We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One night at the Hawaiian Village”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“One night at the Hawaiian Village”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

This is a family resort. The Hilton chain is a highly refined money generating machine. If you have the money they will provide you paradise. If on a budget, you will get a nice clean and simple room. It will be in the nosebleed section of their property, but it will be clean and have all the basics. That being said, in Hawaii even the basic rooms are almost twice what you would pay for on the continent.
My room is in the Kalia Tower. The property has 8 or so towers and a large convention centre. The ocean view from this tower consists of 50% ocean and 50% high rise towers (see pictures).
Like all tourist destinations these days you have to pay a resort fee. In the literature it says what the fee covers ie high speed internet, a play station 3, local calling... etc. The internet was not free. This is always a big issue for me because data is not a physical quantity. You cannot consume it so that it must be replenished thereby internet is the perfect amenity to offer gratis. And yet they want 20 dollars for every 24 hours. This is always the best indicator of a money grabbing machine to me. From other reviews of this resort I can only conclude that they will bleed my wallet dry if I choose to use all the "amenities" available ie a beach towel, or an umbrella.
To sum up I had a great sleep in a king size bed. Thank you Hilton but I am glad I am staying only one night.

Room Tip: Personally I would only stay at hotels in Hawaii for 2 to 4 night stays to enjoy the excitement and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ronald M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,471 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,597
    4,991
    2,432
    886
    565
See reviews for
5,633
4,787
373
1,372
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,559)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

If you're looking for crowds, this is your spot! The great thing about this resort is you never have to leave. Everything you need is on the grounds. There are lots of kids and families, so get a seat at the pool early, otherwise you won't get one. At times, we thought that the bartenders were extremely rude (especially by the beach). One, in particular said he`d rather be home because he made enough money that day! There were long lines with check-in/check-out process.

The staff, for the most part, was extremely nice and helpful and helped us kick off the start of our honeymoon with aloha!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bri A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winston Salem, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Had a wonderful stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We stayed at the Ali'i tower and had a fabulous time. Very nice break from the cold in North Carolina. The rooms were quite comfortable and quiet. My wife and I stayed on the 4th floor with a king bed. Our 2 college kids stayed on the 15th floor with an excellent view. Meals were rather pricey. The tours offered by the Hilton were excellent. Only complaint is the concierge was less then helpful. Very flat affect and did not make any useful recommendations for dining outside of the village.

Room Tip: Stay away from the second floor where the was a lot of traffic to the pool and exercise area
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

The advice is not related with any kind of danger. It matters with your wallet, because despite being a hotel guest they will charge you $30 for the umbrella and $15 for each chaise longue, unless you don't mind staying in the beach with neither shade not comfort. I have never seen such a thing in none of the beach hotels I have ever known.
Otherwise, the facilities are very good. The hotel is established at seashore and there are 7 towers for the rooms that are very clean and cozy. A lot of good restaurants and shops are available, as well as 3 pools, spa, gym, and all the amenities that a resort is supposed to offer.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paulo001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
79 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This resort has seven towers, a shopping centre, restaurants, swimming pools and a large number of guests. The rooms are comfortable and clean. We found the resort too big and impersonal. It was impossible to secure sunbeds around the main swimming pools, beach umbrellas were three times the price than at the other end of Waikiki beach. Paddling boards and activities on the lagoon were very expensive. Walking distance to Ala Moana the large shopping centre was a bonus. Concierge staff try to book you in to the Hilton Time Share talk.

Generally the resort is expensive, service is very average and too crowded.

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower ocean view, high floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Javv01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
2 reviews
Reviewed January 13, 2014

My family and I attended the Starlight Luau by the lagoon 2 weeks ago on January 2nd. Eventhough, there was rain forecasted and I asked the Luau Manager what happened if it rained and I was told that it would be relocated indoors in the event of rain, IT RAIN and IT was a DISASTER. We had all had to move to a seating area near by as it was really coming down. Dinner was averange but ice cold due to the wind and we missed the whole show because of the rain. I asked to speak to the manager, no one knew where it was, so I went to the front desk to speak to the hotel manager, she was polite to be honest but she said that i needed to speak to the Luau Manager. She escorted me until we could find him. He was very rude, never eye contacted me, he said very rude "I cant control the weather", so I asked for a refund and he agreed. He only asked for my last name, didnt write anything down. Well, It has been 2 weeks since and the bank statement doesnt show the refund nor I can get in touch with anyone there.
Hawaii is awsome, so if you are going, choose a better hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerardo G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 19, 2014
Aloha Gerardo G,

Thank you for taking time to share about your recent visit. We are very sorry your family’s luau experience was far from pleasant and cut short due to the rains. Whenever Mother Nature is in question, our team offers to assist our guests in rescheduling their reservations and/or if time does not allow, we will gladly provide a refund. We apologize for the delay you are experiencing in receiving your refund. Please contact HHV directly so we can follow up on your refund and have it expedited to you. We appreciate you bringing this concern to our immediate attention for improvement in our guest service. We hope for the opportunity to welcome your family back for a more enjoyable stay on future travel.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Mirada, California
Level Contributor
170 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed January 13, 2014

This resort has everything. A great beach area, great restaurants, shopping, an ABC store, beautiful board walk to walk along. What’s not to like about Hawaii! They had a ton of check in staff who all were very nice and helpful. The towers are not far from each other but it’s a bit of a walk to get around this place. Scenery is gorgeous all over they really maintain the grounds. The ABC store is in the surrounding shops and is not over priced. I would suggest buying your soaps & toothpaste etc.. from here & not packing them if you are concerned about your luggage weight. The ABC store has tons of trinkets and souvenirs as well. Food at the property restaurants is pricey but reasonable. For the basic meals it’s about average & pricey for the nicer meals. So many places within walking distance. I totally recommend a car rental to see the island. On this side of the island it is very hustle & bustle business life. But with that you do have many conveniences close by. If you prefer the slow pace its probably not the place you want to stay. The drive to see the island is super easy and well worth it. We had the best of both worlds. A few of the days we packed up and relaxed at other beach areas, the snorkeling at the Hanauma Bay was fantastic. I suggest bringing your own snorkel gear & water shoes especially if you are traveling with kids. I prefer using my own mouth piece and you can snorkel when you want with no time limit on rental and the coral is sharp so water shoes because you don’t want to accidently step on something that bites or is sharp. The hike at Diamond head was nice. We were fortunate to stop at a local beach and watch a surfing competition. I suggest bringing/buying there a light wrap that can double as your towel. It’s so warm that you really don’t need large towels everything dries fast and it’s easy to carry or tie on your waist, if you stop in different areas it double as a lay out towel as well. A great experience will definitely be back!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Luv-2-travel-36DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,307 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
3,914 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and HRS so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing