We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel but refurbishment spoiled it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #48 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 17, 2012

This was the second stop on our honeymoon and although we really liked the hotel, the renovations spoiled it for us. We booked through Virgin who did make us aware of the work being done before we went but completely played it down. We went to change the hotel nevertheless at is was our honeymoon but were told by one of the Virgin retail branches that we were staying in the rainbow tower and the work was around the Tapa tower so we wouldn't be affected. When we checked in this turned out not to be the case and we had been put in the Tapa Tower. Needless to say we were extrememly unhappy but the Manager on duty Chandra Huang was so helpful and went out of her way to get us moved despite the hotel being so full. This really made a difference to us - the rooms in the Tapa Tower are quite dated but the Kalia tower which we were moved to was much nicer and away from all of the construction work.

There are lots of restaurant options on the resort - we ate in a few and all were lovely. The location is great as directly on the beach and there are lots of little shops.

The staff were mostly very friendly and helpful. The receptionist who checked us in was probably the most unhelpful person we came across but other than her everyone else went above and beyond - especially the hotel manager.

The swimming pools and spa were all lovel, very clean.

I would recommend this hotel - I think it will be fantastic when all of the renovations have been completed.

Room Tip: You need to avoid the Tapa tower while the rennovations are taking place. Rainbow Tower is the most...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jam220912
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Aloha Jam220912,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village and congratulations on your marriage! We apologize that you were not fully informed of our current rejuvenation project, though we are happy to hear we were able to offer a satisfactory accommodation for you. We appreciate your understanding and patience and look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (15,344)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

9,395 - 9,401 of 15,344 reviews

Reviewed October 16, 2012

Still jetlagged after arriving home in England but wanted to post my review while the memories of a fantastic holiday are fresh. On arrival at HHV (no queue) we were upgraded to a full ocean view, quiet room in the Kalia tower at no extra cost - as we had emailed our concerns about the restoration work prevously. Our room and the view were stunning. We spent most days on the beach and did several trips . Can recommend the Polynesian culture centre, Paradise cove luau and Kaluloa ranch. For the fireworks on Fridays we got sandwiches, cake and fruit and had a picnic on the beach. We didnt eat at the resort because we thought it over-priced. A short walk from the hotel we found Tony Romas, Hard Rock Cafe, the Cheesecake Factory and Outback Steakhouse. Another great find was the Chart House just round the corner by the marina - happy hour from 4 till 7 with great fish and chips and cocktails - can recommend the mai tais and margueritas! They have live music and really made us welcome. Another great find was the snack bar at the neighbouring hotel (Hale Koa) - loads of choice, good food and very reasonably priced - you can eat in the adjoining shady park. Everyone we met - guests and staff and especially tour guides - were so friendly. We took a trolley bus ride round the area and the drivers were amazing - so helpful and cheerful (we dont get this at home!) The restoration work didnt affect our stay at all. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would love to return - the whole holiday was amazing and we have no negatives.

Room Tip: Full ocean view well worth extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jeannette A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

On arrival to this hotel it was extremely busy, people everywhere and thank goodness I was a Hilton Honors member which allowed us priority check in.
Once we got to our room which was a Juniour Oceanview Suite in the Tapas Tower, we couldnt have been more happier, this room had 2 double beds, dining table, lounge area and balcony which was lovely to eat dinner on some nights overlooking the ocean..the veiw from this room was amazing. Also having that extra space for the children to spread out was beneficial.
The other bonus was having a non stocked fridge for utilisation and there was a convenience store (ABC) on site so you could fill the fridge.
My only not so good experience at this hotel was the additional cost for the beach chairs & umbrella. A suggestion would be to try to include the cost of chairs and extra services into the cost of the room so you dont feel like you are reaching into your wallet. Also the Super Pool area gets busy and unfortunately at times it was difficult to find a chair to sit on however this is due to people coming early morning placing their towels on the chair and disappearing for a few hours and returning later. Ideally if this action didnt occur I am sure there would be sufficient seating for all guests when required.
One of the restaurants called Tropics the service could be improved on
The children loved seeing the Penguins

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrizBrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Aloha BrizBrian,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! Complimentary chaise lounge chairs are available at all of our pools on a first come basis. We appreciate your suggestions for increased poolside monitoring and the possibility of including beach rentals in our guest room rates. We apologize for the lack of service you received while dining at our Tropics restaurant and hope we will have the opportunity to provide your family better service on future visits.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

First of all, I read the terrible reviews after booking this hotel. I almost regretted booking after some of the reviews I read on other sites. Now after being there first hand I must say that the negative reviews baffle me! This hotel is amazing, we checked in quick and the girl at the front desk was so nice and of course I was very nice to her to begin with (most of the tourists we encountered seemed snooty and rude) We booked a partial ocean view and had requested our room away from the construction. Well, not only did they book us into a room away from the construction, the Hilton hotel booked us in the Rainbow Tower full ocean view at no extra cost! Our room was super clean and the housekeeping staff (say hi to them and get to know their names, they are a big part of our vacations after all!) they were very nice and so were all the staff at Hilton. If you treat other kindly and not talk down to people, you would be surprised at how nice people can be! The resort was not busy crazy like most people said and it was the most functional, interesting, fun and right on the beach resort out of all the hotels on the Waikiki strip (we checked out the other hotels and it wasn't as fun) Yes it is expensive on site but if you go off site you can find affordable meals like the Waimalo (spelling?) Coffee House across the street. For those complaining about rental expense, don't rent, go off site! If you can afford to vacation in Hawaii and stay at a resort you can afford to budget wisely and do your research before hand. We found the locals very friendly and the tourists extremely rude. There was an air of entitlement, I mean no one smiles back at you or says hello back! For a bunch of people on vacation, they all looked miserable to me. This hotel is a must stay, and don't complain about the construction, how else can they improve and upgrade?? damned if you do damned if you don't hey Hilton? My family enjoyed our stay and the kids had a blast! Its all a matter of how grateful you are for being so fortunate enough to afford a trip like this. We are ever so grateful!

Room Tip: Rainbow tower was great, ask for facing the beach and resort on full ocean view if you don't wan...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Anicia T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

We stayed at the Hilton in Tapa Tower for 8 days in April. The pools were fantastic, the lagoon was AMAZING, it was right on the beachfront, you could walk or bus to both Ala Moana and the centre of Waikiki shopping district, the rooms were great, there was cable TV, heavy blinds to block out all sun so great sleeping, there was an ABC store and a Honolulu Cookie Co (as well as a lot of other clothing and jewellery stores!) right in the resort grounds, heaps of food choices, and the gardens and wildlife were amazing. The restaurants are a little pricey, but cheaper alternatives are just down the road. We had to wait half an hour to check in, but we arrived right after a huge tourist bus, so it was to be expected. Everyone was so polite and helpful, and it was beyond relaxing. The bars and live entertainment are great!! Next time we want to stay in Rainbow Tower :)

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CR54_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Love the lagoon tower , great property , nice to have several choices of places to eat on site and within walking distance. I go in " off season " late sept to early oct so it is not so crowded.
Pools are nice , used the lagoon tower pool and water slide ( the water slide is fun )
used the kalia tower pool much less crowded than any other pool. I own the lagoon tower one week every other year and I plan on going back.
the tapa pool was closed.
a few downfalls. not enough umbrellas for people who want to relax at the pool but do not want to be in the sun all day. WAY to few unbrellas.
You have to rent a chair and umbrella if you want to hang out at the lagoon, even if you are a guest that really sucks,
Sometimes it can be hard to find a chair poolside.
The Luau is SUPER ANNOYING !!! if you are staying in the lagoon tower the nightly 3 hour luau
is VERY LOUD every night if you are trying to relax in your room in the evening the nightly luau just plain sucks !!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

Loved the location! Perfect holiday. Loved the hau tree bar for happy hour. Bar men were great. Only problem was having to rent sun beds for the beach. Other than that, loved it. Can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sam_whatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hhvguestservices, Manager at Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2012

Aloha Sam_whatley,

Mahalo for choosing the Hilton Hawaiian Village! We are happy to hear of your pleasant holiday with us. We appreciate your suggestion on expanding our offerings and look forward to serving you again.

Mahalo,
Hilton Hawaiian Village Guest Services Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4,182 reviews
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Prince Waikiki
#1 of 84 in Honolulu
342 reviews
Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
Sheraton Waikiki
#37 of 84 in Honolulu
6,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#21 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $217 - $578 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelUp, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelsClick so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing