next year to enjoy our new TVs.

Mahalo for staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,063)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

684 - 690 of 1,063 reviews

Reviewed October 14, 2012

Although hotel close to aiprot and free shuttle etc, it remined me of a basic motel and not an airport Hotel

There is no bar - Restaurant only opens 3 nights a week and to eat you get bussed to another hotel.on other nights

Staff were OK but I expected more - I was travelling on business and had 2 1/2 nighst to wait on the way to my detsination and 1 day 2 nights on the way back. I ws tired but had to go find somewhere to eat when I wnated something or buy some noodles at the shop

Would I stay there again No would look for something whcih services my needs more but just did not want to go all the way to Waikiki

Probably Ok for families who might snack in etc

Just felt that property lacked any real desire to be anything but provide the absolute minimum in services

I chose a brand name ghotle figuring as a tarnsit palce it would have open restaurants and a bar where you can sit and chat with someone while watching the sports

Room Tip: If you want a break between flights with restaurant and bar to fill in time - this is not the palce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PoppaHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. We stayed here in September overnight as we had an early flight in the morning to LA. The staff are very friendly and helpful and the kids loved the pool. We didnt hear any freeway noise as others have mentioned.
The room was very clean and roomy. The shuttle bus to the airport was free and ran regularly which was very convenient
I probably wouldnt stay here for more than a couple of nights as it isnt close to much, but for an overnight stay it was more than adequate.
Would definately choose to stay here again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SophieT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2012

The Ohana airport hotel was an express bid on Priceline. We were pleasantly surprised at how nice the entire hotel was. The pool closed early. The best thing is that if you are just stopping in Honolulu to fly to another island the next day, this is probably the closest hotel to the airport with a free airport shuttle. The beds were only full sized beds and a bit small. Good morning coffee in the room.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 1, 2012

Our travel agent suggested we stay here overnight on our way home from Canada, as we had an early departure the next day. We arrived late with fellow travellers, and the check-in process was long and painful as there was only one lady on duty and she appeared to be on "island time". Our room was basic - clean and comfortable, but one of the bedside lamps didn't work. We were tired and hungry after a 6 hour flight and were told that the pool closed at 7pm and the restaurant wasn't open on Mondays. Whilst convenient, the free airport shuttle is not really free as you are expected to tip the driver $2 for each bag you have. The shuttle was made available to take dinner guests to the restaurant at their "sister hotel" (Best Western) down the road. Unfortunately when we finally got there it was noisy and crowded with young families and undisciplined children running around - not the ideal place for us. The staff here were also on island time, and made you queue up just to be seated. Then you had to wait again to order, and they offered us soup and salad to offset the delay in delivering our ordered meal - which we declined. The menu was classic American junkfood - so we chose what we thought was the healthiest option and ate an hour and a half. after our arrival. On the upside, the food and accommodation was fairly cheap. As Hawaii is a large US military base, the airport hotels are popular with military personnel and families, who seem to be given preference over regular tourists. Therefore next time I would stay longer than one night and go into Waikiki where you will have a better experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FAF10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Attractive rooms, clean and good value airport stopover for morning flight. Convenient airport location with shuttle servive. Very reasonable prices. We were very pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel for the price we paid in Honolulu, an expensive city.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsJNK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent one night and room was clean and comfortable, nice pool area and lobby. Easy one block walk to Starbucks, small grocery, barbeque, Asian and other fast food. Airport shuttle was reliable, and near a bus stop if you want to got into downtown Honolulu w/o a car.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sim-Albany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Pagoda Hotel
#70 of 84 in Honolulu
513 reviews
Downtown Honolulu
Aston at the Executive Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $161 - $242 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, HotelPower, Travelocity, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing