We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't Put Make-up On A Pig! Do Not Stay Here!”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Washington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Can't Put Make-up On A Pig! Do Not Stay Here!”
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We were scheduled to stay here for 6 days in February 2009. We only ended up staying one night...here is why....

THE NEGATIVE STUFF:
So, we thoroughly searched for hotels in Honolulu for my brother's wedding, we did all this research on many different hotels and we found this one, it seemed to be the nicest hotel for the best price, so we booked and were very excited about it! All the reviews we read said nothing but good things about the hotel, the only bad things we read were that it was noisy...understatement of the year...I will explain more later...

First of all, this hotel is very easy to drive by and miss, as there is no real driveway, it is just off the sidewalk and you walk up to the "lobby" area. Upon arrival, we were stunned at the exterior appearance! When we checked in the man working there seemed distracted and not very interested in helping us at all (he was watching TV at the time we checked in). We got our keys and got onto the elevator to take us up to our rooms, we stepped off and were shocked to see that it was exterior entrance to our rooms..but we were still optimistic at this point..upon entering our room we were STUNNED! The room looked DIRTY and GROSS. We began to explore our room a bit more, just thinking it would get better, but it got worse. The rooms are somewhat small (we got a King room), but that was not a problem, I think the problem began when we entered the bathroom and looked at the condition of our shower...it was filthy and disgusting, we decided in that instant to shower with our shoes on!!!! Then, the tiny ants that were in our bathroom was somewhat of a turn-off. We decided to check out our balcony....DISGUSTING. It overlooked Ala Moana Blvd (which is very busy) and the furniture on the balcony looks like something they picked up from a yard sale, it was old, rundown and not appealing.

We did not feel safe in this area - the door jam around our door into our room looked as though it had been kicked in once before, as you could see daylight at the top of it! The safe is a key-safe but NO key....not that I would trust anything in that safe to begin with.

We immediately began calling other hotels to change the following day, since we would already be paying for this one. The free breakfast..well, I wasn't expecting a full spread or anything, but it is literally just a banana and dinner roll. The pool was disgusting, it is TINY and it did not look clean!! We spent one night and woke up early to find our new hotel!!! Upon waking up we were greeted with lots of ants in our sink!!! Just another factor that made our decision to move hotels much easier! The furniture was rundown, there were holes in the walls, it had really dirty popcorn ceilings and the carpets were stained! During the night you can hear EVERYTHING going on outside. It felt as though we slept with the windows open (the traffic is SO loud being as this hotel is on a bus route), also you could hear other guest's doors slamming all night...did not get a very good rest the one night we did stay.

THE FEW POSITIVES WE HAVE (there aren't many):
This hotel is close to the Ala Moana shopping mall which is HUGE and REALLY nice. That's it.

Overall...we would NEVER recommend this hotel to anyone. It was not at all what we expected from the website and we were very disappointed upon our arrival. We were expecting a little bit nicer of a facility. The best money we ever spent was upgrading to a nicer hotel!!!! You get what you pay for, lesson learned I guess.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank cougs1520
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,449 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    704
    457
    174
    69
    45
See reviews for
260
549
180
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (301)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 31, 2009

We stayed here twice during January 2009 and found the rooms to be qutie spacious and comfortable. The 1st time we were given a room on the 5th floor at the rear of the hotel. This room was everything it needed to be, quiet, comfortable, etc. However, the 2nd time we stayed the room was on the 2nd floor at the street end. This room unfortunately was so noisy that we didn't get much sleep the night before our early morning flight. Having said that, the bus stop is very close by, a major shopping centre is a 5 minute walk and we were the 1st drop off from the airport shuttle. There is also a small breakfast offered in the reception area each morning (get in early!). We would definately stay there again but would request a room furtherest from the street.

  • Liked — Comfy beds
  • Disliked — noisy rooms on the street
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank alicimw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Here
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2009

Enjoyed my stay very much - a nicely appointed room
(no view, but who lazes about when there's stuff to do?),
clean, recently refurbished. Desk staff very friendly and
helpful. A few small niggles: elevator a tad rickety, and
the wireless in the pool area kept cutting out. Also, the
locks on the doors rattled a bit loose, probably not a
major security issue but slightly disquieting, On the
whole, a good buy.

  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank xoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston S.C.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 20, 2009

My family and I visited Oahu this summer. We stayed at the
Equus for a month. It was fantastic! The room was great.
The staff was always helpful and friendly, we became friends
during our stay. Take the trail ride at the Hawaii Polo Club.
The property has a grest pool , tennis court and secure parking
for a reasonable fee. We can't wait to return to Hawaii and we will
definitly stay at the Equus Hotel.

  • Liked — STAFF AND LOCATION
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank LimeyCharlestonS_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 13, 2009

I have spent many nights at all kinds of Honolulu/Waikiki hotels and resorts and have yet to find a better location,room or price!
The rooms are so "homey" and I love the bed full of pillows. I usually park right under the hotel and can get out of the city fast. I highly recommend this Aqua location- even my 12 year old loved the room and walking across the street to red lobster!!

  • Liked — The price
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank s_troop2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach,CA
1 review
Reviewed January 11, 2009

The staff was extra friendly & the location was great (unless you are a person that doesn't do anything but sit on Waikiki Beach all day). You are 1 block from a great Mall, 5 minute walk to a great local bay & park & a few minute walk to Waikiki Beach. The rooms were plenty big & the decor was very nice. I see a few people whining on here that were expecting the Ritz Carlton... what the heck do you people want? Anyway, great value!! Can't wait to go back!

  • Liked — Location & price
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank CrazyCarMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2009

Rooms nice inside but the noise from the street comes thru even closed doors, could not enjoy the lanai area.
Internet is advertised but some rooms are not able to get reception using the Clearwire system.
Location is a fair walk away from the touristy Waikiki but close to the Ala Moana Mall, more urban residential.
Reception staff were very helpful and professional. Same breakfast of taro rolls, juice, and bananas got old quick.

Other Aqua Hotels have been better and I do recommend them.

  • Liked — Inside the rooms were really nice
  • Disliked — noise from the street
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank PracticalNomad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
360 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,542 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,310 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,259 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Choice Hotels, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing