We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel within A Hotel the Ali'i Tower”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Long Beach, CA
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Hotel within A Hotel the Ali'i Tower”
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I have stayed here several times on business over the last 6 years. Sometimes it is overwhelming due to size and crowds, but all in all, consistently clean and reliable. The location is excellent and has quick access to the business districts and the resort areas. This time the trip was completely different due to an upgrade to the Ali'i Tower. It is like a hotel within a hotel with its own pool, workout room, and very attentive front desk. The views of the resort, beach and city skyline were excellent from room A-1222

The only area they could improve is the HHonors VIP lounge. The selection is the bare minimum and lacks a single protein. The food offered is on par with a Day's Inn or Sleep Inn type cont. breakfast. Add some yogurt or hard boiled eggs.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fun4uinbshore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,658
    5,037
    2,465
    898
    574
See reviews for
5,725
4,833
374
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Maple Ridge, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Just want to share my opinion of this resort, I feel that this resort was in a great location, at the far end of the strip but still great, walking is not a big deal to us so we had no problem. It alsoe had the best stretch of beach very important to me. The rooms in the Rainbow tower(9th floor) were very nice we had an oceanview room and it was wonderful.Lots of stuff to do and lots of wonderful shopping, Very expensive and I am not sure that I would return to this hotel or even to Oahu I found it too busy ,We did all the tourist things so I can say that I have been there and done that and now to move on. Don't get me wrong it was a wonderful time just too busy for me ,it you are thinking about a first trip I would definately say GO !!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank toesinsand091
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falmouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
212 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

This is our third visit to the Rainbow Tower of the HHV hotel. We were on floor 29 with a view of Diamond Head and Waikiki beach. Room, carpet and bathroom of this room was showing marks and stains. Housekeeping was variable. Noise from the entertainment in Tropics bar could be heard each evening. The room has a safe/coffee maker/fridge and iron.
The six lifts could be a problem at peak times with 30/40 people waiting to return to their rooms. Alterations to the reception area understandably caused difficulties in queuing but room allocation was pretty prompt. The fireworks on Tuesday/Friday nights were excellent.
The Rainbow Buffet breakfast was very good - large seating area, clean, wait staff very good and friendly. Good value for money $27 plus tax. Choices of cereal/juices/fruits/omelettes/hot foods such as bacon, sausages, Japanese station etc, toasts/pastries. At certain times you may have to wait 10-15 minutes for a table (they give you a pager) but it was not a problem. The Fresh Connections take out was very good. We used it on two occasions for caesars chicken salad and pizza ($26 for both) it was an efficient service and food was hot. Good value for money. If ordering make sure you can get there prompt and they are very fast in getting the food ready.

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower higher floors give better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tresc0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Homer, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

I surprised my husband with a 4 day getaway and wanted to stay at a place where we needed no rental car ( we have been to all the islands and traveled arround them), we arrived and were escoted to a very busy under construction lobby to check in. We were in the Tapa tower and the room was wonderful and the bed was so comfortable.
Everything you need is in the village and we always shopped at the ABC store for snacks , lunches and beer
The friday night fireworks were great
Great beaches but very hard sand i think it is 3" deep on top of concrete
The ladies at the mail and key desk were so sweet and super nice, we needed a room to clean up since we couldnt get a late check out and they gave us a room for an hour to freshen up after a long day and since we were flying out at 9:45 pm, it was great
Would defintly stay here again

Room Tip: There are five towers and all seem to have ocean views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KMackulin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

Firstly the shuttle from the airport dropped off us at the servants entrants! NOT at the front of the resort where a lot of other overseas visitors were being dropped. Then we had to make our way through crowds of people with 2 bags each to get to the reception desk to book in which wasn't fun. We were told it was just up "there" so we thought we could manage! We spent 7 nights There in september! We were upgraded to the Alii Tower. The rooms were luxurious ! Beds were HUGE and comfortable! Everything was clean and the view was over the pool? In This tower we had our own pool on the second floor! But it felt like bath water not refreshing at all and the pool definitely needs some work! So hard to get a sun lounge as a very small area for lots of people! We were also disappointed we were so far out of town. If I go to hawaii I wouldn't stay there again! No personal service you just felt like a number! I think I was just expecting more for the amount of money it cost. The gentleman working at the spot for tour pickups , pretty sure his name is Patrick was awesome full of information and willing to help! The other younger one through the day needs to learn how to smile if you don't like a job working with people, move on!
We had a spare day for relaxing but couldn't get a sun lounge in the Main pool there was a dozen at most people in the pool and 60 or so empty sun lounges with towels on them and we couldn't get one! What a joke!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janene K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tasmania
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

THIS IS A VERY BIG, BUSY RESORT. We stayed here for a week in July 2013 in the Alii Tower in an ocean view room. The room was very spacious, clean and had a lovely ocean
view from the balcony. Loved sitting on the balcony admiring the beach view. Bed was very comfortable. What I liked about staying in the Alii tower was the fact they had their own private pool where you could always get a lounger. Also a wonderful spot for Fri night drinks and viewing of the fireworks. Found all the other pools to be extremely busy and hard to find a lounger. Ate and drank at Tropics bar and grill , service there was always excellent. Lots of shops and eateries here, can highly recommend the pizza place. Beautiful, well kept grounds and a large lagoon. An excellent resort for kids.
Pleasant 15 or 20 min walk along the beach or back streets into centre of Waikiki.
If you don't like big and busy, then don't stay here.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank taskatarina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
1 review
Reviewed September 18, 2013

The trip was GREAT, we had a suite looking over the ocean what a view.
We had a wonderful time, would really like to to for a much longer time. We were there for eight days & seven nights I think you need maybe two weeks to see what you really want to see. The one thing was we flew first class and that is the way to go, let me tell you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pammy174
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TravelUp, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing