We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed with room!”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
New York City
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very disappointed with room!”
Reviewed January 20, 2011

I have stayed at the Equus before and was very satisfied. I love that it's located near the mall and beach. This last visit however was very disappointing. The room I felt was put together at the last minute with very lumpy, sagging uncomfortable mattresses. Did not have a good nights sleep my whole stay. The walls were not cleaned , had shoe print marks. Night table missing handle & other small problems, Made me wonder if this was because of the low rate we locked into?

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NP54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theequushotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize that you left feeling disappointed with your accommodations. It is certainly not standard to provide low quality rooms due to a low rate.

We strive to create a quality product, and a high standard of service. I apologize that there may have been maintenance issues with an item in your room, and assure you that this will be seen to immediately. We make a point of checking the quality of each room individually, and apologize that this issue was not caught before your occupancy.

We appreciate the feedback, and will work to improve our existing methods of practice. We hope that you will considering staying with us again in the future.

Much Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah.dailey@hawaiipolo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,478 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    716
    469
    175
    69
    49
See reviews for
266
561
182
217
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coupeville, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

We visit Honolulu at least once per year because our son attended Hawaii Pacific University and has remained following his graduation a year ago. We have stayed at the Hyatt, Prince Resort Waikiki, Executive Centre, and several guest houses in the Kailua/Kaneohe area. My overall favorite is the Prince Resort.

For our latest trip we decided to save some money on our hotel. I saw a number of favorable reviews for The Equus and we decided to give it a try. We knew that it was across the street from the Prince, so we were familiar with the area. The Equus met our needs very well.

We had a king bedroom that was neatly furnished, had a lanai with a view of Ala Moana Blvd, and a compact but very modern bathroom. The room rate included internet access and a continental breakfast plus coffee in the room. The staff, including Kika and Mimi responded to every request or question that we had. One of the biggest drawbacks is the traffic noise on Ala Moana Blvd, even in the middle of the night. That is the price for the convenient location.

There are no views of the water from the main building, but a 5 minute walk brings you to the boardwalk at the Hilton lagoon, which provides access to Waikiki Beach. We also had lunch one day at Hilton Hawaiian Village, and some meals at the Waialana Coffee Shop and had dinner once at Red Lobster. Because our son lives in the downtown area, we had dinner twice at Murphy's, which has a variety of meals at reasonable prices.

We used the parking garage at the Marina Tower which is adjacent to The Equus. The only challenge is finding a spot that is not marked "Reserved". Sometimes we parked on the second level, other times we were on the fifth level, but we always found a space. We were spoiled the times we stayed at the Prince because of their excellent valet parking, but we paid significantly less to stay at The Equus.

We will probably stay at The Equus (or the Marina Tower) on our next trip to Honolulu.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RichVolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theequushotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback, and will take the opportunity to improve our services. We are pleased that you decided to give us a chance, and that you were pleasantly surprised. We strive to create a more local Hawai'i experience at a budgeted price, and hope that you will remember us for your next visit.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah.dailey@hawaiipolo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Little Rock, Arkansas
1 review
Reviewed January 13, 2011

The Equus hotel, staff, and amenities were excellent! Everyone from the front desk to the cleaning staff were friendly and helpful! The bed was super comfortable, the room good sized, the shower hot and strong, the next door laundry cheap and good, the continental breakfast was good too! We had the best time ! Also, be sure to eat at the Big Fat Greek restaurant up Ala Moana as well as Pho's wrapped sandwiches. I had the best falalfel in 30 years of eating falalfels at the BFGR! So the location is great as well with good food close by and inexpensive by Honolulu standards. This is my fourth trip to Hawaii and my fella's first! The Equus made our stay the best trip we have ever had together! MAHALO EQUUS FOLKS!!!! love and blessings. Lia and Tom

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LASTRM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theequushotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 26, 2011
Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and you were able to make the most of our location. We appreciate all your feedback, and your great suggestions for great local eats in the area. We hope to see you again soon.

With Aloha,

Mariah Dailey
mariah.dailey@hawaiipolo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, PA
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

A nice hotel in an affordable price. Alamona shopping mall is within a short walking distance from the Equus. You will enjoy great International food at the mall.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crypto-PA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theequushotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are happy to have provided you with such a unique location, and that it suited you well. We hope that you will remember us upon your return, and look forward to seeing you again soon!

Much Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah.dailey@hawaiipolo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
Reviewed January 9, 2011

My brother and sister and I decided to come to Hawaii for a vacation after a long stressful year of college. We settled on staying at the Equus and we had a great time. The staff were relaxed and friendly and they were very helpful with directing us around the city. The rooms were very clean and the beds were amazing, one of the most comfortable sleeps I have ever had!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallagm8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theequushotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 12, 2011
We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your time with us. We hope that you will come and stay with us again on your next vacation.

With Aloha,

Mariah Dailey
mariah.dailey@hawaiipolo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2010

For this was the first time that I have been in Hawaii. Well, at lest away form the airport. I travel from Tokyo as a carrier and I just could not find my way around. I had ask a few of your workers for direction,but it seem they could not understand me.This young lady name Radiant over herd the conversation and gladly help me. Im a very stubborn person and not the type to stand around. I have travel a long long way and did not wont to wast my time in a hotel. She gave me allot of good tips. I will be returning at the ending of January and would like to say thank you to her in person or in hawaiian Mahalo. Her name describe her the most. As for the hotel two shacas up i wish i could say more but as a carrier you spend most of your time on airplane or at an airport waiting for your next destination. Thank you for a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lee-yu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theequushotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for your review. We are glad that you spent what little time you had in Hawai'i with us. We will be sure to pass along your praise to our staff, and hope to see you again soon.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah.dailey@hawaiipolo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed December 27, 2010

Kia ora :) My husband and I travelled to Oahu, from Aotearoa, with our parents for a cousin's wedding & holiday. We stayed 10 days at The Equus and the whanau (staff) took awesome care of us and helped make our Hawaii experience THE VERY BEST!!
We'd like to thank ALL of the staff that we got to know while we stayed there..... Much love to JunJun (housecare), Jackie (security), Achew (front desk), Paolao (front desk), Kiki (front desk) and not to forget 'the man' Mapu (housecare). We are so grateful to you all and look forward to coming back again, this time with our children :)

The value for money was tremendous especially for a 10 day stay..... the location is the BEST, right in the middle of Waikiki only a stone-throw away from anything you need.... the room we stayed in was modern, clean and had all amenities necessary.... the service we rate as A++++, helpful, friendly and genuine, you can't get better!!.... sleep quality, well, when your on holiday what else can you ask for, you usually only go back to your hotel to catch some Z's when you really need it (well that was us anyway)... there's too much to see and do :) Excellent!!

This was our first time booking over the internet for accomodation, so it was very scary at the beginning. We understand how people feel about this and have given an honest review about The Equus Hotel so other people can enjoy the same as us. It really helps as well when you take the time to talk with the people of Hawaii. We came to realise that the place itself is gorgeous, but the people are what make it beautiful!!!

Arohanui, The Tawakaz

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aotearoamaori
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
theequushotel, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, January 3, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share such a descriptive review. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and all of our fantastic members of staff. We will be sure to pass along your radiant reviews to them. We hope that this is only the beginning of your visits, and invite you to return again soon.

Much Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah.dailey@hawaiipolo.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
475 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,888 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,343 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,610 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
587 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing