We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disneyland on Waikiki Beach” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Annapolis, Maryland
Level Contributor
173 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Disneyland on Waikiki Beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in the Rainbow Tower before moving on to Kauai. My husband is a Hilton Honors member and we had a high floor corner unit. The views at night of the ocean, beach lagoon and yacht club were incredible. I would highly recommend staying in a high room at a hotel in Honolulu to get these pictures then move on to a less busy island. Honolulu is shopping, shopping, shopping. The beach is not so great, the sand is narrow and you have to walk on other hotel grounds, on the way to Diamond Head if you want to go on long beach walks. The Hilton is a resort like you would see in Disney or Las Vegas. Everything you would need or want combined in one hotel grounds. Shopping - check (even Louis Vuitton), dining - check, entertainment - check, pools - check, beach lagoon pool - check. The drawback is that there are so many families with children, and too many guests -- like you would see on a large cruise. It is that big. But you have great views and lots to do and you will never get bored. My highlight was the elevators. You push your room and floor on a key pad, and the right elevator (A,B,C, D, etc.) lights up so you know where to stand in front of the correct elevator. Takes the guess work out. Very ingenious. I also loved the koi ponds. The fish are healthy and large and friendly -- very beautiful. You can learn how to paddle board in the lagoon which would be fun.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryla_M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,385
    4,832
    2,329
    849
    532
See reviews for
5,398
4,599
357
1,332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fort Worth, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

We had an amazing experience in our vacation!. This resort has a lots of night activities! If you are looking to have fun and going to different tours offer at the resort this is a good choice. Our room was in the Rainbow Tower and it had the ocean view, room was always clean. I would totally come back here for another vacation!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Yordan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
albany
Level Contributor
53 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2014

It has a beach,lagoon and few swimming pools, which is a plus. You can enjoy the water without leaving the comfort of the resort. The beds are good, but the room is very basic, for the prices you pay. No complimentary water, or luxury bathing goods, no foot wear or snacks. The restaurant prices within the resort are high, just across the street you get a better value for the buck. The staff are friendly, helpful. The concierge is helpful. All in all would rather stay in a cheaper hotel inland, rent a car and drive around eating local food, exploring beaches ourselves, the next time around.

Room Tip: dont overpay for the ocean view, its a small resort, you can go down to the beach to enjoy your sunr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Heartforu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The hotel itself is beautiful and the grounds are very well kept. We had 2 rooms at the Tapa Tower. We booked and paid for an ocean view room, but was told at the time of check-in that there was no availability. My husband and kids were very upset. This was our first visit to Hawaii and who would not want an ocean view room right??? Instead we were given rooms overlooking the pool. The room was very average even after being told that they were newly renovated. The restaurants definitely cannot cope with the number of people the hotel accommodates. You always have to wait approximately 30-40 min to dine. The hotel is huge with very convenient amenities and very expensive shops. We bought what we needed from the ABC Store. Great location though. My family including the kids did not enjoy the hotel. They found it to be too busy. Definitely not for people who are looking for a relaxing vacation.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Kershree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

We stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village for our ten day honeymoon and were very happy with our choice. Our room was in the Ka Lia Tower with a room looking towards the beach. For us, having the ability to leave our things / valuables in the safe and walk to the beach, pool, or bars and restaurants was invaluable. Because the resort is so large, we were able to experience many activities only steps from our room. One night we attended the Starlight Luau which was nice for my husband who had never attended a luau before and we spent a day on the Waikiki Ocean Club which picks up from the Hilton's dock (this is a definite recommendation if you like things like water slides and dive platforms into about 20 feet of water). The only real negative is that it is almost impossible to get a lounge chair, never mind two, at any of the resort's pools. It seems like people get up before dawn, lay out their towels and bags and claim their chairs long before they actually plan to us them. Luckily, the Pacific is about 20 yards away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MMurphy7712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

I love this place. This was my first 'real' vacation since I was last in Oahu eight years ago, and was a balm to my soul.

The Speed-i-Shuttle offered a round-trip to/from the hotel for $27 when paid in advance at the airport. I had to wait about 45 min for a seat; but the wait wasn't tedious.

I stayed on this very same property then. Again, the staff was friendly and helpful, the facilities were clean and properly appointed, and the atmosphere was divine. My room was ocean view in the Rainbow Tower and I loved it! The weather was perfect - about 80 F and sunny. There are many shops within walking distance on the property, as well as off the resort. Round Table Pizza is good and super fresh. Fresco Italian has a pretty awesome Pescatori that comes in red or white sauce. The juice bar /kiosk - Lanikai - fits the bill for getting your daily dose. Also, Dairy Queen offers a host of beach-y frozen delights. The ABC Store has a good variety of beverages, bottled drinks (water, soda, milk, juice), snacks, salads, souvenirs, and other sundries. If you plan to attend a timeshare presentation, wait until you get your Hilton Bucks before shopping for souvenirs.

A nice place for breakfast is the Wailana Coffee House on the corner of Ala Moana Blvd, which is only a short walk from the hotel. They also have an excellent little salad bar for lunch/dinner.

I loved this trip and look forward to returning again. It was a pretty fabulous time.

Room Tip: The ocean view rooms are my favorite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 312Wanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Valley City, Utah, Usa
Level Contributor
135 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

my parents own a timeshare with hilton so i am unaware of the cost. we stayed at the lagoon tower. we had a 2 room suite, the 2nd room only has dbl beds not queens so for adults they are small especially a couple, not sure why no queens or a king. the room was nice and the people were friendly. the hotel was beautiful and right on the beach. this is not a quiet place with the luau 5 nights a week and the other stuff going on even on the 20th floor it was noisy till close to 11:00 at night. we did have a great time though

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveE304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing