We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILIES” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #44 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Studio Ciity
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“GREAT PLACE FOR FAMILIES”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family had a reunion at Honolulu. We decided to stay here. Rooms are great, staff are awesome. Everything you need is in this hotel. There is a small village where you can eat food, (but take note if you want hawaiian food, go outside the property.. they don't have any hawaiian food) shop for goodies, they have at least 2 abc stores which is awesome. The property has 3 pools plus a lagoon where you can hang out when the beach gets too crowded. It is mile walk away from Ala Moana shopping center and the International Market. Of course the sand is not as fine as the other beaches outside Waikiki but its good enough.

Take note that this is not a place for honeymoon or any romantic trip. I wouldn't suggest this place for couples because there are really a lot of people in this property. They have more than 3 buildings I think, and I believe it gets packed.

Rooms are big and can fit 4 people comfortably. I enjoyed my stay here.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kembaaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,927 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,385
    4,832
    2,329
    849
    532
See reviews for
5,398
4,599
357
1,332
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,427)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We stayed in the Rainbow Tower and had great sea view and lagoon. Room large and clean with fridge. Resort is large and has everything you need in great location, it's Waikiki beach. This resort is high rise but that what you expect in this area. Staff were good and friendly. You pay a resort fee like a lot of hotels here for things like wifi free local phone calls. Would sooner they gave you option not to and pay for what you use. You are in paradise so drinks can be dear. Make sure you drink on happy hour(s) or use local ABC shop and stock your fridge with beer and snacks. Would go again.
Highly recommend on site Italian restaurant. There are loads of other choices within resort and also within a 15-20 walk. With the food size portions out here you might be thankful to walk the meal off.

Room Tip: Rainbow tower is on the front of the resort next to beach and great views from here
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nige12208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

We love staying at this timeshare because the amenities are new, the location is very convenient, the grounds are very lush and the staff are very friendly and helpful. The Kalia Tower, which we stayed in has over 20 floors and the 4 elevators in it are very high speed! The fitness center on its 4th floor is better than the majority of hotels anywhere.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
1 Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My family and I spent 7 nights in there and we stayed at the Rainbow Tower. The check-in was okay and we requested for late check out as our flight was a midnight flight and they gave us a 1-hour complimentary hospitality room.

The swimming pool was great, although you can't play with beach ball in it (when the lifeguard is on duty). The Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon is also a great place to do the paddle board and canoe-ing.

This resort is so huge that it has its own ABC Stores which is very convenient for us. They have everything there! From restaurants, boutiques, beach, spa, barber,florist, car rentals, bus depot, etc.

The only thing is that, the food is expensive and the elevator is ALWAYS crowded.

Other than that, we had a great time in there and we could see the Diamond Head from our room! It was really beautiful and we got to stay til Friday night where there was fireworks show! The staff was helpful but they need to smile more in my opinion.

Room Tip: Go for the ones that have the Diamond Head view because from there, you can easily see the fireworks...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank fefesiregar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We stayed at the Hawaiian Village Resort in June 13 for one week. The location of the hotel is very prominent and is the first resort on Waikiki Beach as you come in from the Airport. There are restaurants and shops outside of the hotel and the local and tourist buses access is at the doorstep. We stayed in TAPA Tower one of the six tower blocks. There a number of shops including convenience stores and a few food outlets within the complex. The facilities are excellent in the complex with each Tower block having its own pool. The rooms were clean and very comfortable. The restaurants were good with more seafood choice, American Steaks and Burger choices. The choice for vegetarians is limited but reasonable. Plenty of Pizzas, salads and Pasta available, with fresh tropical fruit and fresh juices.

There are plenty of activities daily within the complex to entertain adults and children. The beach is excellent and great for a daily swim.The morning walk along the beach was my favourite daily routine. Children loved the water slides and used daily.

We will consider this hotel again if we visit Hawaii again. There is a choice of excellent hotels and resorts on Waikiki Beach, and probably would like to try other resorts.

Room Tip: Tapa Tower has mainly a Resort view with a restricted sea view. Other towers closer to the beach may...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Mostly a great place to stay on Waikiki Beach. The Diamond Head tower is needing an upgrade compared to the rest of the property. the personnel was great. the motif of all of the bars and restaurants was very thought out. the beach was very good. The hospitality was the best. the location was excellent being close to the Waikiki shopping district and close to the easy to get to from the airport.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank jagnew5398
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the H.H.V, and it was beautiful and very large. We stayed in the Rainbow tower and had a gorgeous view of Diamond Head. The 2 big changes were the elevators no long have a UP or DOWN button, instead there are keypads and you just push what floor your on and it directs you to one of 5 elevators. The second was renting DVDs. You use to pay for movies in your hotel room each around 12.00-17.99 per movie but now you just pay a fee of 15.00 a day and you can rent as many movies in a day just one movie at a time. They have a DVD machine where you slide a special card and then just follow directions on screen to rent or return DVDs. Much easier and less expensive! If you book tours down by the buses get them from Pablo great travel agent or Alika in the Tour place near the penguins he's helpful both give great prices on tours!

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower Ocean view has the best view of Waikiki and the ocean, Lagoon view is not bad either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2otrval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,102 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,726 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Turtle Bay Resort
#1 of 1 in Kahuku
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing