We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Lovely hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #37 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Lovely hotel, beautifully situated on a wonderful beach. Constant weddings - interesting to watch the photographs being taken.

Hotel has a superb pool.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Plenty of places to visit nearby, if you so desire.

Room Tip: Corner suites are large and sunny. Just ask when booking - friendly staff.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bearlette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4,763
    4,357
    2,067
    786
    465
See reviews for
4,761
4,050
321
1,210
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,136)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
60 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Been here twice and have looked at a lot of other hotels and still find this one is the best, so many restaurants , ABC convenience store on site which is great and sells just about anything and cheap, not worth the effort to go to any other abc store as they are all the same price.
Rainbow or Ali towers are the best and on the beach front.
What else can I say! I love it!!

Room Tip: Beach front is the best , but in saying that ocean view/ Marina is really good Both of these u can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Helen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Everything you could ever want in a Hawaiian vacation. Just one look at the photos of this place and you should be convinced. The rooms are phenomenal!! The property is maintained to beyond 5 star ratings. Multiple pools, exotic plants and animals on site, right on the beach, fabulous restaurants. My favorites are the sushi restaurant and Benihana. But there are several more to choose from. If you can book ahead I would recommend asking for a room in the Rainbow tower as high as you can get. The views are breathtaking on all sides of the tower. All in all this is the place to stay if you want that Hawaiian experience 24-7.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnahan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

I've stayed at this Resort 10+ times while visiting family. I suggest staying in the Ali'i Tower. It is one of the buildings that is closest to the ocean. This tower just went through an extensive renovation. There is a seperate check in desk and a pool for just the people staying in that Tower. There are several pools on the property-you can try a new one every day. The Tapa pool just got renovated and opened in December 2012. Round Table Pizza, CJ's Deli and Benihana's are my favorite restaurants on the property. The rest of the time we walk down to Kalakaua Ave for meals. Lots of high end shopping at the Resort. There is an ABC store and Whalers General store for things you may need. There are a few full service grocery stores that are within walking distance. The Wailana Coffee House is off the property and close for breakfast. Much cheaper. It is nothing fancy but the food is good and its clean. Every Friday they do a fireworks show. The grounds are beautiful and the staff is nice. The property is massive so if you're looking for a quiet get-a-way this might not be the place for you. For people looking for a fun beach, lots of shopping, restaurants, penguins, turtles, etc, give it a try.

Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Beachbum802
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
75 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in The Lagoon tower as part of a timeshare room. We were on the 8th floor, 1 bedroom with full kitchen which was great. We were on the right side of the tower so we overlooked part of the Paradise pool and a partial ocean view so it was fine. As far as the room goes it was a little outdated and the carpet seemed old. The kitchen had the bare minimum as far as dishes and cooking pans. The stovetop is flat/electric which I don't care for but it's common for timeshare kitchens. The bedroom was nice as well as the bathroom but the air conditioner was kind of loud when it came on. It was nice having a balcony to go and sit on when we wanted to. They had a round table and 4 chairs outside. The front desk and all the employees were very nice. The bad thing is you have to pay $27 a day to park if you have a car and more for valet. The grounds are beautiful and there is a lot to do in and around the Village as far as restaurants and shopping all of which are over priced as expected. All in all it's a very nice place to stay but very big and lots of people. If you want to get an umbrella and chairs to lay at the lagoon it will cost you $16 for each lounge chair and $59 for the umbrella. Just a side note, if you want to get a blow up mat to float in the lagoon buy one at the ABC store onsite for $4.99 and for $.60 they will blow it up for you. Beats paying a bunch to rent for a day. We also had to use the onsite on call doctor and that was a nice touch to have.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank packy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach Island, New Jersey
Level Contributor
60 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We have a Hilton time share and exchanged ours for the Hilton Grand Wiakikian at the Hilton Hawaiian Village in Honolulu - this is a beautiful facility, we had a great vacation. We usually like to rent homes on different tropical islands as a family - but this was a trip for my husband and I and another couple who are dear friends. For the type of vacation we were looking for, this was perfect. There are alot of units there and alot of people - however, most days (during the week) you really don't notice the crowds - Saturday being the busiest day. It is a great location to set out for your day trips to the North Shore, Pearl Harbor, Diamond Head. You can rent a car next door to the village for a day or two or three. You can catch the local bus on the road infront, you can get a taxi at the hotel, or you can ride the trolley into the main section of Honolulu - or you can walk into that area from your hotel (about a 10 - 15 minute easy walk - and we are 65 years young) - which we did some nights to go to Roy's Restaurant and House without Keys restaurant - easy walk back and forth on the beach or the street side sidewalk. Don't miss the Friday nights fireworks - just beautiful - also many of the restaurants/bars there have great intertainment during the evenings. We loved the beach - but not the price of lounge chair rentals ($15.00 each) or an umbrella rental ($30.00 each) so we stayed alot around the pool - free lounge chairs (just get up early and put your towel and something else on the lounge chair so you have one) There are 3 pools for your use aside from the lagoon and beach. Our time share unit was nicely appointed - 2 bedrooms, livingroom, kitchen with eat in area and a washer/dryer - all great except for the balcony - ours was small and the major drawback - if you opened the sider doors to the balcony, your air conditioner turned off - not bad, but when you don't have windows, balcony doors to open to the bedrooms you swelter - and we are people who love to have open doors - windows in a tropical place - really can't do that here. But our view was beautiful - others on the "street side" were not thrilled with their I-Hop view - so ask for an ocean view/part ocean view - Pretty good shopping - all price ranges - good selectiion that you won't have to go anywhere else. We found the restaurants to be very good - don't miss the Bali Steak and Seafood house - great food, super service, best ocean view that we had while dining. Also the CJ New york style Deli was great for breakfast, lunch, lite dinner, tropics bar was good, forget the bar at the main pool - mixed drinks tasted like powder, ok if you just want a beer. There is a DQueen on site. Also , there are many restaurants on site but we also loved getting off "campus" and into town to afew of the many great restaurants in Wiakiki - also if you go to Pearl Harbour - stop at Nico's for lunch/dinner - it's located on Pier 38 on the water - not fancy, but great fish chowder and fresh fish - Also , if you go to the North Shore = do not pass up the Grass Skirt for lunch - super very fresh food - don't pass up the coconut shrimp - but everything is super --- Over all we enjoyed our experience at the Hilton Village - all the staff, everyone on the grounds was wonderful - oh, you might even get a chance to see some of Hawaii-Five-O being filmed there -------

Room Tip: Ask for an ocean view and higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunnymichele
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

The hotel is on the famous Waikiki Beach. The rooms were quite spacious and the resort of several restaurant very well cooked. Overall me but stay too impressed, and the resort is too big and impersonal. Services were an average hotel and would need an upgrade.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Eleonora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, April 8, 2013
Aloha Eleonora B,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! Thank you for your input and time taken to write a review of your recent stay. We are glad to learn that our guest enjoyed the room and the restaurants in the property. It’s our regret to not exceed your expectation of our service level. Your comment is very important to us as we are always looking for improvements. Once again thank you for sharing your comment, and we hope to see you again for more pleasant stay.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Honolulu
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,558 reviews
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Trump International Hotel Waikiki
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1917
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#15 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the perfect mix of exceptional hotel accommodations and classic Hawaiian hospitality. Imagine five spectacular pools, lush tropical gardens, waterfalls, exotic wildlife and priceless artwork. As Waikiki's only true resort, we offer a perfect blend of luxurious accommodations, over 20 restaurants and lounges, shopping, recreational and cultural activities, nightly entertainment and more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Hotwire, Odigeo, Expedia, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Cancelon and Jetsetter so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing