We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“close but no cigar”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 6, 2014

The grounds are beautiful and clean and are just a nice place to be. The pools and lagoon were crisp! and the stuff were friendly. I also think its on the best part of Waikiki beach. BUT!!! We paid full price for ocean/harbour view room while work was being done and no use of ocean balcony.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Kieran D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15,500)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7,639 - 7,645 of 15,500 reviews

Reviewed February 6, 2014

Very crowded, noisy, bustling environment. Grounds are beautiful and well kept, beach is beautiful but crowded, rooms are nice and clean, but if you are looking for a quiet, relaxing place and an Hawaiian experience filled with Aloha, this is probably NOT the place to go.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
1  Thank Janet M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 7, 2014

Aloha Janet M,

Thank you for writing a review and sharing your feedback. We are happy to hear that you found HHV’s ground beautiful and the room as nice and clean. However, we regret that we fell short in sharing the aloha spirit and you did not get to experience the warm Hawaiian hospitality that we are dedicated to providing. We extend our sincere apology for your experience. We hope you will return and offer us with another opportunity to provide you with a true HHV experience.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014 via mobile

Hotel complex is like a small city with several hotel towers and pools inside the complex. Many places to eat with friendly service. The views from the beach are second to none. The hotel is approximately 8 miles from the airport and it is easy to get to. Hotel staff is friendly and very accommodating. I arrived early in the morning and they were happy to waive the early check in charge so I could get into the room and start my day.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled solo
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

I've stayed here many times, this is the first since the Alii tower refresh last year. Note that different towers give very different experiences, so judge reviews accordingly. I like the location of the tower as it's the only tower on a stretch of beach with a private pool deck overlooking the ocean. The refresh is great, everything is just as comfortable as before but updated. The service was great in all respects. The Alii tower is one of the best places to stay in Waikiki (though I would not extend this statement to the other towers and therefore not to the Hilton as a whole). Food and services at the resort are all fine, though if you want to walk out your door and be in Waikiki proper, this property is an easy 10 minute walk.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Seven_Continents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Upside: everything. Food, pools, bars, shops, concierge services, tourist services, loud or quiet the HHV has everything. From 5-star restaurants to Starbucks and even Round Table Pizza (okay, we didn't go there); the HHV has it all. Truly one of the finest beachfronts on Waikiki with an expansive beach, palm trees, killer sunset views, and enough activities for the kids to wear them out while the adults relax and refresh. Truly an outstanding and full-service resort.

Downside: the only real annoyance was the high-pressure push to attend a "time-share' presentation for one of the towers that is being converted (as we understand it) to a time-share. When we checked in we were give an exclusive card to get "discounts" at various shops. So we went to 'activate' the card and got slammed with a high-pressure push for the time shares. If we asked some innocuous questions of some of the desk-people (not the front desk folks, they were great!) the push nearly always came to attend a time-share presentation. If you like time-share presentations, fine...but if not watch out for the friendly folks who try to steer you there.

We also ate at the Tropics Bar and Grill (right on the beach) which had great food and killer sunset-views. With live-music to round out the evening, it was truly a very good experience.

You should leave occasionally to see the rest of the island and all Oahu has to offer. But if you just want to kick back and relax, the HHV is truly a 'complete' resort.

I will absolutely return to the HHV. First class all the way.

Room Tip: Ask for upgrades to Ali'i Tower (if you can afford it) or an ocean-view room in any of the tower...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DennisKessinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

Awesome hotel! This hotel is in the heart of an excellent tourist district of Waikiki. This hotel has four towers that guests can choose from, and has four swimming pools, including a private lagoon, and of course the breathtaking beach of Waikiki.
There is a Japanese-style village close to the hotel that offers shopping, and restaurants.
The most useful shop by the hotel is the ABC Store, and it has everything imaginable! The sandwiches here are AWESOME!
Just minutes from the hotel, you can have world-class cuisine at the best restaurants in the world. My favorite restaurant in Oahu is Sansai:) Best sushi ever!

Room Tip: Get a room facing the beach, as well as the village. The views are awesome! and the rooms are quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank LeviTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2014

This is our third stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and second at the Ali'i Tower. We absolutely love it and will be back. We have stayed on the Ocean view side of the building and the second floor with the garden view. The second floor garden view was quiet and we didn't think it would be with the pool right outside. Gorgeous room!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts
3  Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,212 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,635 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
419 reviews
Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
6,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $239 - $521 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelPower, HotelsforEveryone, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing