We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Equus, an Ascend Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$329
$300
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$326
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$450
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
$226
$219
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$202
$190
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$254
$209
Marriott Hotels
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$204
$199
Hyatt.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$245
$234
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$420
$336
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,618)
Filter reviews
1,618 results
Traveler rating
807
498
188
73
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
807
498
188
73
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsala moana blvdmarina towerred lobsterabc storealoha spiritwaikiki beachwithin walking distancestreet noisesmall hotelflat screen tvconvention centeracross the streetlight sleepercoffee machinethe entire staffsmall poolbus stop
Filter
Updating list...
770 - 775 of 1,618 reviews
Reviewed April 7, 2014

For our vacation getaway, we decided to stay home and do a "Stay-cation." We came across the Equus Hotel in the Trip Advisor reviews and decided to give it a try. It is located just a short walk from numerous hotels, the beach, and the world-famous Ala Moana Shopping Center. The hotel has a short flight of stairs from the sidewalk to a small check-in desk. Don't let this fool you. The rooms/amenities and staff are a pleasant treat. The room was large, clean, plush, and comfortable. Towel sculptures (a swan and an owl) adorned our room. The staff was engaging and sincerely friendly, never to busy to chat with the customers. You just do not see this type of service in the hotel industry today. The hotel encourages the guests to "Text for Anything." I tried the feature and was not disappointed. The replies were nearly instantaneous and contained the same Aloha Spirit as my in-person conversations with the staff. There is no restaurant in the hotel but there are several just a short walk away. The sounds from the street below travel upwards so it can be a little noisy, but overall, not bad. Mahalo Nui Loa Auntie Rene, Keo, Justin, and the rest of the Equus team. We'll be back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

David D,

Thank you for taking the time to review your staycation experience! We are extremely grateful for such a descriptive and courteous review. We truly are pleased to have made such an impression on your visit, and thank you for choosing to stay with us. It is a great assistance to provide such wonderful commentary to educate future guests on what it is we have to offer.

We hope that you are planning another staycation sometime soon! Please contact us directly to book your next stay.

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014

My family and I stumbled upon the hotel and were overjoyed with how LOCAL this Hotel and Staff is. I was torn between staying at my favorite Hotel which is high end and pricey versus staying at the Equos. Staying at the Equos was one of the best decisions I made. Rene and hotel staff is pleasant, to work with. They were more than willing to make our stay a memorable one. The rooms are clean and relaxing. What hotel leaves a platter of pineapple with a personalized note - wishing my son an enjoyable time at his prom and telling us if there could be anything more they could do to enjoy our stay - EQUUS did !!!!! The location is great, major resturants, Alamoana shopping Center and Alamoana Beach is located walking distance from this Hotel. My family and I were so PLEASED with our stay, upon checking out, we booked a another 2 night staycation to enjoy during Easter weekend . This Hotel shares the essence of PURE ALOHA !!!

J.y.g. And ohana

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jay G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Jay G,

Big Mahalos for taking the time to review your stay. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your staycation so much that you booked again already! We are excited to be your host when you visit Waikiki, and please be sure to contact us directly for any special needs or occasions.

We truly strive to share our aloha with our guests and invite them to experience true Hawaii. We are pleased that you felt this effort when you stepped in the door. We will be sure to recognize the excellence of our team members that assisted you during your stay, and hope to continue welcoming you as part of our Equus 'ohana for a long time to come.

Ahui Hou,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 3, 2014 via mobile

Staff Renee is awesome. She was able to help me with my booking and cancellation. I am very grateful that she was able to help me. I give the hotel and Renee 100 stars out of 10. Please support Renee and the hotel. Alot of aloha

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank junster808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

junster808,

Thank you for your kind review of our reservation services, especially that of Rene. We are sorry to hear you we unable to join us this time, but please be sure to let us know when you plan to visit Waikiki in the future. We appreciate your thoughtfulness in reviewing your experience and look forward to hosting you in the future.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 2, 2014

I was looking for an affordable hotel in Waikiki so, after reading several great reviews on Tripadvisor, I chose the Equus. I was not disappointed. The small boutique hotel is well located for shopping, dining, the beach, etc. The room was small, but clean and well appointed (loved the four poster bamboo bed). The staff were very friendly and accommodating. A special shout out to Kiki, Rene and Justin who were all most helpful during my visit.

My only advice would be to make sure you bring along a pair of ear plugs as the traffic noise is substantial. Also, be aware that there are two flights to stairs to climb (no elevator) to reach the hotel lobby. When my friend arrived, there was someone available to assist her with her luggage, but at the time I arrived, there was not.

Overall, a fantastic stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor towards the back of the hotel away from the street (due to traffic noise). For a great breakfast, head one block down to Snapper's bar which offers a great breakfast for $3.99. Or try the Harbor Pub (also a block away) for their pizza. They also serve a great, reasonably priced breakfast.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank flamesgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

flamesgal,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Equus, our services and location. We are pleased you enjoyed your time with us, and apologize for any inconvenience we may have caused you with our bell service. Please be sure to contact us directly with your arrival time, and we will be sure that someone is able to assist you. We make an effort to have assistance available 24/7 so that our guests do not have to manage their luggage immediately upon arrival.

We thank you for your feedback and giving us the opportunity to comment on your suggestions. It is great to hear that our team was able to accommodate you and exceed your expectations in service and value. We look forward to serving you again in the future.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 31, 2014

We absolutely love this hotel! The rooms are very comfortable, quiet and clean. The Polo themed decor is a really cool - from the pictures and guestbook all the way to how they fold a small horse origami in your room, they really pay attention to fine detail. Rene, Paulo and the rest of the staff care to your every need and really make you feel special. Located at the beginning of Waikiki there are plenty of places to shop and eat nearby. The harbor is located a block away and offers spectacular sunset views for those who like to explore.

Room Tip: The hotel is surprisingly quiet - from what we have seen every room is excellent.
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus, an Ascend Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 30, 2014

Gary P,

Many Mahalos for choosing to stay with The Equus, and for your kind comments. We appreciate the extra time you took to let us know about your experience. It is important to our team to provide excellent service and leave our guests with fond memories. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the small details that we offer. We will be sure to pass along your gratitude to our team. Your review will provide us with great motivation to continue hosting our guests with aloha. Please contact us anytime regarding Polo as we would be happy to provide you with complimentary passes as each of our guests at The Equus receive during their stay.

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews