We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Amazing Resort!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Pemberton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
47 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Amazing Resort!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

We recently stayed at the H.H.V, and it was beautiful and very large. We stayed in the Rainbow tower and had a gorgeous view of Diamond Head. The 2 big changes were the elevators no long have a UP or DOWN button, instead there are keypads and you just push what floor your on and it directs you to one of 5 elevators. The second was renting DVDs. You use to pay for movies in your hotel room each around 12.00-17.99 per movie but now you just pay a fee of 15.00 a day and you can rent as many movies in a day just one movie at a time. They have a DVD machine where you slide a special card and then just follow directions on screen to rent or return DVDs. Much easier and less expensive! If you book tours down by the buses get them from Pablo great travel agent or Alika in the Tour place near the penguins he's helpful both give great prices on tours!

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower Ocean view has the best view of Waikiki and the ocean, Lagoon view is not bad either...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lv2otrval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13,515 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,204
    4,706
    2,264
    829
    512
See reviews for
5,239
4,454
347
1,278
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,341)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

After spending time at the Hilton Big Island with my family, we were extremely dissapointed with the Hilton Hawaiin Village.

I am a Hilton Diamond member and booked 2 rooms more than 4 months ago. We were given 2 rooms in the Tapia Tower on level 5 overlooking the public carpark Ala Moana Blvd. Was advised that these rooms were resort view rooms and should be happy because I got the rooms on points, even though I had used double the amount of points to get a premium room and was offered an ocean view upgrade at time of booking.

Eventually got moved to an ocean view room in the Tapia tower, but only after having to insist on speaking to a manager and pushing my Diamond Status to get some action.

Gold and Diamond members are entitled to free continental breakfast in the VIP Terrace Lounge which is only until 9:30 am despite breakfast being served in Lanai until 11am.

We arrived at just after 9am in the VIP lounge on a Sunday morning and we were rudely asked to leave because their policy is to start closing breakfast at 9am to ensure everything is cleaned away by 9:30. Was advised to go to the Lanai Restaurant but would have to pay as the free breakfast doesn't apply there. Once again' I resorted to complain to the Manager and we were allowed to stay.

Spoke to a lot of people at the hotel with similar experiences and views.

Overall, a very poorly run hotel with need for a management overhaul. Definately, well below the typical standard you would expect of a hilton hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve125458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, July 3, 2013
Aloha Steve125458,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We apologize to learn HHV fell short of providing an enjoyable stay for the second part of your family’s Hawaii Hilton vacation. Our front desk monitors room inventory closely allocating the best upgrades first to our Diamond members, when available. Thank you for your patience and allowing HHV to find suitable ocean view accommodations for your family. Our VIP lounge serves complimentary Continental breakfast daily for Diamond and Gold members. Rainbow Lanai also serves a full breakfast buffet for extended hours and provides Diamond and Gold members an $8 discount should you wish to upgrade. As a valued Hhonors Diamond member, we appreciate your feedback in how we can improve our services and offerings. We look forward to welcoming your family back to HHV for a more pleasant stay.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

Here is what we love the most about Hawaiian Village:
1. Walk between the hotels and use any of the pools / water lagoon / water slides
2. Short walk to city center for shopping, eating etc.
3. Beach is great and plenty of hotel activities (We got the Luau for free)
Other things: there is a museum, a zoo, parks and diamond head is in 1hr walking distance, the hotel is very clean, kids club is there (slightly on the expensive side)
It is one of the best resorts we went to. Is this the most budget vacation you can get- of course not, but overall we find it a great value and very enjoyable vacation, this is why we keep coming back.

Room Tip: The newer tower rooms are a bit nicer. Unless you are a freak of ocean views, chose newer room over...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ngap_82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitefish
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We stayed in a 2-bed 1-bedroom suite in the Diamondhead Tower. Although it only books 4, it actually can hold 6. We had a great view on the 16th floor. The beach here is awesome--we swam and snorkeled and just played in the waves. I also recommend renting beach lounge chairs and umbrella--they set it up for you.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

This was the second time we stayed at the Hilton Hawaiian Village and were not disappointed. We booked into the Ali Tower which has been very nicely refurbished in neutral tones. On arrival we received a lovely box of chocolates and small jar of Aloe vera after sun cream which was a nice touch. As we were there during June/ July we appreciated having a separate concierge away from all the queues. The staff were extremely helpful booking us into restaurants and activities.

Our room had breakfast included at the Tropics Bar and Grill, and to be honest this was truly awful. The food was not fresh, and there were swarms of birds picking the crumbs on the tables while guests were eating. People were eating with one hand and fending off the birds with the other. For future breakfasts we bought food at the ABC store and Starbucks. Unfortunately there was no kettle in the room, but we did appreciate the empty fridge.

Our room faced the Super Pool with partial sea views which was a great spot to watch the Friday night fireworks. There is so much to do that even a week wasn't enough. The hotel is in walking distance to Ala Moana shopping mall with large department stalls, high end fashion as well as chain stores. We also walked in to Waikiki every day which is an easy 10 minutes to eat lunch or dinner as there are endless choices. There are tons of activities that can be booked by the concierge including Atlantas Submarine, paragliding (a must even for kids- our 8 and 10 year old boys went twice), and swimming with the dolphins. Outlet shopping at Waikele can also be booked with a cheap shuttle pick up from the hotel- bargains everywhere.

We did have a little look at a few of the other Hotels along the beach front and the Hilton Hawaiian Village would have to have the best pools especially now with the new Paradise Pool and slides, and easily the best span of beach in front of any hotel. The lagoon is also great - we purchased some large inflatable rings and tubes from ABC store for about $4.00 which was hours of fun in the lagoon and surf (much cheaper than renting them!). The only downside is the lack of shade available around many of the pools so we generally swam early and later in the day.

Overall another great experience and our children are talking about when we should return next.

Room Tip: Ali Tower for separate concierge, pool and check-in to avoid the crowds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Review_Meisteress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

From the moment we arrived, we were greeted by the friendly lady behind the counter, who checked us into our room. We asked for additional nights (that had been unavailable to book online) and asked for a room with double beds (as original booking was with king bed only), not only did we get all that we requested but this lovely lady also upgraded us to a partial ocean view room in the Rainbow Towers. The room was wonderful, we had a great view of the sunset each night! So it was a great welcoming into the paradise island hotel. Our room was great, spacious, clean, new, and the views were amazing. The hotel itself is pretty big, great for taking morning or afternoon strolls. The pools and cocktails at the bar were fabulous and the private beach in front of the hotel was a bonus. It wasn't as crowded as the main beach in Waikiki. I love staying at this hotel as it has all that you need to chill out in the day, it also has quite a few shops, and ABC shop where you can pick up daily goods, snacks etc. It is a ten minute walk to the shopping centre and we found it was a twenty walk into town. The days would be spent by the pool or beach (if not out shopping or site seeing) and the evenings we would venture into town for dinner. Breakfast is not included, but they have at least 2 starbucks on site, and plenty of cafes and restaurants to grab something heavy or light in the morning, lunch or dinner. This place is a one stop shop! The only down side was the distance from the main part of town and the restaurants for dinner can get overcrowded so you can wait around for a while to grab a table. Apart from that this place is value for money for what is on site. Would stay here again!

Room Tip: The Rainbow Tower was in the perfect placement of this hotel for us and had great views. But do note...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aleni M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
125 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2013

This is our third stay at HHV and the best stay yet. We love it! It is very big and busy as others have said but even though it was almost to capacity while we were there, it was never too crowded anywhere we went on site. I have read others say that it is only for families. We are a couple with grown kids so we come by ourselves. There are many families there but it in no way diminishes our stay. We enjoy being around families with children in a place like this. Maybe not in Las Vegas, but we expect children here.

We booked our room using our Hilton Honors points. In doing this we didn't have to pay the resort fee, which was very nice. We did get to take advantage of what is covered by the resort fee. We were upset to hear that they had added this on. It would have added $250 to our stay--10 nights. When we checked in, late afternoon, there was only one person in front of us. We did notice later that the lines could be very long. You definitely need a HH card to get into the smaller line. Since we are HH Gold, we always get an upgrade if it is available. When we got there, Apple told us that it was so crowded that she didn't think we would get an upgrade, especially since we were staying so many nights. She still spent about 20 minutes looking for us. Very nice. She told us that we should check back in a couple of days. She put us in the Kalia Tower. The room was very nicely updated and clean. It looked out over the front entrance to HHV and onto the road. We did not hear any road noise at night. The only complaint about it was that the air didn't work the greatest. We did go down the next morning and spoke to Amy, who is awesome. She spent about 20 minutes trying to get us an upgrade and finally found a junior suite in the Diamond Head tower. We were a little wary of it after reading reviews of the Diamond Head Tower. They called us when the room was ready and told us that we could look at it before moving. Glad we did!! The reviews about that tower are right on. The balcony was HUGE--probably at least 200 sq. feet! That was really the only thing good about the room. The room looked very old and dark. We went back down and told Amy thanks for spending so much time in looking but we would just stick to the Kalia room. We told her that they had spoiled us the two times before by putting us in the Rainbow Tower. She said to wait and let her look again. She spent at least 20 more minutes looking. She finally ended up putting us in a corner room in Rainbow--25th floor. It was awesome. Beautifully updated. She said it really isn't a room you can get for points but gave it to us anyway. There were two balconies, one facing the harbor and lagoon, and the other facing the ocean. It definitely made our trip better.

Pros-
1) Many pools- The Paradise Pool closes early but the Super Pool stays open until 10pm except on Friday nights. We were able to find chairs every time we went to the pool. There were only 2 of us and we did have to walk around a couple of times to scope out people leaving. It would have been a little harder if we needed more. The rules for what can be taken into the Super pool are not posted. They will not let you have a lay down float at all. The round donut looking floats have to be completely see through. I had on a life vest one day and they didn't say anything about that. The pool at the Kalia building is nice. It wasn't ever very crowded when we saw it.
2) All staff were great--there wasn't anyone that we met or talked to who weren't helpful and nice. Many of them would say "Aloha" as they passed.
3) Room was always very clean--the housekeeping was great--always accommodating if we were still in our room when they came by. They always came back later.
4) The grounds are beautiful and always clean wherever you go. We always saw someone cleaning in the lagoon or in the little fish ponds that are all around.
5) Great place for kids or just couples.
6) Fridge in room.
7) Lots of shopping stores.
8) Friday night---show at the pool and then fireworks. You can pay $20 for a seat at the pool to see the hula dancing show or you can stand around the perimeter of the pool area and watch for free. Right after is the fireworks show. It isn't very long but pretty neat to see--just don't expect Disney fireworks. We have watched it every time we were there.
9) Awesome beach area. There is plenty of room for everyone. We went down most days and went snorkeling right off of the beach at the little reef. It was awesome. We have never been snorkeling before and really enjoyed being able to go out anytime we wanted. We saw all kinds of fish and lots of sea urchins.
10) HH Gold and Diamond members get complimentary breakfast. We had oatmeal, cereal, raisin nut bread, several different types of bread for toast and jelly, different kinds of muffins, pineapple, watermelon, honeydew melon, cantaloupe, coffee, and several kinds of juices.
11) ABC store on site to get anything you might need. They have food, pool floats, drinks, souvenirs, t-shirts, magazines, postcards, or anything you may have left home.
12) Close enough to walk to either Waikiki or to Ala Moana Center in the other direction.
13) Penguins- they feed them and let you pet one at 8:00 in the morning. Very cute. They even encourage adults to pet them. The pond that they swim in also has lots of turtles. You will also find several other small ponds on site that have Koi and other types of smaller fish in them.
14) Birds--different types of parrots located in several areas during the day.

Cons
1) Rooms are very expensive. We would have to save for a long time if we weren't able to use our points. This isn't exclusive to Hilton though. In looking, most of the rooms that are on the ocean in Waikiki are at least $300 a night.
2) Expensive to eat on site. We did find one place that wasn't very expensive. Outside of Benihana's, there is a little terrace where they serve a few dishes including a hamburger plate. My husband had the hamburger and I had a shrimp plate. We both had water and it was under $20. There are many places off-site to eat at that are nearby also. We read about Happy's at Hale Koa--right next door-- that we finally tried this time. Prices are great. We got a 3 piece chicken plate one night--breast, leg, and thigh with slaw and fries--- for $6.95. Very good. They have ice cream cones for $1.95 and it is REALLY big--chocolate, vanilla, or swirl. We went back for ice cream several times. They have lots of other stuff too. I saw several cooked veggies, hamburgers, chips, pizza, fruit, etc.
3) Pool water is very chilly. If you go out to the ocean and swim in it a little while and then go up to the pool, the water feels much warmer. The ocean water is cold but your body gets used to it very quickly.

HHV is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: The Rainbow Tower is the best tower to stay in for ocean views. Ask for a high floor facing Diamond...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,977 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#3 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
#33 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 5,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing