We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel has improved. Great place to stay.”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #30 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 7, 2014

I stayed at the Equus on 4/23/14 and again on 5/4/14, since it was the only Choice hotel in Hawaii and I like racking up the Choice points. I wasn't expecting much, since it had such bad reviews here on TripAdvisor, but I was REALLY surprised at how clean and nice this hotel was. I will admit this is one of the harder hotels that I've ever had to find and I would recommend calling the desk ahead of time for them to tell you they are about 400 feet past McDonalds. And the parking is limited, but there's not much they can do about this either. But the room was spotless, beautifully decorated and had perfect and fast Internet. I found the front desk staff very helpful and wanting to go out of their way to make sure my stay was without a problem. They even sent up a sliced fresh pineapple when I asked for some ice. The hotel doesn't even mention they are only a five minute walk from one of the biggest shopping centers in Hawaii--that has 230 stores. It took me nearly two hours to talk past all the stores on a Sunday afternoon, without even stopping in a store. There are plenty of places to eat around the hotel. If the previous reviews were accurate, then I think it is clear that the hotel has worked hard to improve its problems. I was impressed, and the value here is very good for Honolulu.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pvsmith2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

PSmith7,

Many mahalos for taking the time to review your stay in detail. We truly appreciate your honest assessment of our location, amenities and service. It is incredibly helpful for us to hear from our guests perspective how difficult of a time you had locating the hotel. We will work with CHOICE to update their website that explains what the hotel offers, and encourage guests to check our property level website EquusHotel.com which provides a great deal of information on the area, parking and Ala Moana Shopping Center.

We appreciate you re-considering your choice when visiting Oahu and giving The Equus a chance to shine. Please contact us directly when booking in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,515)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

656 - 662 of 1,515 reviews

Reviewed May 5, 2014

The Equus, being on the periphery of Waikiki, is near everything; without being in the MIDST of everything. Shopping (Ala Moana Centre), beaches, cocktail lounges, dining, marina. All within a 5-10 min. casual stroll.
From parking, to check-in, to housekeeping; a smile and genuine aloha spirit exudes. Suite with kitchenette, marble countertops, comfy bed (slept better than at home), all maintained with high standards. Top drawer! Throughout the facility, the equine and paniola (cowboy) decor, compliments the island feel. Immaculately polished brass handrails to highly maintained handsome teak lanai (patio) furniture, beckons one to enter.
Comfort, friendliness and a positive spirit abounds. We are keen on a return staycation. Mahalo to all. Kevan Scott, Haleiwa, Hi.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kumu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

kumu,

Aloha and mahalo for visiting us on such a special occasion. We are pleased to have been a part of your celebration, and hope that it was a memorable one. Thank you for your beautiful description of our location, entryway and rooms, we really couldn't put it better ourselves!

It was a pleasure to have hosted you during your visit "town-side" and hope that we might beckon you from the North Shore more often!

A Hui Hou,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

The Equus Hotel has great customer service. I have booked hotel stays numerous times over the last few years for employees and they are always pleased. The staff is always friendly. Thank you Rene for the extra help!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nicholas I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Nicholas I,

Many mahalos for your kindness in reviewing The Equus. We appreciate your continued support and hope to see more of your employees here in the future. It is a pleasure to work with you, and if there is anything we can ever do to assist you further please contact us directly.

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2014

We stayed at this charming boutique hotel in March 2014. Unfortunately we were only there for a cple of days. The staff were wonderful. We were made to feel welcome from the moment of arrival. The room was clean, actually very charming. It is well worth staying there. It was within walking distance to many restaurants, stores and most importantly "the Beach".
Yes, the furniture is not new or ultra modern but this is what adds to the comfy, warm feeling of staying there. Definately a spot we will return to and recommend to our friends.

Room Tip: don't face the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 23, 2014

Beth P,

We are pleased to have hosted you during your short visit to Waikiki! We appreciate your feedback and your efforts to share your experience with your fellow travelers. At The Equus, we strive to create an experience of Hawai'i- not just a hotel room. Our elegant in-room decor, historic photos and local staff create something more. We are pleased you were able to experience our corner of paradise, and look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo!

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had a wonderful stay at The Equus. Their staff did an amazing job in making my wife and I feel welcome during our visit to Hawaii. They were extremely friendly and very accommodating. The room was clean and the bed was very comfortable. We now know where to stay when we go to Hawaii. We will definitely choose The Equus on our next visit as well. Keep up the great work!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

John S,

Many Mahalos for choosing to stay with our Equus 'ohana during your visit to Waikiki. We are pleased that you enjoyed our team and felt at home on your vacation. We hope to see both you and your wife again sometime in the near future. Please do not hesitate to contact us directly upon your return!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in two different places in Waikiki. The Shoreline hotel, and The Equus. We had two different experiences, at the same price. Shoreline is really nice, with comfy - but really small - rooms, cleanliness at is best, and really really good location. But it is also quite impersonal. Wich Equus is not. Equus location is good because it is between Honolulu and Waikiki, and because Ala Moana center is very close. Otherwise, it is in a big road and very noisy. We enjoyed being in a more "hawaiian" hotel, with a very good staff, a well decorated room with a balcony. Negative point : bed was too soft, and we can feel that the carpet is definitely not brand new... In short, it is a good option if you want an hotel with a different note.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lesgrandsours
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2014

lesgrandsours,

Many Mahalos for taking the time to review your visit. We appreciate the honest comparison, as this is a great assistance to future travelers in making their decisions. It was a pleasure to host you, and we are pleased to offer the authentic Hawaiian Hospitality experience. Our goal is to treat each guest as our ohana, and host them as our family while they visit Hawaii. We always enjoy getting to know our guests and their stories, and appreciate that you chose to stay with us.

We very much look forward to your return sometime in the near future. Please let us know when that might be.

Mahalo,
Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 20, 2014

The Equus is a great place to stay in Waikiki. Friendly staff, clean rooms, comfortable bed. They even had a Keurig coffee machine, and supplied coffee daily. Close to the Waikiki Beach, 5 minute walk away. The Ala Moana Shopping Centre is only a 10 minute walk with lots of great shops. You can take the bus to Chinatown, where you can get souvenirs for half the price as at the stores. The ABC Store is just next door for anything you need. You don't need a car while there as there is a bus stop close by, for anything you don't want to walk to. When going on a bus excursion they will pick you up in front of the Hotel. The taxi ride from the airport was expensive, but when going back to the airport we booked a shuttle (at the front desk) for $20, $10 each. Every Friday evening they have fireworks at the beach, you don't want to miss this, it's amazing! Would love to go back to Waikiki.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BobbyandJanetCarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

BobbyandJanetCarter,

We are pleased to have had the pleasure of your company on your recent visit to Waikiki. It is great to hear that you were able to enjoy our convenient location to both the beach, Ala Moana Center & The Bus. We appreciate your kind remarks and detailed comments. This is incredibly helpful to our future guests and your fellow travelers when choosing a hotel. We invite you to return and visit us again as part of our Equus 'ohana.

Ahui Hou,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,906 reviews
Aqua Oasis
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
618 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
592 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,383 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $129 - $256 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing