We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but crowded”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
182 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Ok but crowded”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

The room we booked was promised ocean views 18th or higher floor and we were offered 4 th floor obstructed view. We were moved to another tower ocean view and newly refurbished. Room was about 3.5 star and basic and view good but not what we wanted as could not look down to Waikiki town. Resort looking tired, pools old and water slides ok but again bit old. Starbucks was great but massive queues each day and food very expensive. Food options limited and expensive, best bet cab rise to nearby mall which was incredible. Honolulu itself looked tired and traffic chaotic ( and we'd just been a week in NYC !!) beaches ok but sand brought in and reefs snorkeling looked worn out by years of high traffic. All in all we would not stay there again and would have stayed more central or out of town; expensive and staff unhelpful and disinterested. Pool boys looked like they were so bored and verged on rude. We spent 7 weeks in Canada/ US all over and Hawaii and Hilton most average of our stops.

Room Tip: We got lied to when booking and then conned when checking in. We simply did bit get what we waned. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 20, 2013
Aloha Tim H,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are sorry to hear about the various challenges that you experienced at our resort. We truly regret that we did not have the chance to rectify the situation during your stay. Thank you for taking the time to write a review as your feedback will assist us in making changes to enhance our service to our valued guests. We hope you reconsider and provide us with another opportunity to share the true Hilton Hawaiian Village experience.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,454
    4,890
    2,372
    865
    548
See reviews for
5,502
4,661
362
1,344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,482)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 15, 2013

Great place to stay right next to beach, man-made Lagoon and pools. Resort charge $25/day for unlimited movie rental and game was a little annoying. Staffs were friendly and service was good. Sand is a little coarse in front of Hilton, but if you walk down toward Royal Hawaiian hotel, it turns very fine sand. Your foot will let you know for sure.
Gentle waves are great for surf lesson. Hotel offers over $90. You can find local for almost half price. Anyway, we have a great stay at Hilton.
By the way, I left my smartphone charger in the room, and called the lost & found with no luck. When I came back home, I received a parcel with my charger wrapped with bubbles. I thank Hilton staff's professionalism.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lukeoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

My husband & I got married on June 30, 2012. We spent the next 9 days at this beautiful place in paradise! We were there from July 1-9 & loved every minute! There are so many shops and places to eat at the hotel. I absolutely LOVED going to Starbucks every morning and taking it back to my hotel room to sit on the balcony and looking at Diamond Head while drinking my morning coffee. We were on the 25 floor & stayed in the Rainbow Tower. Our view was PHENOMENAL! This Hilton resort has fireworks on the beach every Friday night, but we were lucky enough to get fireworks on Wednesday as well because of Independence Day. It was so nice being able to wake up, go to the beach and come back to our clean hotel room with fresh linens! If you have never been to the Pacific Ocean before, beware because the water is COLD! But once you stay in it a few hours it doesnt bother you until you get out lol. Tip of advice: if you decide to stay here, RENT A CAR! Although the hotel was fairly close to everything it takes a while to get to where you want to go by walking! My husband and I walked all across Honolulu LITERALLY until the last 2 days of our trip, then decided to rent a car to drive across the island to North Shore! We did take the bus to Pearl Harbor but the bus drivers drive wild lol. Although we loved staying here, & I miss it very much while writing this review, I do believe next time we will rent a house in North Shore. It's less crowded and more peaceful.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsRex2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at HHV, the room was clean, balcony overlooking the water and the pool was really nice. We enjoyed a couple meals at the restaurants on property, rather pricey but most of HI is pricy, drink prices are outrageous though. If you want drinks my advise is to buy what you want at the ABC store and mix it up in your own room, relax on the balcony and watch the sun set. All of the staff we encountered were very friendly and always with a smile, from 1st contact with Bell man, housekeepers, front desk, restaurant staff right to the bell man that picked up our luggage when we were departing. Several restaurants near the hotel off lower priced and good food, we enjoyed the Walihana coffee shop/lounge for a couple meals, very friendly staff, good food- nothing exceptional just good, and good prices. My only complaint is that every morning at about 4am there was a tractor out at the beach smoothing the sand, it needs some major WD-40 or some lubricant so the squeeking doesn't wake up everyone in the beach front rooms

Room Tip: try to get a room in Rainbow tower on a high floor for the amazing views
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank JammansTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

Units with a connecting door can allow way too much noise from the adjoining unit; we were in #1651. So any units ending in "51" are concerning, particularly at $413.00/nite. Overall, the unit was well-appointed and clean, very nice ocean view. Staff is wonderful. But should we return, it won't be in the Kalia Tower, the noise. Sorry, I just don't want here the neighbors conversations, etc, at this price.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Grand Vacations

Helpful?
Thank Peter Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

We stayed in the Tapa Tower, floor 31. We had an amazing view of Waikiki Beach. The room was spacious and the bed was very comfortable. I also appreciated the tea & coffee making facilities, and the fridge, as we were able to buy stuff from the ABC store and not have to eat out for meals 3 times a day, which made a big difference on our spending.
I guess you wouldn't really need to leave this hotel - I would probably recommend it for families and older guests however, as everything shut down at 10.30pm and we were left wondering where we could get a drink from! Luckily, a member of staff pointed us in the direction of an Irish bar which was just down the road from the Hilton, and this was open til 4am. We didn't want to stay out this late - would've just liked to have been able to get a drink until midnight!!

I really would recommend getting a car hire though - we hired through the Hertz rental in the hotel, and we weren't particularly happy with their service. The sat nav provided in the car was rubbish, we ended up navigating the island from a map! Also, when we picked up the car it was dirty! Not the best.

But we are glad we got the car, as without it we wouldn't have seen the amazing North Shore! We saw the world famous Waimea Bay, Sunset Beach, Turtle Bay & Waimea Falls.

The best beach on the island of Oahu by FAR is Kailua Beach on the East of the island - drive up here - it's paradise!!

Room Tip: The higher the floor - the better the view! Oh, and get an ocean view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hol1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013

The property is large (5 towers) but the grounds are nice, rooms are large and the view is fabulous! Room service is not available but they will deliver from an onsite "quick food" shop. Lots of shops and restaurants around the property, so you will not go hungry. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Deb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,186 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,787 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing