We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Equus Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$420
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$169
Ala Moana Hotel
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$208
$172
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Ramada Plaza Waikiki(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$160
$148
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$396
$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$289
$259
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$163
$159
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveler rating
799
492
188
73
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
492
188
73
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsala moana blvdmarina towerred lobsterabc storealoha spiritwaikiki beachwithin walking distancestreet noisesmall hotelflat screen tvconvention centeracross the streetlight sleepercoffee machinethe entire staffsmall poolbus stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
710 - 715 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed June 28, 2014 via mobile

We had a great time at equus. We checked in late due to an extended layover and they were very nice so late. We missed out on the fresh pineapple juice but they got us a different day. The front desk people were very helpful, even letting us use the microwave once! The house keeping staff were great too! We used their services to book a couple activities and they found us the Best spa!!! Our hotel room was the cleanest we've had in a long time. Small, but nice. Bed was Sooooo comfy! Only downside was the small shower. The ac cooled the room off really fast. Would stay here again in a heartbeat. Very close to shopping and the beach too.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank bwwchic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

bwwchic,

Many mahalos for your review and taking the time to share the details of your visit. We greatly appreciate your feedback and apologize that the showers were a bit small for your liking. Please let us know the next time you visit, and we will be sure you experience our 1 bedroom suite which has double the bathroom space and 2 luxurious rooms to stretch out in.

Thank you again for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to hosting you again in the future!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights on the ninth floor with a glimpse of the sea. The room was very clean, quite large with super comfortable beds and a good sized bathroom with hot, strong m!shower. Staff were friendly and helpful and our luggage was stored as we arrived prior to check in time. Other reviewers have complained about the entrance steps but a staff member was there to carry our bags. Great place to stay if you want to be away from the busyness of Waikiki but only a short walk or bus ride away. Close to Ala Moana shopping centre and the lovely and much less crowded Ala Moana beach. An eatery called "Goofy Cafe and Dine" over the road on Ala Moana Blvd. Is a great place for breakfast.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jes18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

Jes18,

Thank you for your review and recent stay at The Equus. It is great to hear you enjoyed your time with us and the rooms, services, and location were to your liking. We are ideally located as you mentioned, on the west end of Waikiki with easy access to Ala Moana Center and Beach Park as well as the beginning of Waikiki Beach (the award winning Kahanamoku beach!). We are pleased you had a positive time discovering the area and we look forward to inviting you back in the future.

Mahalo!

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

Great Location without a heave price tag.
Limited on site parking about 8 spots @$20 a day but the 24/7 public parking across the road charge $20 all day and only $7 for 10 hours which works for us for our daily 07:00 departure and return late every night.
Close the local shopping mall and good food court at half price most store around 21:00 :-)

Room Tip: Good location away from the main centre and close to the park for late afternoon walk and take the sunset picture across the bay. There are about 12 steps you will to carry the baguage up the the reception and lift.
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BOT1112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 27, 2014

BOT1112,

Many mahalos for taking the time to review your stay and provide excellent feedback about the area. We are happy to hear you enjoyed the area, and that the parking worked out well for you. We enjoyed the beautiful photos you posted, and appreciate you adding to the information available for your fellow travelers.

Mahalo, and we look forward to your return!

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2014

I have been coming to Oahu for the past three years for business. The hotel is located in a perfect spot. Blocks from the Ala Moana Beach Park and Shopping, If you like to walk or jog along the Ala Wai Canal, that is just around the corner. Rooms are comfortable, some with balcony some without. If you come and stay here you will be greeted by some super friendly staff and an chilled glass of fresh pineapple juice. You will need it after your long flight. The past three years, Kao, has made sure I am comfortable. Kao remembered me last year and this year when I drove up the driveway. They really make you feel like 'Ohana (family). I will be back for year number 4.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JSCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

JSCalif,

Big mahalos for your continued support! We greatly appreciate your efforts in reviewing your past visits, and your loyalty to our family's hotel. We are pleased to have you as part of our Equus 'ohana and look forward to serving you for many more years to come.

A hui hou!

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2014

We stayed for 2 weeks at the Equus.

Positives: Good location, not that close to Waikiki but still walkable. Very close to Ala Moana beach which is quieter than Waikiki beaches. Also near to Ala Moana Centre which pretty much has all the shops that Waikiki has. Room was decent size and clean. Shower and A/C worked well. Housekeeping was efficient although could be late some days. Wifi had okay speeds in the room.

Negatives: Noise levels were very high due to outside traffic - almost unbearable in morning rush hour (we were on third floor).
Reception staff although friendly were at times incompetent. We booked a double room but were given a twin room because the staff at front desk thought we were a party of three rather than two. He later admitted it was because another person was standing behind us (subtle racism I guess as the person behind was asian).
The same person at front desk also said not to worry about parking and to speak to him on the day when we had the car. We did this but he then said we should have made a reservation beforehand as parking was limited and was full.
Safety deposit box in the room requires an actual key from front desk which costs $50 if you lose it.

Overall this hotel is good value for money. It would be a lot better if the person at front desk actually gave useful information and if the rooms had better sound proofing.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank hanovercigars
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2014

hanovercigars,

Thank you for your review- we appreciate every opportunity to improve our services and take each of your suggestions seriously and will do our best to make the necessary changes. In regards to the noise levels- we apologize for the inconvenience it may have caused you. Waikiki is a bustling city, so there is definitely more traffic noise then expected. We do our best to accommodate our guests by offering sleep kits, however if this is not sufficient then we move rooms if possible.

I apologize for the miscommunication regarding parking, this is our mistake and we apologize for the inconvenience. We are aware that this is an ongoing issue, and are resolving this by introducing valet parking for our guests in order to make it more convenient for everyone. We are sorry that this was not in place during your visit, and would be happy to offer this to you upon your return.

We invite you to return to stay with us again in the future so that you might have an improved experience and see that your feedback has provided us valuable changes to improve our services.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews