We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Best Place to Stay in Waikiki”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Best Place to Stay in Waikiki”
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is the perfect place to stay in Waikiki. The rooms are clean and the resort has everything a family needs to survive. The ABC stores are on the property and had everything we needed at a reasonable price. It's walking distance to the beach and the fireworks show at night time was a must see.

Room Tip: See the fireworks show.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gmn5105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,464 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,595
    4,988
    2,430
    886
    565
See reviews for
5,632
4,786
373
1,371
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,557)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

This is our first trip to Hawaii and will defiantly come back but not to this hotel. While they advertise they have five pools one is secluded to the guest of one tower and all others are small and over crowded. The pool closest to our tower has been shut 3 out of the 6 days we have been here at 3.30 in the afternoon to set up for private event. By now we are very annoyed as we only have one day left and couldn't find a seat at one of the other pools little alone 4 seats for our party. We were advised by our travel agent of construction on site but it would only be between 8 and 5, most mornings they were started by 7 and didn't finish until after 6.30pm. Can't recommend any restaurants within hotel complex but can certainly recommend CJ's in the lane by ice cream shop opposite hotel entrance. On the plus side is the friendly staff, good location, large clean rooms and excellent view from our room

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Raewyn1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cabin John, Maryland
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2014

The Hilton Hawaiian Village is, for me, a tried and true friend. As one surmises from my screen name, I'm originally from Hawai'i. Went back home in early August for a business trip and our stay included 4 nights at the HHV. Some impressions:

-- Upgraded to the Ali'i Tower, HHV's concierge tower. The room was great. The rain shower a welcome respite following a day of meetings and such. Ali'i Tower front desk staff were helpful and friendly.

-- My impression is that perhaps, particularly with the addition of the Hilton Vacation Club rooms, the number of people have well overrun the common area capacity. The front desk check in process can lead to exceptionally long lines, particularly when tour groups of Asian visitors arrive en masse. The valet parking circle is frequently like an LA traffic jam.

That being said, I have great memories of the HHV from the portion of my life living in Hawai'i. The Friday night fireworks are a nice touch. If you're a fan of Hawaiian music, currently you'll be able to hear Jerry Santos of Olomana at the Tapa Bar on Friday nights. There is no better song in the history of humankind's experience with music than Ku'u Home of Kahalu'u.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawaiiexpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marbella, Spain
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2014

A nice accomodations in Rainbow Tower ocean view. Housekeeping is ok, almost all the services are in line with Hilton standards. Huge place but well maintained.
Very dissapointed by Luau show, waste of time and money, and Poor service at the table, thank God I receive only the drinks in disposable cup.
K -CabaRAE is the newest show, and is well done, I highly reccomend.
Bali Steak and Seafood is the flagship, exquisite cuisine with local flavours, do not leave Hawaii without tasting Mahi-Mahi.

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower ocean view Friday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrB750
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

This is our first trip to Hawaii and we are a family of 3 with an 11 year old. I'll start by saying to choose your tower carefully on this property as it can make all the difference in your stay. We are in the Ali Tower which may be a little more money but the accommodations worthwhile. Our room is of decent size and we have an amazing wrap around deck overlooking the ocean which is perfect viewing for Friday evening fireworks. The room # is 1227. The maid service so far has been great. The Ali has it's own private pool on the 2nd floor and a few evenings during the week there have been complimentary appetizers served there at sunset. Most important point about this tower is it's own check-in deck... last thing I want to do after a long flight is stand in more lines upon arrival. If you are in any of the other towers regardless of your Hilton status, you will be in long lines. I waited 5 minutes to get my room when we got here.

So far our trip has been busy as we have wanted to do and see what we can during our 9 day stay. We did the Pearl Harbor tour and Dole Plantation site our first day. The Dole train ride is kind of cute and fun for kids and only lasts about 15 minutes. The Dole Whip ice cream with fresh pineapple is a must!

We took a flight over to Hilo and did a day tour which included viewing Rainbow Falls which was beautiful, Volcano National Park was amazing to see up close and walk through the museum. Next we stopped in to an orchid farm, then to the Mauna Loa macadamia nut factory, Black Sand Beach and the Big Island Candy Factory.... Was a full touring day but really glad to see the sites of Big Island. I should mention that flying Hawaiian Airlines was a breeze and affordable for a day trip. I wouldn't take any other airline for an island hop as they are the biggest and have multiple flights to accommodate your schedule.

Today was a beach day. Our daughter likes the lagoon on property as it has lots of rental things like paddle boats, water trikes, water boards, etc. to rent by the hour for $40/hr. Or, you can do lessons right on the beach for surfing and snorkeling. You must register for these activities at the front desk and it can be a little confusing with all the different tables. This process could be explained a little better upon arrival. This evening we booked the premier seating at the Starlight Luau.....do not waste your money! The food is horrible and the show is not impressive.

Tomorrow we are heading to Sea Life Park to swim with the dolphins and my husband will swim with sharks. We will also try and find Leonard's bakery as I'm told I cannot leave without trying the malasada. I will share my opinion on this when I write the 2nd part of my review.

I will share part 2 of this trip at the end of this week when we return home.

Room Tip: Ali tower is great, high floor overlooking ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MayMay1224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton in August just as the hurricane was due to arrive. It is a beautiful resort set right on the beach with many pretty shops and restaurants. Our room was nice with a sea view although balcony needed cleaning due to the visiting birds. Our son's room was not so good, no hair dryer, no full length mirror, not as big despite being in the same tower. We were told there was free wifi but it was intermittent and they changed the password so only found out when we asked, all the pools are lovely with nice sunbeds and clean towels but if you want to sit on the beach invest in your own chair and umbrella from the ABC store on site from day one as you will be ripped off hiring them, $15 for a bed and $25 for an umbrella for the day !! Considering you are paying $30 a day resort tax it is a real liberty. Make sure you walk to the main strip as it is so pretty, loads of lively restaurants, bars and shops. We would love to go back but maybe try another hotel.

Room Tip: Try for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
65 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2014 via mobile

Love this Resort but not a place that gives you that special feel on your honeymoon. Beach too crowded. The resort itself is very nice with a range of places to eat. Lots of places to walk to eat. Overall a great place to stay! I couldn't post the actually date when I stayed because it won't go back that far. I have heard rooms are even better now.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christa1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,302 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,912 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing