We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, amenities, friendly staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #41 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Ft lauderdale
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Location, amenities, friendly staff”
Reviewed January 16, 2013 via mobile

I'm a regular Hilton traveler... Upon arriving treated quite well by Hilton Honors representative Donna. She upgraded us to the Rainbow Tower with a spectacular beach view. Room was quite spacious, nicely appointed, and very comfortable beds. The hotel is situated on the south side of where the action is, but close walking distance to the main areas of Waikiki shops, restaurants, and other hotels. Though there are Seven hotel towers in the Village, you won't feel lost in a crowd. Clean grounds, well manicured, nightly music pool side, we were quite pleased. The Luau on the other hand was disappointing for the money. $106 each. There was a threat of rain so the event was moved from a rooftop area, to a conference room with no ambiance. we felt like we were attending a conference. One chance to go through the food line, limited desserts, average entertainment. We didnt stay for the entire show, but instead went walking along the main street and enjoyed the variety of people, shops, and street entertainment. Wouldrecommend. All in all the Hilton is a very nice place and location.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Larry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Mahalo for choosing to stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We are delighted to hear that you were pleased with your stay at our resort in the Rainbow tower as well as enjoyed our convenient location. We do sincerely apologize that your experience with the luau did not meet your expectation due to the rainy weather. We appreciate you taking your time to write a review on our hotel, which will surely assist us in servicing our guests. We hope you return to our property and look forward to servicing you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,531
    4,946
    2,404
    877
    557
See reviews for
5,573
4,738
365
1,354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lowood Australia
Level Contributor
370 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

No doubt one of Hilton's premier properties. Great location and facilities. Restaurant prices and wine costs were more than we were used too. Thank goodness for the external food locations and the ABC shop. Free WiFi was not available in the room; had to go to a ground floor location (with the many others).

Room Tip: 8th Floor in the Rainbow Tower, in a corner unit. Great view over the lagoon and towards the city V...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 15, 2013

This hotel was excellent. Our son broke his foot before we travelled and when we arrived with him in a wheelchair they upgraded our room to one with two double beds and a bed settee, and loads and loads of space.
We were only there for one night but I have to review it as excellent.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jasonsmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

Upon arriving at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort, I was so shocked at the cleanliness and the beauty of the surroundings. There was so much to do - shopping at all the stores, eating delicious food, and swimming at the various resort pools. The beach was yards away!!! The customer service was exemplary- especially Jo and Chastity at the reservations department. I met them on the resort property. They were so very friendly and insightful as to the amenities and Oahu!!! I loved them!!! They should provide an example of how guest relations should be conducted! Excellent!!! I will definitely be returning to Oahu for another education conference and will be booking my stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village Beach Resort! Thank you for an amazing conference and resort experience!!!

Room Tip: I was in the Tapa Tower on the 30th floor! The view was absolutely spectacular and very quiet!!! I h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Frank R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
180 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

If you are looking for an all-inclusive-resort and don’t mind lots of families and elderly charter groups, then this is your place. Don’t get me wrong – there’s nothing wrong with families and elderly travelers. It’s just that the Hilton Hawaiian Village (HHV) seems to attract more than other hotels. This is a big hotel and very crowded.

I’ve stayed in Honolulu many times before, but this was the first time at HHV. It struck me as a throwback to a kitschy, overly-themed version of a Hawaiian hotel. Not quite Disney-fied, but something a designer who never actually visited Hawaii might have dreamed up.

The property is in need of a complete refresh, and towards that end there was much construction going on during my stay. The sound of jackhammers and beeping construction trucks in reverse is sort of annoying first thing in the morning. But this property definitely needs to update its look.

If are an Elvis fan, this place is for you (if not, you may want to choose another hotel). HHV celebrates Elvis’ 1973 “Aloha from Hawaii” show and has a dedicated theater and memorabilia store to support that, along with lots of piped-in Elvis music. I don’t dislike Elvis, but after about 20 minutes, it gets old real fast. I can only imagine what the staff thinks about it!

HHV consists of several high-rise guest towers (15 stories or more) - that equals well over 1000 guest-rooms, so be prepared to wait in line for just about everything. I stayed in the Diamond Head Tower, which looks and feels old - slightly tired guest-room interiors and worn out public areas. The walls are also fairly thin so you can easily hear your neighbors. I easily heard the couple arguing in the adjoining room, as well as the alarm clock going off on the other side. Make no mistake, you will hear noise.

For a large hotel, there is a surprising lack of dining choices. Yes, there are the requisite beachside and poolside lounges, serving rather limited menus. A very expensive hotel steakhouse is really the only other option and prices at all restaurants seem high for the quality you receive.

Across the entry drive is a plaza of small shops, between the hotel and the parking garage (on top of the garage are all the meeting rooms and ballrooms). Most of these shops are replicated dozens of times in Waikiki, so there is really nothing truly unique to HHV. Those familiar with Honolulu and Waikiki know about the ubiquitous ABC stores, which are a good support use for visitors (almost every hotel has at least one). The ABC store at HHV, however, is relatively small and understaffed, so be prepared to stand in line for just about any purchase.

There are also a few restaurants in the plaza – Fresco (Italian), Benihana (hibachi) and a few other Asian choices (noodle house, sushi, etc.), a cheap pizza joint, and a “NY-style” deli. None of this is particularly unique. There are a wider variety of dining choices along Kalakaua Avenue – a 10 minute walk from HHV. I couldn’t find any restaurant at HHV that I would go out of my way to eat at.

Other reviews have mentioned this but it bears repeating – HHV is NOT an inexpensive property. You may be attracted by a low nightly rate, but know that you will be paying for many other things. This includes a MANDATORY $25 per day resort fee, $27 per day for self-parking (hint: take a cab here, it is cheaper), a daily charge for in-room Internet access (free WiFi is limited to the lobby and public areas), and even a $10 penalty if you forget to return the orange “beach and pool towel card”. So that $225 per night rate can quickly escalate to over $300 per night. Add that to the high prices at every hotel retail and dining choice and it quickly becomes a very expensive stay.

If this is your first visit to Hawaii, HHV might be okay. But with a little research, you can probably find a more appropriate, less kitschy, less crowded option.

Room Tip: Unless you absolutely need it, don't rent a car to get from the airport to this hotel. Self-par...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Joe P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Aloha Joe P,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! Thank you for your understanding of our current rejuvenation project as we work toward updating our resort grounds. We apologize for the noise disturbances that had spoiled your stay and appreciate your patience in times of queue. With your valuable feedback, we will continue our improvements toward providing our guests quality accommodations and the warmest aloha. We look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshall, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013 via mobile

Where to start...8 days of jack-hammering from 9am to 5pm...replacing the tile mural..apologies, but...the hotel is full and those in the Rainbow Tower will just have to deal with the noise...go to the pool to escape the noise...wrong...your teeth will rattle as the work is being done right near the pool...oh..and they have 5 elevators for about 1000 rooms in that tower and I think one of them works...we had to take the stairs most of the time...The concierge desks give out bad information and the Tropics cafe is so overrun with pigeons you can't enjoy your meal. The poolside bar has a sign to line up here for to go drinks..only problem is that they ignore you until you force the issue...there are retail kiosks in the lobby and you are accosted each time you pass through...so much so that we looked for alternate routes to the room just to avoid them...all of this is really unacceptable for these room prices...

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this review, January 16, 2013
Aloha Julie S,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! Due to the windy and rainy weather our island has experienced, we apologize for the noise disturbance caused by the emergency work needing to be done on the Rainbow Tower mural for the safety of our guests. Our security team checks and monitors all of our elevators throughout the day to ensure full and safe operation. We appreciate your patience with this optimized elevator system that may take a bit of adjusting to. It is a priority of ours to ensure every guest feels welcomed, respected, and valued, and we are sorry you had experiences with our team that did not reflect this. Thank you for your feedback and we hope for the opportunity to better serve you on future visits.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakewood, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2013

I have been staying at this Hotel now for about 10 years. The staff there is like no where else, always willing to help you with whatever your needs are. The rooms have been going through rentavation and look amazing. If you get an Ocean front or Beach view they are breath taking. From the reservation staff to the food servers, Bar Tenders all are very freindly and professional. I stay with them about 25 plus nights a year. I reccomend my freinds and other Business associates to stay with them because of their high level of service and what they provide. I stay here for both business and pleasure. You wake up and walk out to have breakfast and there is the beautiful Pacific Ocean and white sandy beach! Plenty of shopping and food chocies as well. I would reccomend this over any other hotel in the Waikiki area. Mahalo Hilton heading over again from 8 days for both work and the Pro Bowl!

Room Tip: Ask for a Ocean View or Ocean Front the views are amazing but the Lagoon is nice as well. Also they...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,249 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing