We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family 2 Month Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Airport Honolulu Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Airport Honolulu Hotel
Ranked #58 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Family 2 Month Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2012

This review is helpful to those who travel with a family and need to stay at the hotel for a long period of time. We are a military family pcsing to Hawaii and and had to stay temporarily at this hotel 2 months until housing was available on base. There were allot of things we liked and a few dislikes about our stay at the Ohana Airport Hotel. Likes: Location was great, very close to 3 military bases and the NEX Mall, and 20 mins bus ride from Waikiki, $10 food vouchers to the hotel restaurant help save money, breakfast menu was great, room service and maid was excellent, the room and beds were comfortable, highway and airport noise was never an issue. Dislikes or things that needs changing: the restaurant dinner menu needs updating bad and needs more island type dishes on it, the down stair restrooms needs a baby changing table, the rooms need to have brooms & or push none electric vacuum so the tenant can clean up a mess if needed, parking is limited, hotel needs a playground for small children, the high cost of $3.00 just to wash clothes.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Burnella O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

997 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    345
    303
    106
    69
See reviews for
222
363
139
167
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (182)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lithgow
Level Contributor
48 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2012

We stayed here for our last night after spending 9 nights in Waikiki and then travelling to the Big Island for 4 nights, we decided to stay close to the airport to convenience on our last night. Lovely airy, bright rooms, very clean and good sized bathroom. Comfortable beds. Pool lovely with towels available. Shuttle bus very reliable to airport. "The Bus" at door to go into Waikiki for $2.50 (which we did for the evening). They do breakfast and dinner, but no lunch, but just a short walk is several lunch type places to get food. We had a good quiet room overlooking the pool, but I think it would be noisy if you were closer to the front of the hotel next to H1 freeway. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good little store downstairs for drink, snacks, etc. Overall a lovely place for one or two night stay.

Room Tip: Room overlooking pools would be the best I think.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aussie333Lithgow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012 via mobile

Perfectly fine for late arrivals or early departures. Very convenient, friendly staff, clean facilities. Good value for money. Starbucks a short stroll away and it's not completely isolated. Wouldn't stay here for more than one or two nights due to location outside the city.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Delfinita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2012

It is an airport hotel, nothing more. The decor is dated and a horrible yellow colour, but it is a convenient location for early/late flights and comfortable enough. Inter-linking doors in room let in far too much noise from adjacent rooms though, especially when there are loud familes around (and there seemed to be a lot of them!). With better sound insulation and a less depressing decor, it would be better than average.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CunningLinguist2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sceaux, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I have been at this hotel twice since the last twelve months and have found it to be more than correct for it's services. .
I personally think that the location make it more suited for some travelers than for others: better for stop-overs,short stays or for new military transfers(Pearl Harbor & Hickam AFB are neighbors).

The staff was friendly and helpful, the room extra clean( thank you, room service ladies!) and coffee machine, fridge and microwave which were wonderful to have. My husband appreciated the pool very much. And yes, the free shuttle service was so useful.

The hotel location is of course, not a Waikiki experience(it is in an industrial zone and with the airport behind, the highway in front), but, that is what an airport hotel is. Not all rooms are under the highway with the noises; ours faced towards the industrial zone side.

Some tips: if the hotel restaurant (Willoughbys), is closed, the free airport shuttle can drop you off at nearby Plaza hotel to eat at their restaurant.

There is also a small mall on the street behind the hotel (exit out the back parking lot and then 5 minutes on foot). The mall has a Starbucks on the corner and also a few others behind Starbucks (sushi shop,pizza, L&L local style food,convenience store, etc).

If you don't have a car(which was our case) the city bus lines pass in front of the hotel( $2.50 w/ a free transfer). Ask the desk clerk to point the stop out the stop to you. Buses reguarly that are bound for Waikiki and Ala Moana shopping center will take you where you want to go downtown very easily.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babakool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

I was traveling to Singapore via Military Space-A and couldn't get convenient military lodging. The hotel was close to the airport and Hickham Air Force Base. The staff was friendly and professional. My room was very clean. I had a very nice breakfast at the hotel restaurant. I would rate my overall as very good for the money.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank urbanteacher55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kailua-Kona, Hawaii
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2012 via mobile

This hotel is a good option for a bed and shower if you have to stay over night. Clean and comfortable.
The hotel has its own direct dial from the airport and the minibus was there in minutes.
Our only grip was an over noisy air conditioning unit in the room
Overall good value if you are only passing through

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ChrisK71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
Ambassador Hotel Waikiki
#73 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 572 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ala Moana Hotel
#56 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,717 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Airport Honolulu Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Airport Honolulu Hotel

Property: Airport Honolulu Hotel
Address: 3401 N Nimitz Hwy, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96819-1909 (Formerly Ohana Honolulu Airport Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#35 Business Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Airport Honolulu Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 307
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Airport Honolulu Hotel located is located 2 miles from Honolulu International Airport. Complimentary 24 hour airport shuttle service is available to and from the Airport. All rooms have a microwave and a refrigerator. Nearest hotel Hickam AFB, Pearl Harbor Naval Station and Fort Shafter. Property located 4 miles to cruise ship departures and 8 miles from Waikiki. Aloha Stadium, Home of the ProBowl is two miles away. Waipio Sports Complex is 15 minutes away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Airport Honolulu Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Honolulu Airport Hotel
Airport Honolulu Hotel Hawaii

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing