We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Ranked #42 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“amazing!!”
Reviewed March 6, 2012

This resort is just beyond beautiful.. its right on the beach, has an amazing lagoon.. lots of thgs to do for everybody! children will nvr get bored. the staff is super helpful, n polite! we stayed @ ali tower, it had an individual pool n jacuzzi .. we just loved our stay! the tour n travel desk ppl r so helpful ! if its oahu, it has to be hilton hawaiian village :)

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tuhinac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

14,298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5,523
    4,940
    2,402
    877
    556
See reviews for
5,568
4,728
365
1,354
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3,521)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Ok, the good things first. This resort looks almost exactly as u see it on the hotel website. Beautifuly kept grounds. Clean rooms. Front desk was very helpful. Very comfy beds.
We stayed on the 4th floor of the rainbow tower. Everything was good except we had one major problem. We would be sleeping soundly day or night then BLAM!!! The slamming of one of our neighbours doors. Do not expect to go to Hilton Hawaiian Village and get a good sleep . U can even hear people talking in the hallways. They need to soundproof their rooms and soften the slamming of doors. Very well there is no resort fee but keep in mind it's $20 per beach chair n $15 per umbrella. U are better off going to the ABC stores n buy umbrella and chairs to re-use especially if u will be there for more than one day. Also they have too many people trying to sell u timeshare. While u r in Hawai, check out Germaine's luau. Fairly cheap and they put on an awesome show.!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ShellyB2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2012

Ok , let me try to explain : I know that the "" Japonese´s Hawaii is Very Expense "" , the Waikiki local current money should be the " Japonese YEN " . The ROOMs , Cleaning and Service is TOP of the Line Hilton Quality . But , as a Resort , I Expected more and BIGGER : POOL and other Resort things , sure , they have a kind of Villa Small Mall and some restaurants , but , beside the SMALL Pool , ANYONE can use and enjoy everything that the guests PAYs to enjoy , so WHY pay Hundreds Dollars to stay with lots of Outside People ? . Everything is "" EXTRA "" , parking is U$ 30.00 a day , the LUAU is a FORTUNE $$$$$, not worth , for a Simple and Small Show , they offer a "" Hula Hula "' show at the Pool , very Expensive for a Very POOR Show , it is a Sleeping Show !!! and anywhere you go , you are "" Attack "' by those "' Time Sharing People "" , you have the Impression that everything at Hilton Village is TRIPLE PRICE , so you can get a Reasonable Price with the "' Time Sharing People " . For at least U$ 300.00 a night , PLUS Parking , Plus Breakfast , Plus Everything , STAY in other Place and COME to Enjoy the Hilton Village Beach , Friday´s Night Fire Work Show , Beach Laggon , Shopping and etc........................

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcosF123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Great resort! Very Beautiful - lots of pools, restaurants (although pricey) and activity options. No need to leave the resort if you didn't want too. Convenient location - walking distance to ala moana mall one way and to a great shopping strip the other way. We stayed in the most basic room offered in Kalia tower and it was lovely. Clean, big comfortable bed and nice bathroom. Overall I thought it was a wonderful resort and would stay again!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lollee18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
58 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Hilton Hawaiian Hotel is a excellent hotel i Waikiki Beach. With wonderful view to the beach and more natural beuties of Hawaii. The Room is very confortable and the service are the best.
I recommend this hotel and I will return as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Rooms with view are the best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank chshenrique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

This was a business trip for my wife, and was paid for by her company, so we were stuck here. The Hilton Hawaiian Village is a very large complex and is not the type of place that we would normally stay if we were booking a vacation on our own. We prefer smaller off the beating path type hotels, condos, or rental houses. I can not comment on the cost / value of the hotel because I have no idea what was paid. That being said, here is my honest evaluation of our stay.

On arrival at the hotel there were several hundred guests being checked in and as you can imagine, the check-in line was quite long. However, the hotel staff was coming by with nice cool drinks for everybody who was waiting. The front desk clerks were very efficient and moved the line along quickly. We went to our room and found the usual fine quality and comfort of your higher end hotels. We had an extremely comfortable king size bed, a large flat screen television, mini-refrigerator, coffee maker, room safe, chairs, and large patio deck. The room was modern and well maintained.

Our luggage had been taken at the airport and was suppose to be brought to our room. However, after two hours in our room we had not received our luggage. I called to check and was informed that the luggage was on the hotel premises and would be brought up shortly. To be fair to the hotel, there were approximately 3500 employees and guests of my wife’s company checking into the hotel on this date, so we understood the delay. We had to go to the Luau that evening in the same dirty smelly clothes we had been traveling in all day. *Travelers tip* Take one change of clothes in you carry-on if you have room. When we arrived back to the room after dinner, our luggage was there.

We were so busy doing activities away from the hotel grounds that we really did not get to enjoy all they have to offer. There are several bar / restaurant areas on the property that had different types of live entertainment every night. The musicians were very good and I made my wife stop several nights on our way back to the room so we could listen to them play. There are also several stores in the complex that you can go shopping at. We did not really walk around the property until the morning we were checking out. This was unfortunate, due to the fact that we found there was so much we had missed. The resort has many types of wildlife on the premises in specially designed habitats. We saw Penguins in Hawaii!!?

There is plenty to do right on the property without ever leaving if that is the kind of vacation you like. The only complaint would be the cost for guests to park at the hotel ($29.00 a day). This is more than it costs a day to rent a car. We parked by the Marina adjacent to the hotel and paid $6-$10 dollars a day to park. It was worth the walk in our opinion. Check out my other reviews on our activities in Oahu.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gina_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
103 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 515 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2012

Large, sprawling resort that frankly was too big for my liking. Can't say too much bad about the place but I do have a couple of criticisms that I'd love to share (and help Hilton management understand my underwhelming review.)

One major complaint, and it's a serious one that really knocks this hotel down, is the outrageous $45 charge for a chair and umbrella on the beach. That's a lot for a beachfront resort. The hotel's website boasts "No Resort Fees." Which is technically true. Instead you'll pay a la carte for anything else, including things that you'd think ought to be included at a beachfront resort.

As you book this location, ask yourself "do I really want to be in Waikiki Beach?" It's a bustling part of Honolulu, on the waterfront obviously, but Honolulu is a big city. I found this hotel to be overwhelming in its size. I was never able to completely relax here because there was too much going on. That said my kid loved the pools, the ocean, the lagoon and the penguins. Even my wife was able to find peace and quiet by a pool near our tower. When I return to Hawaii, I'll be finding a smaller and quieter location run by Hilton, Marriott or another major chain.

Another complaint was the $24-a-day charge for parking. Just be sure you let them know that you're parking a car ahead time otherwise your room key won't work. I rented a car 2 days into our stay and ran into all kinds of hassles trying to get the automatic parking gate to work for me, apparently because my room key wasn't keyed accordingly. It's a shame they don't have human beings trying to help you on the way into the parking garage. Automation is all well and good, until there's a problem.

One other concern was the food at the poolside bar and grill. Nice place for a snack. But when you order food there it comes from the "Pronto Pickle," the onsite takeaway joint. You'll wind up with a pre-made sandwich. Not exactly a freshly prepared meal by the pool.

On the plus side, there are many shops and dining options at the resort, including the ABC stores which are all over Honolulu in the tourist zones. ABC does a great job in providing anything and everything a tourist will need at fair prices. Particularly wanted to recommend the 24oz Steinlager beer from New Zealand, which at this writing was selling for $2.29 at ABC. A bottle of beer in restaurants all over Waikiki will cost a minimum of $6.50.


Still annoyed that everything was extra at this hotel and for the prices they charge it would have been nice to have more included in the base rate. And just an aside. Second big Hilton I've stayed at where the "HiltonHHonors" checkin line was longer than the regular line! I'm sure it's not always like that, but even though I'm a Gold member, I've taken to waiting in the regular line.

Couple of tips for you. Definitely take the footpath from the hotel and head along the beach past other resorts and colorful characters along the way. Also I took my first time share tour ever ("vacation ownership" is the phrase they prefer over time share.) It was a relatively low-key, non hard-sell experience that netted me a $100 resort credit for my 2 hours of time. The units they had on display were gorgeous but the whole concept of a time share seems like a financial disaster which I won't elaborate on here. (I'm not in a vacation club and I can vacation anywhere I want to anywhere in the world with NO ownership. It's called a hotel!) That said it was nice to be able to take my wife and kid out to Benihana on site and use the $100 credit they cheerfully gave me for sitting through a sales pitch.

Couple of other tips. There are many, many, many books of discounts you'll find floating around Waikiki. Use them. We saved 15% at Benihna with a coupon. There was a free dessert coupon at Margaritaville, which we didn't use because I realized it after the fact. We also tried to use a buy-one-get-one-free coupon at Dole for the maze, but it was closed.

Finally one other tip. If you're booking Thrifty Rent-a-Car just make sure your spouse will be able to drive the vehicle for no additional charge when you make your reservation. I scored a great rate for the vehicle for our four-day rental, only to see any price savings evaporate when we got dinged with a $12 a day extra driver charge for a spouse. There were two feeble explanations from Thrifty for this: "Everyone charges for this on Hawaii" and "You got such a low rate with your reservation, we have to charge you the extra driver charge." Next time I won't rent from Thrifty and I'll ask other firms ahead of time about extra driver charges.

Enjoy your stay at the Hilton Hawaiian Village. Decent rooms and property but just too big for me.

Room Tip: Definitely get a higher room; But it's a big hotel and you'll be walking no matter what!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank Frqflier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,247 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#5 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,846 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Beach Marriott Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort

Property: Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort
Address: 2005 Kalia Road, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Honolulu
#16 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#18 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#33 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 2900
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Waikiki's widest stretch of beach, the Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort is nestled on 22 oceanfront acres offering the best value with more amenities than any other hotel in Waikiki. Imagine five spectacular pools and the largest beach front Super Pool, best waterslides in Waikiki, surfing lessons, Duke Kahanamoku Lagoon for kayak and stand-up paddleboard fun. We have the only pier on Waikiki Beach which provides easy access to catamaran rides and Atlantis submarine adventures. The resort is home to Waikiki's only 5 night a week Waikiki Starlight Luau, a full-service, award-winning children's program for kids ages 5-12. Mandara Spa and over 20 restaurants and lounges, 90 shops and services, daily cultural activities, nightly entertainment and lush tropical gardens, and waterfalls. Every Friday night we light the skies with our Friday Night Fireworks Spectacular! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Hotel Honolulu
Hilton Honolulu
Hilton Hawaiian Village Waikiki Beach Resort Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing