We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$339
$309
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$315
$281
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$169
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$608
$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$284
$259
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$199
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$425
$360
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$227
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (15,905)
Filter reviews
15,905 results
Traveler rating
6,118
5,408
2,703
1,011
665
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,118
5,408
2,703
1,011
665
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrainbow towerali towersuper pooltropics bartapa poolprivate poolpronto picklehilton hawaiian villageround table pizzaabc storeparadise poolwaikiki beachocean viewfireworks showdiamond headfriday night fireworkslots of shops
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
9,773 - 9,778 of 15,905 reviews
Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have been to numerous Hilton Resorts around the country but apparently not since their sale to Blackstone. The rooms were nice but the service and amenities were horrible. We are still waiting for a call back from the manager who never seemed to be there. We arrived late, but have never arrived and not been able to get something to eat- yeas, they do not have room service any longer. They also have a limited number of restaurants on the reort- i think we found 3. They have closed several and are going to more of a time share because that's what was pushed on us all week long- every time we walked past the center. And yes, they also neglected to tell us the resort is under major renovation which left 1 pool short and listening to major construction of the Alii'i Tower, which we couldn't go in and use the pool there, because it is for private guests. We were charged 2 different prices for the same breakfast meal at the Tropics restaurant and don't leave a towel unattended at the pool because that's $10 each, yes you get 2 cards when you check in. I have never been anywhere that limit the number of towels i can have at the pool to 1 each. This place is incredibly disappointing and way overpriced. Bummer too because it is on a beautiful property with the best beach- we spent the final 2 days at the Sheraton and Royal Hawaiian for our meals.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tom C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2012

Aloha Tom C,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! Your loyalty to Hilton Worldwide is sincerely valued and we would like to take this opportunity to apologize that HHV’s service and offerings fell short of fulfilling your expectations. Guest satisfaction is amongst our highest priorities at HHV and we regret that our management’s attempts to contact you during your visit were unsuccessful. Based on the feedback of our guests, HHV’s Fresh Connection has taken the placed of traditional room service as of October 1st, 2012. Fresh Connection emphasizes a fresh, fast, and convenient dining option to guests offering room delivery (breakfast and dinner service), phone in order and window pick-up, or simply stop in to “grab and go.” In addition, there are numerous food and beverage outlets throughout HHV that offer a variety of cuisines at all price-points comparable to the Waikiki and Honolulu area, with some outlets serving later than others. Hilton Grand Vacations Club coordinators offer interested guests the opportunity to attend time share presentations and we apologize if they have disturbed you with their offer. Although registered guests are issued one pool towel card during check-in, additional towel cards are available upon request. While the Alii Pool is exclusive to Alii Tower guests, all HHV pools are open to all registered guests. We are excited for the coming reopening of our newly renovated Tapa Pool that will be sure to bring additional pool space and amenities. We greatly appreciate your patience and understanding during our current resort rejuvenation. Enhancing our guests stay and ensuring their satisfaction is extremely important to us at HHV. Please feel free to contact us directly if you would like to further discuss the feedback from your recent visit. We look forward to the opportunity to serve you again and provide you enjoyable visit.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

My sister and I just returned from a 10-night stay in the Rainbow Tower at the HHV. Once again, I'm struck by just how much we enjoy this resort. If I have any complaints at all, it is about the sheer numbers of people at the pools (and lack of any monitoring as to whether or not those people are guests) and the exhorbitant fees charged for umbrellas and chairs on the beach. Supposedly because the beach is public, Hilton cannot provide complimentary chairs as this is managed by a concession. That said, despite there being construction at the moment (to construct a new pool at Tapa Tower), the resort itself was very enjoyable and the construction was positioned in such a way that it really did not detract. For those who do not want to venture beyond the resort, the variety of shops is astounding and encompasses the name stores found elsewhere -- ABC, Maui Divers, Martin & (something), etc. We always stay in Rainbow with a diamond head view. It is so relaxing to watch the beach come to life in the morning, see the Friday evening fireworks and to sit on the balcony and listen to the night-time music. Many of the staff are long-time staff who seem to genuinely enjoy their jobs. Personally, I preferred the old-time decor (much more tropical) but am sure that many appreciate the new upgraded rooms that are much sleeker. The HHV is such a respite from the rest of Waiiki, while providing easy access.

Room Tip: Spend the extra money and book a room in Rainbow, the higher the better. While rooms overlooking the lagoon and marina are nice, I personally prefer a diamond head view which overlooks the beach, the pool and the resort.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChicagoJanice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Aloha ChicagoJanice,

Mahalo for returning to the Hilton Hawaiian Village! Please be assured all of our pools are for the enjoyment of registered HHV guests. We appreciate your understanding of our necessary rejuvenation work being done and look forward to hearing your feedback from your next visit. Thank you for your concern and we look forward to continuing to serve you and your sister.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

We stayed at Hilton Hawaiian Village a number of years ago, and really enjoyed it, but were somewhat hesitant after reading all the negative reviews. However, we decided to go for it, reserving a corner king room in the newly renovated Rainbow Tower. The views from both sides were absolutely spectacular! Expensive yes, but worth every penny. The construction noise did not affect us at all. We couldn't really hear it from our room on the 21st floor and not on the beach--just as a very kind trip advisor member assured me before our trip. The construction does break up the property, and I can see where it would be a major annoyance if your room was located anywhere nearby. The time we visited was a slow period and the resort was definitely not too crowded even if busy. For example, I never saw more than a dozen people in the super pool and there were relatively few children. Don't get me wrong, there were still masses of people, but a lot less than some reviewers mentioned. I think that if you are the type of person who enjoys Disney World--the crowds, lines, confusing and meandering paths, numerous shops, and beautifully landscaped grounds, you would probably enjoy HHV. Same sort of energetic vibe. And perhaps because there were less guests, every single staff person we interacted with (with the exception of a waiter at the Tropics Bar) was pleasant and helpful. The room itself was beautiful and we loved the elevator system that moved folks very efficiently. HHV sits on a gorgeous stretch of beach and there are several pools as well. The only negatives are the massive parking garage, which makes it a real pain to retrieve your car, and the little rocks on the beach. Wear water shoes if you have sensitive feet. Everything is overpriced of course, but that's to be expected at a resort of this type. Oh, and for breakfast, don't miss the Wailana Coffee House, across the street from HHV, for an excellent meal and quick service at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Rainbow Tower is the way to go--with the Diamond Head view, from a high floor.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ReneeWashingtonDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012 via mobile

Rooms are nice. Service is bad: no room service after 9 pm. Pools are not heated and are quite small. Construction was VERY NOISY! They wont see my money again! They charge for everything you can imagine: beach chair, umbrella.... I stayed at Kalia tower where the spa is located. The pool is tiny and cold!

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pickyoldlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 21, 2012

Aloha Pickyoldlady,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are sorry to hear that you did not have a pleasant visit with us during your recent stay. Fresh Connection provides room delivery until 9pm but continues serving, along with additional outlets until designated closing times. We appreciate your patience during our current rejuvenation project that will be sure to bring many improvements and additions to HHV including our much anticipated reopening of the Tapa Pool. Our pools are carefully monitored daily to ensure comfortable temperatures for our guest enjoyment with the Paradise Pool heated additionally during the winter season. Complimentary chaise lounge chairs are available at all of our pools while rentals for use on Waikiki Beach and in the Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon provided by a private vendor. Exceptional guest service is the foundation of our brand promise and your feedback will help us improve the quality of our service and offerings. Thank you for your comments and we look forward to the opportunity to serve you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 18, 2012

I come to do the Waikiki Roughwater Swim on Labor Day. I stay here and always request the Rainbow Tower with the Diamond head view. They have a luau right under your balcony on Friday nights complete with Fireworks. Dinner across the street at Benehana is an annual must do also. Snorkel right in front of the hotel and baby fish are under the pier. Careful swimming over the coral reefs since it can get shallow with low tide and don't stand on the coral. There was a very large elephant seal that beached on the sand and they roap off the area to not disturb it. He re-entered the ocean and came back the next day on the other side of the pier. So cool!

Stayed: September 2012
2  Thank swimdiva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews