We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure how this is a Hilton property.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Mount Washington, Kentucky, United States
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not sure how this is a Hilton property.”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed here as part of a promotional time share sales presentation. I would not do anything like that again. We were in a room that was more like a two star hotel. The tower we were in was VERY ran down. The property as a whole was nice but a big thumbs down on the room itself. I wouldnt pay $50.00 a night to stay here again. If you like an upperscale hotel pass on this one and keep looking.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shelly-John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,658 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,668
    5,043
    2,468
    902
    577
See reviews for
5,740
4,839
374
1,383
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,590)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

From pools, to the lagoon, to the carefully maintained beaches, the Hilton Hawaiian Village continues to be a favorite spot to stay for pleasure and business. Comfortable quiet rooms, great ocean views toward Diamond Head from several of the towers, and a great array of restaurants, bars and shops in the complex also make it an easy place to stay, enjoy the soft Hawaiian air, and de-stress. Pool and beach-side bars offer an incredible array of 'umbrella' tropical drinks, and they make good Mai Tai's and great Chi-Chi's. Music in the evenings and for special shows brings the Spirit of Aloha to life! My favorite is Tikal Tower above the 30th floor where I can sit on my lanai, tropical drink in hand, watch the glow of the sunset on the blue Pacific and Diamond Head, and then watch the swimming pools and lights of Waikiki and 'the strip' come to life below. HHV is also very close to many favorite restaurants that are a short walk down then beach or across Fort Derussy Park. For active and retired military folks, try the Barefoot Bar at the Hale Koa Military MWR Hotel next door to sit and watch phenomenal sunsets with a nice selection of pupu's (appetizers) and drinks at MWR prices. Sunday brunch at either the HHV or Hale Koa is also a wonderful adventure in Hawaiian foods and fresh fruit. Aloha!

Room Tip: While Aloha Tower is also very nice, my favorite are the Ocean View rooms and suite in Tikal Tower o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SOCALGourmet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

I found that the stay 4 nights and get 1 night free was very misleading. Also it was difficult to find out why we had to pay 25 dollars per day for a resort fee - no explanation. Also we had to endure constant sell sell tactics.
We would not be returning.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tettlley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, May 8, 2013
Aloha Tettlley,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are sorry to learn our Guest Service Agent was not able to assist in clarifying any confusion you had with your reservation during the check-in process. HHV’s daily resort charge allows guests to maximize their visit thru cost-saving benefits offered as listed on our website. We apologize if at any time you felt pressured into purchases as this approach upon our guests in not condoned by HHV. Thank you for sharing your feedback and we hope you will allow us the opportunity to serve you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

We stayed for just one night in July 2012 before heading to the Big Island, so that we could spend a day at Pearl Harbor. I am a Hilton Honors silver member. Check in process was fine, everyone was friendly and I didn't have the wait that some report. But, our room turned out to be next to the elevator -- so close that through the paper walls we could hear the elevator going up and down all night (which of course we didn't realize would be the case until it was too late to uproot everyone from their beds and try to get a new room, and it was only one night). The room itself had a nice view toward Diamond Head. The decor was tired and a little beat up. Meanwhile, even whispers in the hallway carried into the room. Not a restful night. During the evening, we found the atmosphere a little too crowded and chaotic for our taste, but for us vacation means getting away from crowds, not seeking them out. All the restaurants were completely packed, and for the show and fireworks people were jammed in like sardines. Our younger son enjoyed a short swim in the pool, and we enjoyed a walk on Waikiki, but it was a scene and we were all delighted to leave early the next morning for what was an amazing Hawaiian vacation on the Big Island and Kauai.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ontheroadagain1434
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ewa Beach
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've been staying at and visiting the Hilton Hawaiian Village since the late 1960's. The compound has grown immensely over the years. However, the most recent change in management has resulted in a reduction in service and too many buildings.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

This place is huge … 5 towers and lots of people everywhere. The grounds are fantastic and it does feel more like a small city than a village. Where else would you find penguins in Hawaii other than the zoo? It is so big I will have to break it down by category.
Food: It has almost everything from ABC stores (2 that I found) and a Dairy Queen just off the beach in the Rainbow Tower. If you want food choices HHV has them -though expensive, but don’t go looking for room service they don’t have it, but have a fast food outlet “The Pronto Pickle” that you can call and go pick up. CJ’s does a decent Ruben and Tropics has a great bar, but tables on the patio are hard to get & the bar gets backed up when it is crowded. The Hau Tree bar by the beach is nice, but if you order food it comes from the Pronto Pickle fast food place.
Beach and Pool: They are great- this is one of the few hotels on the strip that have direct beach access. However, an umbrella and two lounge chairs on the beach will set you back $61 a day. Chairs at the super pool fill up quickly, but they do turn over so we never had much of a problem finding a couple of chairs next to each other. Also in the super pool no rafts or floats are allowed and from time to time one of the little swimmers has an accident and that causes the pool to be closed for up to 2 hours while they clean up and shock the pool. We stayed in the Alii Tower and the pool there was always crowded and had no open chairs, so we headed to the super pool. Also the Spa and bathrooms at the Alii tower pool were shut down due to renovations. At the Super pool, they do have drink runners, but not enough to cover the pool area in a quick manner (which is a shock since this place is always looking to separate a dollar or ten from you).
Rooms: Alii and Rainbow Towers have the best beach and coastal views.We stayed in the Alii Tower which is right on the beach & has only about 5 rooms that actually face the Beach. The others look to the side or back. The Alii tower is worth it newly renovated, separate check in and its own concierge desk. Our room faced the East looking down the beach toward Diamond Head and since Fort DeRussy and the Hale Koa Military hotel are next door you have open park space which helps. On the bad side it is also where the Hilton places the dumpsters and this place has construction going on all the time. Also the busses for the Atlantis Submarine park and back up there all day long as well as delivery trucks.
Upon checking in they told us our requested room -King bed, high floor, oceanfront and not near the elevator was not available so they tried to give us a second floor, ocean front (if you could see over the roof in front of us and the 100 foot long wall next to us) king bed and right next to the noisy elevator. They should not call this ocean front and have the same rate as the other ocean front rooms. Upon going back down and complaining they told us all they had was either that room or one with double beds. Upon repeated complaints and a 30 min. wait in the lounge they offered us a high room, partial ocean front looking down the beach (facing Diamond Head) and agreed to cut the rate we were paying. They should never treat HH members like this. We took them up on this and it was fine the 6 days we stayed there. While they advertise turn down service we never had it while we were there. One problem we had was parts of the room had never been dusted and one of the lamps had so much dust that we took a picture of it. And while the spot we swiped with our finger was in plain sight, it was not touched by the maid. I think they have so many folks going through the complex that deep cleaning of rooms is not done on a regular basis.
Valet: Nice folks, but you cannot call down and request your car. You have to go down and give them your card and wait 15 min or so for them to fetch it.
Main Check In and Activities Desk: Busy and crowded at all times. That is why the Alii Tower separate check in is a nice perk. The staff is friendly but shorthanded and harried. The activities desks are really working for Hilton vacation timeshares and if you have the time you will get some good discounts to tours and the Luau.
Friday night fireworks: this is a lot of fun but the place gets packed and feels like Times Square on New Year’s Eve. It makes it a lot of fun, but if you want a drink or a table the wait can be quite long. Also, due to state law they can only sell you one drink at a time unless all the folks that want a drink are all there.
Before the Fireworks they have a short (around 30 min.) luau type show around the pool which is free but they close off the pool and sell poolside seating for $20.
In closing: HHV is a great venue with great grounds and has a lot of pluses but it is a victim of its size as well. Be advised of what type of room, view and tower you are booking, it makes all the difference. If you want peace and quiet go to the North Shore or another island. If you like the big city feel, shopping, crowds of conventioneers and tours from around the world this is the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SDBrad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, MO
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Property under renovation in November 2012 very spacious room great housekeeping staff. Only complaint was cost of beach chairs at the hotel . Very high cost, but idf you wanted a chair to sit on you paid the price

Room Tip: Higher floors offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelProffesional
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,364 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,973 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing