We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hawaii!! Need I say more!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #47 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Had a blast in Hawaii...stayed here for 2 nights of a 7 night stay...very comfortable and tourist friendly!!!
Only downfall was that this place charges for Internet access...not just per room, but per computer in each room!!!
Rooms are average...excellent views.
FIREWORKS on Friday night was the icing on the cake for this trip!!!!!

Room Tip: ..try to stay in The Rainbow Tower!!!!
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dgress
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Aloha dgress,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! Complimentary Wi-Fi is available in the Main Lobby and at the Tapa Bar and Lounge area. On future visits, please be advised a new resort fee will include internet in all guest rooms in addition to many other featured resort offerings. Thank you for your review and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (14,989)
There are newer reviews for Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,063 - 9,069 of 14,992 reviews

Reviewed October 29, 2012

Don't get me wrong.This is a beautiful hotel and we enjoyed our stay. We were lucky enough to stay in the Ali'i Tower, with it's private check-in, concierge, pool and work out area. Nice customer service and a great firework show Friday Night over the lagoon. It is located a short walking distance (on a cute beach path) to the main Waikiki Beach Walk.But it is huge place and it has the feel of a small town. Very busy with a lot of families and conference business people.
Stay in the Ali'i Tower if you can. It made us feel like we were in our own separate hotel, away from the hussle & bussle.

Room Tip: Ali'i Tower is the spot!
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruzView
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I took my son there for a mom/son trip after he graduated from college since we had some time before his real job started. We have great pictures and memories; it is a beautiful place. We shared time on the beach and at the pool, but I didn't like how there was barely any sun to lay in around the pool. The trees shade you most of the time and it is very crowded so you can't turn your chair or move to one in the sun. The beach rental chairs/umbrellas are VERY expensive compared to the neighboring rentals so walk a little bit down the sidewalk for a better deal or take your own mats for the sand. I'm rating this pretty high due to the landscaping and grounds, but the elevators in the Rainbow Tower were terrible and always backed up. And everything was super overpriced.

Room Tip: Get a low floor where you can walk up the stairs if need be. The elevators were terribly slow and a...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DRB93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2012

Aloha DRF93,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village and congratulations to your son on his graduation! Complimentary chaise lounge chairs are available at all of our pools and can be arranged according to individual guest’s liking. Our Rainbow Tower features an optimized elevator system that groups sets of floors together per elevator car to ideally shorten our guests’ waiting times. For the convenience of our guests, we offer a variety of dining, shopping, and activities at all price-points that are comparable to the Waikiki and Honolulu area. We thank you for your comments as we continuously strive toward providing only the very best for our guests and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton for 4 nights in mid October with our 2 kids.

Check in was fine and took less than 10 minutes and luckily, despite arriving at a little early at 1pm, our room was ready. We stayed on the 30th floor of the Rainbow Tower and were blown away by the view which included the whole of Waikiki beach and the Diamondhead. The Rainbow Tower is a little more expensive than the other towers but has been refurbished and definitely has the best views.

The room itself was spotless and modern with comfortable beds, a small fridge, flat screen tv, iron, hairdrier, coffee machine and a small bathroom. Nothing particularly special for a 5 star resort but again, the view more than made up for it.

The swimming pools were great and the Paradise pool although small was never crowded (October is one of Hawaii's quieter months). Sun loungers were always available.

Our deal included the Paradise Pass and we were glad we had this because our kids hired kayaks at the Hilton lagoon and paid half price ($20 per kayak for an hour). The Pass also entitled us to free wi-fi and half price self parking, which meant we paid $16 per day top park instead of $32. We found the wi-fi to be fairly quick and it worked well. Also included were 2 small bottles of water each day.

We didn't eat in the hotel as Waikiki has so many options. The Cheescake Factory, Outback, Bubba Gumps and Roys were our favourites.

Our kids are huge Hawaii Five O fans and were gutted that they could not watch the show in the Tropics Bar on the Monday evening.The bar has a lounge area and we wrongly assumed that kids would be welcome. This isn't the case. In addition, we tried to book the Tropics for dinner one evening but they don't accept bookings. Not what we expected from a 5 star resort.

As many others have said, the ABC store onsite is well stocked and reasonably priced for snacks at lunchtime. We chose not to pay $30 each for breakfast at the hotel and walked to the Wailana Coffee House across the road. The breakfasts here were fresh, well cooked and incredibly good value for money.

The firework show on the Friday evening was wonderful. We chose to watch it from the beach and the atmosphere was brilliant.

Things to remember...the resort if huge. Do your homework. If you don't like lots of people and large hotels, stay elsewhere! And there is construction work going on right beside the Tapa Tower. It was a little noisy during the day but all work is finished by 5pm and they do not work at weekends. Again, if this may cause you problems, stay elsewhere!

The staff at the hotel were generally polite and friendly and although in our opinion the hotel deserves 4 stars rather than 5, we would recommend it to friends.

Room Tip: Stay in the Rainbow Tower. It's been refurbished and has the best views.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Where-now-guys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

Not the best hotel on Waikiki beach.
Cons:
Not the best location. Not centrally located. Long walks to everything. The beach was better a short walk down the beach (more sand and less rocks).
Not good on cost. Even though the room rate was comparable, Hiton nickel-dimed everything. Internet service was $17 per day. An umbrella and two chairs for the beach were approximately $70 per day (no half days at Hilton and it was only $30 for 4 hours a short walk down the beach). Eating in the Hilton Village cost approximately double the general cost of walking to other resturants in the Waikiki area. Hilton charged an extra $100 for late check-out (they did offer to hold the bags for us for free).
Bugs in the room . There were tiny ants in the bathroom for the entire week and I saw one roach on the third day. All of this was on the 14th floor.
Not the best facilities: There was a lot of construction and noise in some areas of the Hilton Villiage. When I tried to rent a car the noise was so loud I couldn't have a conversation with the agent. There were 3 adults in our room and when the bathroom was occupied the closest public rest room was down 14 floors and a long walk across the village to the registration area. The room was generally run down a little and the lani (deck) area was dirty.
Not the best room service either. I'm a tea drinker and the tea was not replenished daily. I had to call for towels one day when the maid only left two towels in the bathroom.
Pros: When we registered we asked for a complimentary upgrade as two of the adults in the room were Hilton Honor members. We were upgraded to a junior suite (bedroom and separate living area) in the Diamond Head Tower however we were far from the beach with a long distance view of water. We paid for an Ocean View room.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mikeinintegra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2012

Aloha mikeinintegra,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We appreciate your patience and understanding during this time of rejuvenation of HHV. We are sorry to hear you were offered an unsatisfactory upgrade that also incurred housekeeping challenges. There is no charge for Wi-Fi that is offered in the Main Lobby and at the Tapa Bar. Hhonors members receive internet as part of their benefits at the Gold and Diamond levels. Complimentary chaise lounge chairs are available at all of our pools with optional rentals for use on the public beach offered by a vendor on the beachfront. Guests departing HHV later in the day can check out but still use all the amenities of the resort. The bell team would be happy to store suitcases and a complimentary hospitality room is provided for guests to shower and freshen up before leaving HHV. Thank you for your feedback in helping us to improve our service and offerings. We hope you will allow us another opportunity to welcome you back to HHV on your next trip to Hawaii.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Having read other reviews on this website, we weren’t quite sure what to expect. We should not have worried. The service and friendliness of staff here is exemplary. On arrival we did not have to queue at all. Check in was a breeze. We had booked and paid for a resort view room, but we were upgraded to an ocean view room in the Tapa Tower. Our room was great. From the balcony we had restricted views of the ocean, Waikiki Beach and even Diamond Head. The Tapa pool was being refurbished during our stay, and so too the shopping complex in the Tapa Tower, but this had little to no impact. We were never disturbed by construction noise because we were always out during the day. Who goes to the beach, let alone Hawaii, to sit in a room all day? By the time we came home each day, the construction work was over. The apartment was immaculately cleaned each day. The whole resort is beautifully and artfully landscaped. There are so many niches and places to relax and enjoy, that it’s actually hard to believe that the HHV is the 16th largest hotel in the world. It just doesn’t seem that intense. Shop-aholics will love the village. For all your daily needs the ABC Store and Wailers General Store have it covered. Wailers probably has a greater variety of beers and wines at very reasonable prices: e.g. 1 stubbie of beer $US2.09. Six pack from $7.99 (full strength). Fruit, juice, milk, pre-packed lunches, confectionary, and all the basic grocery items are all available at very reasonable prices. You can also buy all the essentials for the beach here: sunscreen lotions and potions, beach towels, togs, snorkelling equipment, and surf mats/rings (far cheaper than daily hire at the lagoon). And if you have time to spare a thought for those poor sad souls you left languishing at home, the ABC Store is souvenir heaven: I like the bobble-headed Obama doll and their roller-ball pen sets are brilliant. Every conceivable souvenir is here or at one of the other 50 odd ABC Stores in Waikiki. After long days out, there are plenty of places to relax and enjoy a drink or meal. Some were a bit pricy for us but there were plenty of alternatives. We loved the Round Table Pizza and CJs New York Style Delicatessen. There are two Starbucks here for that special cuppa and the Tapa Bar was a great place to kick back with live entertainment and to die for cocktails until 10:30 pm. Most of the 90 shops in the village stayed open late each evening. There are some great bargains: We hired a family sized car (with GPS) for 24 hrs at the Hertz desk for $US73, a pair of Chanel sunglasses at Hi-Trend for $US270. At home they’re about $AUD600-700. Tori Richards shirts and shorts for the same prices that you will pay anywhere else in Honolulu. And there are some really interesting craft and jewellery stores worth exploring. If you’re looking for a quality ukulele have a look at the shop on the ground floor of the Kalia Tower. And if you have to take the kids with you to Hawaii, this is a great place for them as well. We took two teenage girls (16/13) and they both had a ball. There are exotic pools galore with waterslides and tunnels for the younger one and for the older one who lives life through Facebook, there’s plenty of tropical backdrops for the profile photo glam shots. And there’s plenty of wildlife to keep everyone fascinated: huge koi fish, exotic macaws, tortoises and even penguins. We never regretted our choice and would willingly stay here again. The only downside that I can think of was the Internet. It’s neither free (at $US16 per day) in your room nor particularly good. There is a slight discount if you purchase for 5 days ($US68 from memory). But it was slooooow. Much like Jurassic dial up. Frustrating it was, but it was enough to stay in touch with home and upload a few photos.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Marcellus61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Aloha Marcellus61,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are happy to hear of your family’s wonderful visit with us. We encourage all guests to enroll in the Hhonors rewards program who offers members a variety of benefits at the different tiers, including complimentary internet at the Gold and Diamond levels. In addition, complimentary Wi-Fi is available in the Main Lobby and at the Tapa Bar and Lounge area. Thank you for taking time to share your visit and we look forward to welcoming your family back again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel is gorgeous and has some great restaurants on site - however at present it is undergoing huge construction which is pretty noisy during the day around the Alii tower pool which we had access too - we stayed in the rainbow tower which was quieter and beautiful! Good choice for families with kids or those who want to be in a busy resort! Tip. Avoid the Luau - go to Bennyhannas!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Essex18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Aloha Essex18,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village. We appreciate your understanding and patience during our current rejuvenation project and are highly anticipating the completion of our Ali'i Tower renovation. We are glad to hear you had a pleasant stay otherwise and we look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,457 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Waikiki
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $222 - $543 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hilton Hotels Direct, TravelUp, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelPower, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing