We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Answers”
Reviewed February 28, 2014

All in all the hotel was spread out nicely Not too big and not too cramped we were there with a VERY large convention and they did a great job with the check in and check out, the staff was overwhelmed as far as the areas around the pool and food/drinks were concerned waiting 20 minutes at the counter before you can even make an order is just wrong. The kids loved the lagoon and the pools...

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
2 Thank 70_ragtop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,318 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,533
    4,948
    2,404
    877
    556
See reviews for
5,572
4,741
366
1,354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,526)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Canada
Level Contributor
104 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

My husband and I spent 9 days here at the beginning of January for a conference and holiday combination. We stayed in a very basic room in Tapa tower, nothing special and so-so on the cleanliness scale. Here are some highlights

Pros - it has everything, shopping, restaurants, the beach, and Starbucks! There are convenient ABC stores on premise and surprisingly their prices aren't ridiculous so you can easily buy anything you need and not be robbed in the process!

Cons - check in process was fairly quick but rude. Don't think of asking for a different Tower or having your VIP check in honored, they didn't even know what we were talking about when we mentioned this.
- we NEVER got a lounger during the entire time there. Not once. There just aren't enough chairs at the pools. So we ended up at the beach and paid around $35 daily for a lounger there.
- too much construction right now. I don't want to be part of a construction site when i'm on vacation.

I will say that during out stay we had some minor, and some not so minor issues with our room (i.e. periodic loss of hot water over 2 days) but if you go and see the Coincerge desk, they will compensate you for any inconvenience, faster than most hotels I've stayed at. While I'd rather have hot water in my room, the $200 credit with no strings attached wasn't bad.

Would I go back again? Not for me, sorry, just too many people and not a very relaxing atmosphere. There are far better places for that in Waikiki.

Room Tip: I would stay in the Ali'i Tower, it seemed more luxurious and has it's own check in desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GypsyGirl21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midland, United States
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2014

This was our third stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort. They have everything there to enjoy a very relaxing stay. It is located at the end of Waikiki Beach so you are away from the large crowds. This trip we were there for 18 days and over Valentine's Day. This was a weekend and they were very busy, along with all of Waikiki. We have always stayed in Kaila Tower Ocean view room there were many great sunset and view of whales off the beach from our room. We plan to return to Oahu and plan to stay at the resort.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank John Allen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vettegirl1
Level Contributor
56 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014 via mobile

My husband had to book a same day room for his job and this was the only hotel available with a government rate. Check in was chaos with cars everywhere and tons of people. It was far from relaxing. The parking was very expensive on top of a hefty resort fee as well. We stayed in an older tower were there was no air conditioning in the hall ways that was damp and miserable. The elevators were also slow and crowded. The room was basic and reminded me of a motel 6. The noise level was unbearable and began around 4 in the morning. You could hear toilets flushing and doors slamming. So the 2 nights spent there left us pretty tired during the day. If you want an uncrowded quiet resort this isn't the place. We moved on to the Royal Hawaiian after this stay that was bliss for just a few dollars more a day.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank vettegirl1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 1, 2014
Aloha vettegirl1,

Thank you for sharing your feedback from your recent visit to the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Please accept our sincere apologies for the disappointing experience we have provided you as a guest of our resort. We are a full-service resort dedicated to serving guests with all reasons for travel. We can understand how the arrival experience may be at first overwhelming and we trust our team to personally welcome our guests with the aloha spirit and ensure we are providing a clean and comfortable room that meets and hopefully exceed our guests’ needs during their visit. We are very sorry for the noise disturbances and that our team was unable to offer you a quieter room to enjoy. We greatly appreciate your feedback as we are amidst our rejuvenation project and gladly welcome all suggestions for improvement. We hope on future travel we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back for a much more pleasant stay.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Massachusetts, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Overall, the resort has a great amount of positives. There are many restaurants, shops, hotel rooms, and function space (from a business standpoint). The resort is huge, and there are many things to see, and great places to eat. My friends and I ate at Tropics Bar and Grill, CJ's, Fresco, and a few other locations and overall the food was pretty good. The rooms were clean, the staff (for the most part) were very nice, and the hotel in general was great. However, here are some of the negatives that really upset us.

1. My friend got stung by a jellyfish on the beach at night (around 10 or 11pm), and we immediately contacted first aid. They told us they're about to close, and to just go to the hospital. Excuse me? I'm sorry, but why on EARTH would you tell us to just go to the hospital instead? What if somebody may be having a more severe emergency? You shouldn't have to tell us to go somewhere, we should've been helped immediately nevertheless.

2. Due to meetings, many of us didn't have as much time as we would like to have during the day, so many of us went out during the night time. Too bad, since everything is closed by 10 or 11pm. What about the pools? Nope, closed, informed by the security guard who rudely shined a flashlight in our faces and said "pools closed, you guys gotta get out".

3. There's no late night room service. Or room service, period. Let's say you have a bunch of fellow business reps in your room and you want to order a couple hundred bucks of drinks, wine, and food? Nope, you can't. Everything on property is closed, and there's no actual delivery for any food past 10pm. I don't mind spending $60 for room service for breakfast, but there's no actual option for in-room dining.

4. All the rentals for surfboards closed before dusk. Many of us wanted to rent surfboards and such before our gala to have one more fun time at the beach, but unfortunately, they're closed.

5. The pool and lagoons aren't heated, and the ocean is actually much warmer than the pool. The lagoon in fact is pretty cold.

Overall, the hotel isn't that bad, but when our company is paying millions to send us to such a place, I expected better. I'll hope for the Grand Wailea or Sheraton Waikiki & Royal Hawaiian next Hawaii trip.

Room Tip: Rainbow Head Tower facing Diamond Head on a high floor is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ben L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights and although the room was nice the resort is chaotic with thousands of people everywhere. There is very little staff presence and it is unclear where the reception desks even are. Everything is crazy expensive like $25 for a small pizza, you have to pay to hire everything like the paddles and kayaks. There are no flamingos which was stated when I booked and there were a few penguins, however there was no penguin feeding on the weekend when we were there. You need to be careful walking around as a breadfruit the size of a watermelon fell from a tree in the shopping village and an elderly man in front of me slipped over and I almost slipped. There was only 3 pools to cater for the thousands of guests and most evenings after 6pm the pools were closed off for functions which meant everyone tried to swim in the one pool! I For what I paid I was expecting luxury but it was very similar to staying in any other hotel in Waikiki - would be best to stay elsewhere and just visit the Hilton during the day for shopping etc. as it is well and truly open to the general public.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kdonBrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2014

Firstly I spent a bomb for this hotel - about USD350/night and I must say I was not impressed.

This hotel is overcrowded, especially over the weekends. I didn't find it peaceful and relaxing, aside from my time at the beach, in which case, I could have stayed at the aqua next door. I checked in on Friday and it was chaotic! Too many people come to this hotel to view the fireworks so it took me 10 minutes to get to the elevators to my room and Tropics - the restaurant was too full, they told me to bugger off.
The hotel charges for everything, including the beach chairs
amenities in the hotel are branded, but too small. no slippers, robes and not enough glasses.
No newspaper on weekends
noisy neighbours because we had connecting rooms
The tour desk is busy promoting HH 2 hour tour all the time.

Only good things for me:
View from my room was amazing
penguins at the hotel

Room Tip: Don't stay over the weekend - especially Friday
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yahooHk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2014
Aloha yahooHk,

Thank you for taking your time to write a review. We regret to hear that we fell short in making your stay a special experience. The Friday nights fireworks show over the Waikiki Beach is a popular attraction and we are very sorry if this created challenges for you. However, we hope you did enjoy the fireworks. Our resort has five pools which offer complimentary chaise lounges and we also provide beach towels. Slippers, robes, and extra glasses are available for delivery to room upon guest request. We are pleased to hear that you found the view from your room amazing and enjoyed our penguins. We appreciate you providing us with feedback as we are always looking for ways to enhance our guest experience. We hope you will return to HHV and provide us with another opportunity to service you.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing