We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great if very busy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
“Great if very busy hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

Great hotel with plenty of shops and 4 swimming pools and a lagoon. There is 2 ABC stores on-site which are very convenient to pick up anything from wine, beer, souvenirs, toiletries and snacks etc. Right on the beach and not too far away from Ala Moana Mall (10 minutes walk). Very busy so if you like a quiet place to stay it may not be for you.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
3 Thank johndborg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,454
    4,890
    2,372
    865
    548
See reviews for
5,502
4,661
362
1,344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

Although our hotel wasn't ready until 8pm (we gt there at 6 and check-in is at 2), there were so many touristy attractions available. Between the bus tours, and luaus that picked up right at your hotel, and the boat tours and snorkeling that left from the hotel dock, there were many things available without needing a car. I loved the food there, but you must know that they don't serve free breakfast. I recommend everyone eat at Fresco- the Italian restaurant for lunch and dinner. Overall, this is a perfect place for people looking to go on bus and boat tours.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobbi951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton for 5 days and had the best time! Our 3.5 yo son loved everything about it...from the beach to the pool and onto the waterslides. The hotel is extremely kid friendly. There is even a pool infant friendly. We did not rent a car this time because we had been to Oahu in the past. We stayed at the hotel mostly. Bad news..restaurants are just adequate. Wish there were better food and better prices. Food were very expensive and poor quality. We just tolerated it.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

After much research we chose the Hilton Hawaiian Village for our vacation. We booked and paid for reservations in March. On July 30th I confirmed our reservations. Less than 48 hours before our flight we were notified that the Hilton was overbooked and we were being moved to another hotel that we had never even heard of. I contacted the Hilton and the employee was very apologetic telling me that she "hates it when they do this". I asked her how we could be bumped when I had confirmed our reservations less than two weeks ago and her response was "it happens". I asked how this happened when I had made reservations almost five months earlier and she informed me that she had already had to tell a bride, who had made her reservations a year in advance, that she would not be spending her honeymoon at the Hilton. I asked to speak to a manager and was told that they were all in meeting and one would get back with me. In the meantime I contacted our new hotel. They informed me that they had been told about the overbooking several days ago. When Jackie from the Hilton called me back I asked her the same questions and her response was always "it happens". I asked how it was possible for us to have rooms on the 30th and to not have rooms just a couple of days later. Her standard reply, "it happens". She was not the least bit apologetic, and kept answering all of my questions with a very monotone "it happens". This is a terrible way to do business. I expected better from a name such as the Hilton.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Jane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Aloha Jane B,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience that you encountered during your recent trip to Hawaii. This is an abnormal, and a rare situation at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. However, we did fail to accommodate our guest and have no excuse for it. We hope the accommodation we secured was satisfactory and truly hope that you will reconsider and give us the opportunity to welcome you back if you make future plan to travel to Hawaii.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Great location, plenty of amenities, excellent staff. Location includes close shopping, watersports and excellent beach very close by. Beautiful grounds and very well kept. Rooms are clean and spacious and Beds are extremely comfortable. Didn't want to leave. Made it a point to stop back on return part of trip just to hang out for the day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

This was my first trip to Hawaii to attend a convention. I am a Hilton Honors member so the choice was obvious. The grounds are simply great, all that one would like for a vaction in paradise (great beach, ocean, excellent landscaping). The food and the shops that can be found within the complex are good, but you must be prepared for higher costs. I was very disappointed to find out that my standing requests for room preferences were not only ignored, but my assigned room was in complete opposite contrast to my desires. I had to listen to the elevator motors 24 hours per day and I was on a mid-level floor. It was noisey! The ugly was the very poor quality of the consierge service. They were really only salespersons for the resort. They were reluctant to help with advice or even make reservations. In some cases they were even rude. I expected more from the staff.

Room Tip: The Rainbow tower offers excellent views of the ocean and harbor. Try to stay away from the elevator...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaleB9120
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed here for a few nights on a stopover in Honolulu. I was impressed, the resort is immense and impressive, and well-looked after. Our room in the Ali'i Tower had a stunning view of the ocean and but also looked down on the rather noisy pool area, but of course that's normal! The private pool area in this tower was perfect though, and has its own private bar. Food and drinks are extortionate in my opinion, but rather fitting with Hawaiian prices. I HIGHLY RECOMMEND buying lunch in the hotel's ABC Stores convenience store, as well as all drinks and snacks as it is MUCH MUCH cheaper. Overall a pleasant stay, and only a short walk into Waikiki itself.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank crthomson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing