We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic service, Island of calm” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Olalla, Washington
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic service, Island of calm”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 15, 2014

Tho I had made an error in booking reservations for 2 rooms, Puka & Rene were incredibly calm & helpful in correcting it & getting us settled into their lovely boutique hotel. Bellman Romero was "everywhere" making sure our bags were stowed until the issue was straightened out. This hotel is a small island of calm in what has become the jungle of Honolulu. Walk into the gorgeous lobby & it's like you're in another world. Yet when you exit onto the street there are several great restaurants & a McDonalds within a 1/4 mi one way & Ala Moana Mall within walking distance the other. Trolleys to go anywhere you could want to go just across the road, & a beach within walking distance. Airport suttle right to the door. All with beatifully appointed rooms with coffee,tea @ your fingertips. Concierge Danielle was also very helpful in taking care of some airliine hangup, we only wish she had been there earlier in the month to take care of booking our tours. Definetly would return here in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: 607,608 more away from road, plus higher floors have less traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Winnifred C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,379 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    674
    429
    166
    66
    44
See reviews for
243
519
171
205
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2014

The Equus Hotel is in a great location being on the edge of Waikiki and within walking distance of central Waikiki, Ala Moana Mall and and many places to eat. It is also very convenient to buses that take you to Diamond Head, downtown Honolulu, Pearl Harbor and the airport.
From street level you have to climb a flight of stairs to get to the lobby and elevator. The elevator is very slow but you'll get where you are going eventually.
The room itself was very nicely decorated and clean. There was also a balcony although the main sight you can see is the building directly across from it. You can easily hear the traffic noise coming up from the street which probably won't keep you up but which you can often hear. There is a small refrigerator in the room along with a K-cup coffee maker which you sometimes need to ask to be replenished.
Interestly there is also a very small pool off of the lobby although we never saw anyone in it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sevsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, Washington, USA
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014 via mobile

I come to Hawaii 3 times a year on business and every so often I get adventurous and try a new hotel. the Bad: Parking off site about a block away and $20/ day. Not handicapped friendly so if you have lots of luggage and/ or are old you will battle a flight of stairs. And no desk to work from. Room was clean bed is comfortable and they have complimentary wi-fi.

Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
Helpful?
4 Thank Sticklert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

I have stayed here several times now, and place is always consistent! Helpful staff at check in and during stay! Always there to answer any questions and guide you in right direction. Location is ideal as Waikiki beach is few blocks away. Plenty of good restaurants close by, whether it be big name or good chain steak house. Most if all, it is a fabulous "Value" and rooms are comfy as can be! A liitle noise from main drag Ala Moana Blvd, but that dies down in evening!

Room Tip: The higher the better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pjod_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2014

The Good: Friendly staff, good location. The Bad: Booked a King Deluxe, but put in a Bamboo Queen - charged for the King Deluxe!. Still waiting for a refund on the rate difference. Surprised at having to carry luggage up a flight of stairs to get to the lobby and elevator. Cleanliness was a problem in the shower and around and under the bed. Tip: Probably not a good idea to look under the bed in any hotel - this one was particularly gross. Thankfully we were only there two nights.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Don S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Martinez, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We are in an Equus unit in the Marina Towers for a month. After two weeks we can say the service has been excellent. Fely (Felicia) for example has provided excellent service in cleaning our room. Other staff have provided us with extra towels, resloving a problem with the T.V. and patiently giving us the code again for internet access. All of our encounters with Equus staff have been pleasurable. We look forward to our final two weeks in our unit.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jtheether
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
jtheether,

Big Mahalos for your review during your current visit! We are pleased to hear our team has been able to assist with every need. It truly is a pleasure to serve our visiting guests, and host them with Aloha in our beautiful Islands.

We look forward to making your visit a continued success, and sharing our knowledge for the duration of your visit. Please come visit our newest addition in The Equus lobby, our concierge team "Experience Hawaii" so that they can make your visit even more enjoyable!

Mahalo Nui,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I've been to Hawaii many times and this trip I had the pleasure of staying at the Equus Hotel in downtown Honolulu. To begin, the location of the hotel is really great - one block from Waikiki beach and one block from the big Ala Moana shopping mall, plus lots of restaurants. My room was spacious and kept meticulously clean by Ricky. And the bed was very comfortable. I usually find it difficult to sleep the first night in a new place, but not this time. There is parking under the hotel which is an added plus. Also, getting to and from the H1 highway is very direct making it very easy to get around, something I can't say for other hotels I've stayed at. The staff was always friendly and would go out of their way to help in any way. While this is not a five-star hotel located on Waikiki beach, you will not pay a five-star price. In short, this is a great hotel and I would definatlely stay there again, and would recommend it to anyone else.

Room Tip: I was on the tenth floor toward the back of the hotel so there wasn't much street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, February 6, 2014
Dave M,

Aloha and Mahalo for taking the time to review your recent visit to The Equus. We very much appreciate your efforts in sharing your experience with us and your fellow travelers. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed our property, our team and that the location was convenient for all of your needs. We will be sure to share these kind comments with our team, and they will serve to inspire us to provide outstanding service.

Thank you again for your consideration, and choosing to stay with our Equus 'Ohana. We do hope to make your next visit even more enjoyable!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,368 reviews
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,097 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#54 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,851 reviews
Waikiki
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
OHANA Waikiki East Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,711 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Choice Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing