We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very underrated gem”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #31 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 6, 2014

I was most pleasantly surprised at the quality of this hotel. The room was very clean, spacious and king bed just a dream. Bathroom tidy with all the accessories expected of a 4/5 star hotel. All in all very difficult to fault. Mind you I requested quietness and GOT the top floor at the back room #1008. The universal question – would I stay there again, YOU BET!

Room Tip: Request quietness ask for room #1008.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,493)
There are newer reviews for The Equus Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

598 - 604 of 1,493 reviews

Reviewed July 5, 2014

Don't let the stairs or the lobby scare you off. The rooms in the Equus are exceptionally clean and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The office staff was friendly and helpful. They even stored out luggage before and after check in/checkout so we could see the sites in the city. Air schedules are sometimes crazy. I only rated it down due to the noise from the street, and no free breakfast.

Room Tip: Ask for a room near the back, away from the street. You must walk up a staircase to get to the lo...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank retired42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2014

We spent 2 nights and loved it. Yoshi at the front desk was so nice and friendly. Our room had a great view of the fireworks that another hotel lights off on Friday nights. Comfortable beds, great shower, and cute towel art.

Room Tip: Our room faced away from the water for views of the fireworks
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Melissa K,

Big mahalos for your recent trip to Hawaii and for choosing to stay at The Equus! We are pleased to hear that Yoshi was able to assist you with your needs, and provide service beyond your expectations. It was our pleasure to host you, and we look forward to having you again in the near future!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at equus. We checked in late due to an extended layover and they were very nice so late. We missed out on the fresh pineapple juice but they got us a different day. The front desk people were very helpful, even letting us use the microwave once! The house keeping staff were great too! We used their services to book a couple activities and they found us the Best spa!!! Our hotel room was the cleanest we've had in a long time. Small, but nice. Bed was Sooooo comfy! Only downside was the small shower. The ac cooled the room off really fast. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Very close to shopping and the beach too.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bwwchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

bwwchic,

Many mahalos for your review and taking the time to share the details of your visit. We greatly appreciate your feedback and apologize that the showers were a bit small for your liking. Please let us know the next time you visit, and we will be sure you experience our 1 bedroom suite which has double the bathroom space and 2 luxurious rooms to stretch out in.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on the ninth floor with a glimpse of the sea. The room was very clean, quite large with super comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom with hot, strong m!shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and our luggage was stored as we arrived prior to check in time. Other reviewers have complained about the entrance steps but a staff member was there to carry our bags. Great place to stay if you want to be away from the busyness of Waikiki but only a short walk or bus ride away. Close to Ala Moana shopping centre and the lovely and much less crowded Ala Moana beach. An eatery called "Goofy Cafe and Dine" over the road on Ala Moana Blvd. Is a great place for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Jes18,

Thank you for your review and recent stay at The Equus. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and the rooms, services, and location were to your liking. We are ideally located as you mentioned, on the west end of Waikiki with easy access to Ala Moana Center and Beach Park as well as the beginning of Waikiki Beach (the award winning Kahanamoku beach!). We are pleased you had a positive time discovering the area and we look forward to inviting you back in the future.

Mahalo!

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great Location without a heave price tag.
Limited on site parking about 8 spots @$20 a day but the 24/7 public parking across the road charge $20 all day and only $7 for 10 hours which works for us for our daily 07:00 departure and return late every night.
Close the local shopping mall and good food court at half price most store around 21:00 :-)

Room Tip: Good location away from the main centre and close to the park for late afternoon walk and take the s...
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOT1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

BOT1112,

Many mahalos for taking the time to review your stay and provide excellent feedback about the area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the area, and that the parking worked out well for you. We enjoyed the beautiful photos you posted, and appreciate you adding to the information available for your fellow travelers.

Mahalo, and we look forward to your return!

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have been coming to Oahu for the past three years for business. The hotel is located in a perfect spot. Blocks from the Ala Moana Beach Park and Shopping, If you like to walk or jog along the Ala Wai Canal, that is just around the corner. Rooms are comfortable, some with balcony some without. If you come and stay here you will be greeted by some super friendly staff and an chilled glass of fresh pineapple juice. You will need it after your long flight. The past three years, Kao, has made sure I am comfortable. Kao remembered me last year and this year when I drove up the driveway. They really make you feel like 'Ohana (family). I will be back for year number 4.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

JSCalif,

Big mahalos for your continued support! We greatly appreciate your efforts in reviewing your past visits, and your loyalty to our family's hotel. We are pleased to have you as part of our Equus 'ohana and look forward to serving you for many more years to come.

A hui hou!

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
601 reviews
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,435 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,368 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $129 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing