We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We had a nice stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #40 of 83 Hotels in Honolulu
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“We had a nice stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

If you ever step on Honolulu, don't hesitate and stay at the Prince Hotel. It will exceed your expectations. Everything was great, the location might be not so good, but they have shuttles to take you to the main attractions, downtown and to the beach. Definitely a must. Thanks!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisHimes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,501 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    521
    641
    251
    51
    37
See reviews for
395
495
105
196
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NSW
Level Contributor
35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Booked this as a Hotwire mystery hotel for a two night stopover on the way to NYC selecting it as a budget way to get a cracker of a view. We couldn't have been happier. Having stayed in Oahu twice before, and sampled many of its offerings, we were quite happy to be just out of Waikiki this time. We loved the comfy bed, large room and with the huge expanse of windows opening on to the marina we didn't notice the lack of a balcony at all. We only had a couple of exchanges with staff. One was when they allowed us an early checkin (of 2 hours) and another when they allowed us a late checkout (of 1 hour) so pretty happy with that service. The pool on the fifth floor (I think) takes in the view and there was rarely more than a handful of guests using it. The charthouse pub down the street made a very pleasant local. Stayed in Waikiki for the return stopover but would rather have been here. Would love to stay again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OzgirlNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while in Oahu for a few days. It has a beautiful lobby and an attached parking garage (not free). The hotel is on one end of Waikiki Beach, so if you're looking to be in the heart of the action there you will probably have to drive or take the hotel shuttle. But, the Ala Moana Mall, a beautiful mall with the most extensive food court I've ever seen and beautiful koi ponds throughout, is a very quick walk from the hotel. The rooms are pretty standard; we had two rooms facing the marina behind the hotel. Unfortunately, there are no balconies (probably the main reason I gave the hotel this rating instead of higher), but the windows are huge and open up in a unique way to give you the opportunity to really stick your head out. The bed was very comfortable, and the bathroom was high end with enclosed commode room, stall shower and separate tub. Very spacious. In the lobby they have a counter restaurant at which you can get a quick breakfast if you're on the go, and it was surprisingly good and more reasonably priced than we'd expected. There's a pool on the 5th floor, along with a hot tub, and we were able to enjoy a lovely sunset from up there along with a great view of the fireworks from another hotel along Waikiki (possibly the Hilton?). Nice enough folks at the front desk, but there was at least one occasion when we needed to ask a quick question and someone was there doing some work at the computer and she didn't even acknowledge that I was waiting. I had to wait quite a while till someone else appeared from the room behind. It was disturbing - if only she had let me know she would be with me in a moment, I wouldn't have gotten annoyed. Overall, we would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nancy27614
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
455 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 496 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

We booked this hotel through Expedia. I will never book with them again as they recommended this hotel. We arrived to a lovely lobby area however on entering the room we were met with a pungent mould smell. The place was out dated had some peeling wallpaper was dirty and worn and worst of all the net curtains and to some extent the normal curtains were covered in mould. We asked for a manager to come up to the room, he did and we were offered two other rooms one of which smelt exactly the same with mould and the other was a smoking room which stank of cigarettes. We declined both, we had a lengthy phone call with the Expedia call centre in India to change hotels.

We changed hotels. I have never said this about a hotel because I have never stayed in a really dirty run down musty hotel, but if my ratings or reviews over many years mean anything I would not stay here. I would even go so far to say this hotel may make you sick as the mold will not be good for your respiratory system.

In fairness the duty manager and all the staff were very helpful the manager even rang other hotels to check availability for us. However, he did say he did not have a problem with mold and perhaps we were a little sensitive. Both of these are not true I have photos of the mold and if you look at some of the other bad reviews on here they also mention it. The manager was adamant it was not mold he stated the hotel had been tested. Well, we are both professional people we are not stupid if it looks like mold, smells like mole then it is mole....!

We were promised a full refund which we are waiting for from Expedia. We also incurred a massive international phone bill ringing Expedia and sorting this out for over an hour mostly on hold. I have learnt never to deal with Expedia again and I would recommend not staying at this hotel until it is fully refurbished.

Room Tip: Do not book this hotel....
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank JohnSunderlandUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tuscaloosa, Alabama
Level Contributor
174 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

What a treasure! This hotel is beautiful, has all amenities, and a free shuttle to take you to the beach. We stayed in a room overlooking the marina. It was beautifully decorated and had an incredible view of the marina, sunset, and two beaches. We rode the shuttle to duty free shop and Waikiki. Super convenient. I loved how the floor to ceiling windows actually opened to allow the fresh sea air into our room. If we ever come back to Hawaii, well stay here while in Honolulu. At check in, we were offered ice cold, scented cooling cloths. Thank you!!!!

Room Tip: Overlook the marina... You'll have a 180 degree view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chickelbuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
80 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

This place really ticks most boxes. The rooms are large, beds excellent and staff are really lovely. The free shuttle bus in and out of town is a bonus. You can even walk to Nordstrom rack from the hotel.

The pool is fine, small with shaded areas and quite a nice spa. If you fancy a swim in the sea, but dont like getting your feet cut up by the rocks at the beaches, swim in the lagoon area or buy a floaty from the abc shop and maybe wear dive shoes.

The only down sides are there is no free wi fi and and some building works next to the Hotel ,near the canal has begun. This means noise. I am unsure what the work is and how long it will be in progress for. Perhaps the hotel can answer those questions.

For free wi fi go to the mall, it available most places for free and outside apple everyone is doing it!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saltpan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Rosa, CA
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

We stayed in a two bedroom suite, facing the yacht harbor, ocean and sunset, as well as the Ala Moana Park. Everything in the suite was first class--even the cookies. Service was excellent from the maid service to the valet service. Very clean and great mattresses and pillows. Considering the location, it was very quiet at night. We walked to the Ala Moana Mall from the hotel and the King Kamehameha parade was right in front of the hotel. The air conditioning was excellent and quiet. Windows opened if desired.

Room Tip: Have a room facing the ocean and the sunset, for sure. We stayed on the 14th floor which was away f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trvltee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,247 reviews
Ala Moana Hotel
#54 of 83 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 stars 1,821 reviews
Waikiki
The Equus Hotel
The Equus Hotel
#21 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 1,281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#22 of 83 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 stars 3,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Property: Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Spa Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. Resort charge of $31.41 (inclusive of tax). The following are included in the daily resort charge: • Daily Self-parking for 1 vehicle per room • Daily Unlimited Internet connections, In-room and within lobby and pool areas • Daily Two Bottles of Water per room • One 4-cup packet coffee daily • Amenity Package Upon Arrival (2 Toothbrushes, Toothpaste, Shaving Cream and Razor) one per room • Complimentary Hawaii Prince Shuttle Service to Waikiki/Golf Course and Ala Moana Shopping center on a daily scheduled route • 1 Eco Shopping Bag per room per stay • 20% off Hotel Guest Golf Rate per person daily • 20% off Breakfast Buffet at Prince Court per person • 2 welcome drinks per room upon arrival only. Choice of Domestic Beer, House Wine, Soft Drink , Coffee/Tea • Complimentary Local and Toll Free calls • Complimentary 60 minutes of international phone calls daily per room Daily Resort Charge and Included Amenities subject to change ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing