We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent resort overall with some disadvantages”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Knoxville, Tennessee
Level 6 Contributor
206 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent resort overall with some disadvantages”
Reviewed March 1, 2013

To begin with this resort is too large with many others roaming around but it is beautiful. I was hoping to get into rainbow tower with ocean view, but glad with where we ended up. I am diamond status and they gave me a 1 bedroom suite on 33rd floor of Tapa Tower with beautifuly views. It was nice to have the extra space along with a nice view. The restaurants are overpriced, but there are many restaurants nearby. Everyone seemed very frienldy. I only have 1 complaint and it is a big one. They charge a $25 resort fee per day which is only for internet, local calls and movies. Well if you are in hawaii you don't want to rent movies. And if you are gold or diamond hilton status, you get internet for free. This is where they should be adshamed.
I did enjoy the continental breakfast that came with hilton status. I read others complain but it was nice and compatible to some other hilton properties. It was in a different tower, but the walk was not a big hasssle.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank michael c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Aloha Michael C,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We thank you for your input and time taken to write a review of your recent stay. We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Tapa Tower, and the VIP lounge for the breakfast. We are also happy to learn that our team members were able to share aloha spirit with our diamond member. We are sorry to hear about the dissatisfaction, but thank you for your opinion about the resort charge. For our Gold & Diamond members the resort charge offers upgraded high speed internet access and many other items listed on our website. We appreciate your loyalty as a valued Hhonors Diamond member, and we hope for the opportunity to welcome you back for a more pleasant stay.

Mahalo Nui Loa
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,632 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,658
    5,037
    2,465
    898
    574
See reviews for
5,725
4,833
374
1,380
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,587)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We stayed here for my first visit to the Island. We had a great room with great views. It was paradise to wake up to the views everyday. The staff were friendly and helpful. My only issue was that even on the 15th floor, every morning I was awakened by the beach grading machine. It began every morning very early and even with the windows closed, was very annoying. I understand the need to groom the beach, but if it is making that much noise to a 15th floor room, it is possibly time to invest in a machine that does not sound like something from a horror film grating into your head every morning.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ExitNebraska
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Aloha ExitNebraska,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are delighted to hear that your first visit to the Islands was at our resort. We are pleased that you liked your room and enjoyed the great view from your room. Thank you for sharing the compliment regarding our staff being friendly and sharing the aloha spirit.

We regret to hear about the noise disturbances that you experienced from the grading machine utilized to upkeep the beaches for our guests.

We appreciate you taking your time to write a review as we are continuously striving to perfect our customer service to our guests. We hope you return to our property and provide us with another opportunity to service you.

Mahalo,

Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Howell, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2013

Great place! Stayed here the first week in February. I had been here on my honeymoon 18 years ago, and it was as good as I remembered it to be! Stayed in a standard 2 double bed room in the Rainbow tower with a great view of the beach, pool and Diamond Head. We were 2 floors from the top..the higher up the room, the better the view. Room was extremely large with a nice sized balcony too. Separate tub and walk in shower. Completely updated bathroom and furnishings. Included continental breakfast was lovely. Lobby is open air with self parking across the street in large garage. We never had a problem finding a space and it was close and easy to get to. The best thing about this resort is the beach. Without a doubt the best beach on Waikiki beach. Alot of the hotels have very small strips of sand, with limited seating. HHV has a HUGE space, including a lagoon with water sports rentals. Paved beachfront walkway great for taking a walk after breakfast because you will be up EARLY if you come from the east coast with the time change. Restaurants were plentiful and good. Prices not bad. Shopping area was very nice...similar to what you find at Atlantis in the Bahamas if you have been there. Negatives? The pool is average at best. Very shaded, and nothing special like waterslides, bridges, etc. Pool chairs are on top of each other and you must get there early to secure one. NO bottled water in the room...I am not used to that. Went to concierge to ask and was told I needed to bring back the card that I received at check in to get it...which I was not about to go all the way back to my room for, and then kept forgetting for the rest of the trip so had to purchase my water (LOL) No big deal, it is just a convience Starwoods provides that I am used to so it is a negatve to me. The other negative to me was the sheer amount of people lurking around. People from other resorts clearly come down the beach to hang out in front of HHV because it is so nice. That is no problem on the beach because it is so spacious, but on the baordwalk/pool/bar area it gets unbelievably crowded, especially around sunset time. Having said that, I would definitely stay there again and it is a beautiful place..however I prefer the KO OLINA area of Oahu to Waikiki Beach.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank missstcroix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
86 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

This is a huge complex with a number of towers. Room 1210 in the rainbow tower had views overlooking the lagoon and marina. There was no shortage of restaurants or bars ontthe resort and the ala moana shopping center was a 10 minute walk Away. Great resort for families or large groups.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KiwiR0b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle,Ontario
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This is truly a beautiful resort, we stayed in the Tapa building with a room overlooking one of the pool areas, very nice . ..Negative ,people on balcony opposite staring back at you. The grounds are beautiful.several pool and beach options.. outstanding. Negative ...so many people on resort like you were walking on a main busy street,but never a problem with elevators, pool deck chairs ,or restaurant seating,perfect. The food in the restaurants was very good but pricey.many with locations on water. we had booked a king room months prior,but on arrival told hotel was now sold out and could not accommodate,persistence paid off and we got our king, but the other couple we were travelling with did not. Short beach walk by trail/ sand to Duke's a must, then street with tons of shops etc. back. You do not need a car for this area, but we did book the Hertz car on location ,for one day (prior to arriving) to drive up to,Pearl harbour , North shore sightseeing /eating fess( diners drive inns and dives) capped off with supper at buzz's and returned car same day. negative ..all bars etc closed by 10:00pm on resort , but with 5 hour time change we were struggling to stay up past 8pm , judging from the people sitting on balcony at 3:30 am this was a common problem , positive, this made sleeping with balcony open great. Would most definitely stay here again

Room Tip: Was told tapa newer building , many towers in complex including time share, we don,t stay in room so...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lmp124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

Without question the Hilton Hawaiian Village Hotel is the biggest ripoff on the entire Waikiki Beach.
With so many good hotels why spend the vast amount that they charge for nothing, from the hotel room rates to the food prices - it is not worth it. Then the have the nerve to charge some thing they call RESORT FEE- each day $25 additional for what internet- you have to be kidding a very small percentage of guest come to Hawaii for business.
I have WAS a Hilton Honors member for over 35 years and have the pleasure of cutting up my card at the check out desk.. Go to one of the smaller nicer hotels and enjoy Waikiki beach and you will be much happier and not feel so ripped off. Two little scoops of ice cream for well over $7.00 and a very small salad for just $12 and keep away from the tropical drinks and if want value go over to the Hale Koa Hotel and get a drink and food for half the price and the quality is much better and the service is also much better.
Warning just keep out of the Hilton rat trap...

Room Tip: To help other travelers pick a good room don't check into the Hilton
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank EasternORDinner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Aloha EasternORDinner,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We appreciate your loyalty as a valued Hhonors member and are disappointed to learn HHV has failed to meet your expectations. As a popular resort destination, we cater to guests from all over the world with various reasons for travel. For the convenience of our guests, HHV’s offerings are diversified and range in all price-points comparable to the Waikiki and Honolulu area. We encourage all guests to visit our website for a full listing of resort charge benefits to maximize their visit to HHV. Thank you for your comments and we hope you will allow us to serve you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 27, 2013

This resort had everything you need for a fabulous Waikiki vacation, all done with the usual Hilton attention to excellence. We stayed in a 2 Bedroom PLUS in the Lagoon tower. It was very nice, large, and well equipped for our party of 4 adults. The kitchen was nice, and the bedrooms comfortable. The lanais either look out over Diamond head or have a sunset view over the the marina. How can you go wrong? I loved swimming my laps in the lagoon every day and then relaxing in a nice beach chair looking out over the lagoon and ocean. The only minus is the prices of just about everything in the resort are ridiculously high, but all you have to do is go across the street or down the beach for more reasonable (for Waikiki) prices.

Room Tip: See if you can get a one or two bedroom PLUS unit if you are in the Lagoon Tower - they are larger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VermontAvidtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,359 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
3,964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#19 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Travelocity, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing