We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki at its best”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #40 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Campbell, CA
Level Contributor
43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Waikiki at its best”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

The Hawaiian Village has it all, including the best location in Honolulu for a beach lover. Even in the oldest towers (like Diamondhead from the 1950s) the amenities are great, and we really enjoyed our spacious suite on the top floor. The double-lanai was large enough to host a small party on, and had a great view of the beach and the beautiful park in Fort Derussy next door. The only fault I found was an extremely noisy service elevator, which moaned and groaned thru the night, and disturbed my sleep. The great variety of shops, restaurants, and activities all within the village make it possible to never even leave. But the rest of Waikiki is right there, waiting for you. We were also fortunate enough to experience the annual Waikiki Spam Jam, which has got to be the greatest street festival on the 8 islands. It was a wonderful week on the beach, and Hilton really delivered.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,136 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,455
    4,893
    2,375
    865
    548
See reviews for
5,505
4,664
362
1,344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,483)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
85 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved our precruise stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. It has been around for a very long time-I stayed there as a teen in the 60's when it was one of two hotels on Waikiki beach-but you would never know it from the lovely modernized and clean rooms. The lobby is open air and our check in was quick especially with Hilton Honors card. We had requested a room in the Rainbow tower, but when we checked in no rooms were ready however the very kind front desk agent offered us a Jr Suite in theTapa tower with the assurance that if we didn't like it, we could wait for another room. Our room was amazing with a gorgeous view of the beach from both our living room balcomy and our second direction facing bedroom balcony. Needless to say we kept that room!
We enjoyed the outdoor cafe where the colorful birds hop around the tables. Pool area was very nice with plenty of chairs. Great night time fire dancer/ hula show near pool. Expansive beach with great view of diamond head and great view of Hawaiian sunset in other direction. We wished we had more days to stay and play at this hotel.

Room Tip: Tapa tower and Rainbow Towers offer great view of ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dusty100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

We had a lovely stay in the Tapa tower. Location perfect. The grounds were well maintained. Pools were great and beach close. We only ate @ the restaurant once. Our room was clean with a ocean view. We would stay here again when we return to Hawaii.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddsbeach007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

We stayed at the Hilton post cruise from Vancouver. It was a beautiful hotel, at first the size of the property is daunting but after a couple of hours we soon found our way around. The staff were really friendly, spotless hotel, great amenities, pool, lagoon, at in the pizza restaurant portion sizes were massive. The ABC onsite was a godsend and good quality snacks.
We had a room with a great view and could see the surfers out from dawn to dusk. You can easily walk to the shopping centres, Al Mona is not far away and there is a larger more upmarket shopping area the opposite direction to Al Mona, but I cannot remember the name. We walking around and felt safe at all times.
We had a smoke detector bleeping and we had an electrician come to fix it within 20 mins of reporting it. The engineer was an elderly local white Hawaiian man, he was so helpful and gave us all the information was asked about the local area. He is a credit to a great hotel.
The beach in front of the hotel is rocky, you will need plastic sandals/slipper socks.
Overall, we didn’t have long enough in Honolulu it was much bigger than we thought and it takes longer to get around than anticipated but we would return and stay at the Hilton again.

Room Tip: High floor sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bella1900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bent NM
Level Contributor
408 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 280 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2013

A magnificent group of 5 hotel towers around a huge pool and beach. It is about a $35 ride from the airport (no hotel bus) though taxis advertise $24 flat. Check in is slooooooow, slow. Even if you are preregistered count on 15 minutes.
The grounds are beautiful and good for children and adults. Restaurants are good but on the high side of expensive. Reserve ahead.
Like other Hawaii Hiltons, this hotel is really a hybrid. It is essentially a time-share sales outlet run by Hilton Grand Vacations with day-to-day operations run by Hilton Hotels. If you don’t buy a full time share, they will attempt to sell you a junior time share, a one-time only return.
There are other differences, especially for Hilton Honors members. At Hiltons, you can book a room with points using a published scale of 1 (cheapest) to 7 (most expensive) to figure the price. Hawaii Hiltons are hybrids costing what a level 12 to 14 hotel would cost. At regular Hiltons, elite members can choose free breakfast. Here you get a discount coupon. Elite members get free Internet elsewhere. Here, you pay a $25 “resort fee” and then get Internet.

Tip: If you want an early morning swim, get your pool towel before 5 PM.

Room Tip: Rainbow tower ($350) is the closest to beach and most famous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Odis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowling Green, Ohio
Level Contributor
154 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

This is a nice property. The swimming pools are awesome, the grounds are well taken care off, and you'll have easy access to the beach. If you have children they'll love the pond and the water slide pools. The rooms are very clean and well taken care of. You should not ever pay more than $149/night. I had trouble with my room internet connection and no one could fix it until they connected me with some person in Austin, Texas. Yes, I said Austin, TX. Breakfast is expensive so I recommend going next door to the Hale Koa resort where it is much cheaper with better food. There is no shuttle from the airport so you have to find your own ride or if you drive you have to deal with the traffic. There are a lot of neat shops on property but most are overrpriced. The new ABC store in the TAPA Tower is great for food and gifts. The hotel is crowed and you can wait 25 minutes to check in or check out. Also, security is lacking. A lot of Waikiki trash people come on the property in the evening. I saw a couple getting put into a police car right at the main entrance. Anyone has access to the property and all the way to your room door. They can also come in from the ocean side. The staff can be rude too. If you aren't staying in the Alii Tower or are a Hilton Gold member they really don't care about you. I've stayed at this property twice now and will likely not go back.

Room Tip: You won't spend much time in your room so it really doesn't matter. Book with Hilton (call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Dr T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2013

An awesome resort that offers something for everyone! We have 3 teenage boys and with all the pools, the beach right there and the lagoon for doing laps, everyone was happy! The variety of shops and restaurants were excellent and the ice cream shop our daily stop before bedtime!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Aniita T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,188 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,788 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing