We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rainbow Tower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
West Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Rainbow Tower”
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Spent 2 nights in the Rainbow Tower at the Hilton Hawaiian Village in Waikiki with my husband and two young children (3 and 5). The room was on the 4th floor (403) and had a beautiful view of the ocean and beach. It was in a great location, had 2 double beds, was clean, had nice furnishings, good size bathroom and balcony. There was coffee and tea in the room but no bottled water was provided. We had front row balcony seats for the Friday night fireworks at 7:45pm but you can also sit on the beach to view the show with the hundreds of people that gather there every Friday night. (Note: next reviews will be of the Grand Waikikian rooms we moved to later in the week)
The Hilton Village has several great pools, Tapa Pool being the best for young ones and Paradise Pools has the water slides. The Ali'i Tower has a rooftop pool and hot tub geared for adults. There is also a lagoon for paddle boarding.There are free DVD rentals for all guests from kiosks in the lobby.
The restaurants are pricey. We ate lunch at Tropics Bar and Grill - average food but always busy. Pizza from Round Table was tasty but as with all restaurants, it was costly. Use your Experience Card (given at check in or in your room) to get some discounts (10% off Dairy Queen, free twisty bread iwth pizza order at Round Table, etc) There are so many restaurants in the village but my dining reviews will be of venues off the resort. There are a couple ABC Stores on site and nearby for food, drinks, etc.
As our flight landed late evening, we cabbed it to the hotel and paid just under $40 for the fare. Average nightly cost after tax was $350

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen_Vancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,664 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,671
    5,044
    2,469
    902
    578
See reviews for
5,745
4,840
374
1,383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,592)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Globe, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

This is a HUGE hotel, right in the middle of town, near the rental car place so you can book a car for a drive up to the North Shore! :D From the HH, you can book for the most exotic fun stuff. I did the Luau outside town and also did the fab Submarine ride to the very bottom of the ocean! #NotCheap but worth it. JUST GO!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HelenaChinweoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olympia
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

We are currently staying at The Hilton Hawaiian Village in the Kalia tower on the 20th floor. I'm staying with my family of 4 and we are enjoying our vacation so far. The staff have been very friendly and we love the customer service! The pools are wonderful and the location is great for walking. We only have a few small complaints, one being that our room (although it has a wonderful view) is quite small and has lots of small dents and dings. And the two double beds are a bit cramped for our family. Also our bathroom fan barely works and the whole bathroom fogs up whenever anyone showers. We also found it weird that the refrigerator is located in the bathroom. But overall we are having a very good trip. We love the DVD now rental and wifi has been working great for us. Wish we could've switched to a larger room as we heard many stories from others at the pool about their free upgrades to suites, but we got what we paid for.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tiffanybibeau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Because we were only staying 3 nights in Waikiki we decided on the unobstructed view that the Rainbow tower offered. It was worth the extra $20 per night for the beach view down to Diamond Head.

We booked a room with a king size bed and when we arrived at the room found that we had two doubles. We called down to the desk and it was quickly and easily fixed. We got our king room which was even closer to the ocean. Our room was on the 12th floor which we liked because of the short elevator ride and the view down the beach when sitting on the deck. I suspect the beach view from the higher floors may be limited when sitting down.

We enjoyed coffee and muffins in our room while we watched the beach being prepared for the day; raising the sand, putting out beach chair and umbrellas. On our first day we planned on relaxing by the pool but decided for the beach instead. Two lawn chairs and one umbrella was $60 for the day ending at 5pm. It doesn't matter what time you rent - it will be $60. That day we rented a air mattress which was $15. We spent our second day off the property and the third day back at the beach and opted just for the two lawn chairs for $30.

Something to keep in mind is that there is a $30 charge per day per person. I think they call it a resort fee.

We really enjoyed our time at the hotel. The staff were helpful and the hotel was clean. In spite of the number of guests they have at any given time everything was very smooth.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mostdirectplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Utah
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

You can't through balls in the pool. If your under five feet tall you have to have floaties on to go down them. If you want a city come here. The firework show is awful. The rooms are old. Just plain never ever stay at this horrid hotel!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Raapet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Aloha Raapet,

We are sorry to learn about your experience at HHV. The policies at our pools are implemented for the safety of our guests. We extend our sincere apologies if this created any challenges for you. We regret to hear that you did not enjoy our popular Friday firework show and the room was not to your satisfaction. HHV has several towers each with its distinctive features to meet every guest’s needs and preference. The two most recently renovated towers are the exclusive Ali’i tower and the iconic Rainbow tower. Thank you for sharing your feedback as we are continuously striving to improve our services to enhance our guest experience. We hope you will reconsider and allow us another chance to welcome you back in the future for a more enjoyable stay.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somers, New York
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2014

Stayed here for business, at a conference. The location is very nice (but of course this is expected for hotels in this area). I stayed in the Tapa tower, and didn't pay extra for a nice view, so my window looked out on the roofs of other buildings. But from the balcony, the view was much nicer. Things I liked about the hotel and my accommodations there:
1) Room was quite a good size, pretty spacious
2) Elevators were generally fast
3) Location is nice, and the village has lots of gift shops, restaurants, etc. which are convenient
4) View from the balcony was nice, although not spectacular
5) Everybody was very friendly and helpful
6) Fitness room equipment seemed new and in good shape. The room was pretty large as fitness rooms go, but really too small to serve the whole resort.

Things that were not so great:
1) Building and furnishings seemed pretty old, certainly not new & modern. Fan in AC unit was quite noisy (I shut it down at night).
2) Window view was not so nice (but as expected, see above). A small side window (only a few rooms had this type of window) had a better view, although the window itself was very dirty.
3) Didn't seem to be any rooftop lounge, or other nice area for viewing the surroundings. Ali'i has a nice rooftop pool area with a good ocean view (although only on 2nd floor), but access is allowed only to guests staying in the Ali'i tower, so off limits to most Hilton guests.
4) Check-in took forever, even though I had no wait in line. Desk clerk couldn't really explain why it was taking so long, just kept apologizing. Maybe the computer system is as old as the resort itself?
5) Lots of people here, sometimes things seemed pretty crowded.

Overall, I enjoyed my stay here, and would probably stay here again, given the opportunity.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed June 14, 2014

The Hilton Hawaii surpassed our expectations in terms of location and quality. Pricey but Luxury would be my feelings but it definitely allowed us to leave Hawaii refreshed, relaxed and happy. Facilities too many to mention, the pools and lagoons and beach are fantastic. service by staff exemplarary

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Patrick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,365 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, TravelUp, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing