We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Maybe, Maybe Not” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
Ranked #39 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
279 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
“Maybe, Maybe Not”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

This hotel is very impressive but we got off to a bad start. When I arrived after a long day of travel there was only one clerk at the check-in desk so I waited 20 minutes to get checked in. That was a bit frustrating. When I made my reservation months ago I asked for a "high" room. I reminded the clerk of that again when checking in. There's 33 story's in this hotel. I ended up on #9. Not very high in my opinion. Only a couple of guest room floors below me but 24 above me. Oh well. The room was quiet, clean and roomy. Nice view, TV and A/C. Instead of seeing the beach you're looking at a boat harbor. The elevators are prompt. I never had to wait more than a minute for one. I've stayed at many hotels and I have to say that the staff here is the most courteous that I've ever come across. They really go out of their way to make sure you are taken care of and I really appreciated that. I wished this hotel was closer to the downtown Waikiki dining and shopping area. It's a bit isolated. Not sure if I'll return.

Room Tip: All of the rooms have a water view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Dale K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,588 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    561
    682
    256
    52
    37
See reviews for
416
527
113
212
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Fabulous , quite hotel away from the busy tourist areas,fabulous views of the marina and ocean perfectly located,easy walking distance to large shopping centre and transport. Will be returning and have already made my next booking.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Reviewer5661
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

I had my first nursing conference in Hawaii at the Hawaii Prince Hotel and it was such a wonderful place because of the service of the hotel staff and especially the sales and catering folks. they worked within my budget and made modifications as were needed during the conference. You can't beat the view from the hotel rooms. I loved it and have booked this hotel for 2 more years.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Ohio
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Every Staff member was friendly and helpful. The rooms are impeccably clean and well appointed. A corner room facing the marina and beach offer sensational views of Waikiki. A+ stay in my book. There was a mix up in my reservation and the manager simply said get to your room and we can discuss this the next day. A big plus is the spa like bathrooms in the suites and they are stocked with Authentic Hawaiian products right down to the coffee and lotions.

Room Tip: Upper rooms offer the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Coke1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
58 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great hotel and staff. Hotel is located to all amenities. Large room and exceptionally clean. No negatives really not too fussed about breakfast but food is one of those things that either please or displease.

Room Tip: Ocean view a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ozhelen63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clayton, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

I've had the pleasure of coming to the Hawaii Prince Hotel since it was first built nearly two decades ago, and recently returned for a weekend stay. For the most part, the hotel has been kept in tip-top shape, especially its lobby, bar, and dining venues. Its location is ideal--you can walk everywhere--and the customer service was superb.

That said, I will admit I was disappointed with the pool. Granted, the hotel sits right in the middle of a city, and so the pool isn't on the beach--or the ground floor. It's located on the fifth, and while the views of the harbor are quite nice, the hotel ought to do something to enhance its aesthetics--plants, flowers, even updated lawn chairs. Also, the poolside bar and restaurant should have longer hours to accommodate early evening swimmers and revelers.

The furniture in our room was also a tad dismal--it appeared banged up, and the decor is in need of some revamping.

All that said, a strong hotel; definitely worth the loot.

Room Tip: Ask for an oceanfront/marina view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robyn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

I travelled with family (including 2 kids) and this hotel was a little over our budget but was definitely worth it. The location was convenient (near Ala Moana, close to beaches and Waikiki shopping area), the staff were extremely friendly and helpful, and the room and the view were amazing! Swimming pool was a bonus and had no problem with noise. Recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Honolulu :-)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karlena B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Pagoda Hotel
#65 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Aqua Aloha Surf Waikiki
#63 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,595 reviews
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 509 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Courtyard Waikiki Beach
#71 of 84 in Honolulu
3.5 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki

Property: Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki
Address: 100 Holomoana St., Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1436
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 Luxury Hotel in Honolulu
#27 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#39 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki 4*
Number of rooms: 541
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gracious hospitality. Exceptional value. Resort charge of $31.41 (inclusive of tax). The following are included in the daily resort charge: • Daily Self-parking for 1 vehicle per room • Daily Unlimited Internet connections, In-room and within lobby and pool areas • Daily Two Bottles of Water per room • One 4-cup packet coffee daily • Amenity Package Upon Arrival (2 Toothbrushes, Toothpaste, Shaving Cream and Razor) one per room • Complimentary Hawaii Prince Shuttle Service to Waikiki/Golf Course and Ala Moana Shopping center on a daily scheduled route • 1 Eco Shopping Bag per room per stay • 20% off Hotel Guest Golf Rate per person daily • 20% off Breakfast Buffet at 100 Sails Restaurant & Bar per person • 2 welcome drinks per room upon arrival only. Choice of Domestic Beer, House Wine, Soft Drink , Coffee/Tea • Complimentary Local and Toll Free calls • Complimentary 60 minutes of international phone calls daily per room Daily Resort Charge and Included Amenities subject to change ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prince Hotel Hawaii
Prince Hotel Honolulu
Hawaii Hotel Prince
Honolulu Prince Hotel
Hawaii Prince Hotel Waikiki Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing