We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this Quaint Hotel”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #28 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
Level Contributor
1,213 reviews
141 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 743 helpful votes
“Love this Quaint Hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We moved here after four nights in central Waikiki and prefer this location near the Waikiki Marina. It's more upscale and is distant from the noise and chaos of Kuhio Street. You can walk to downtown Waikiki Beach in 15 minutes, or ride The Bus.

Check-in is 3:00 pm. When we arrived shortly after noon Friday, our room was not yet ready, so the front desk staff stored our luggage while we went to Diamond Head.

Our first night here, the hospitality staff was serving complimentary Mai Tai's (no limit per guest) in the outdoor lounge next to the lobby. This is their custom every Thursday and Friday evening. Each one of the half dozen staff members we met is incredibly friendly, helpful, personable. We enjoyed meeting some of the other hotel guests during cocktail hour.

The décor here is equestrian themed. Furnishings are beautiful. We were shown two types of rooms - The Bamboo Room, which has one queen bed, and a king room. I loved the Bamboo Room décor, but we guessed that my very tall husband would bang his head on the 4-poster frame if he got up during the night, so we chose the king room.

Our room on the 6th floor has gorgeous views from the balcony, where two can sit at the patio table and enjoy the weather. Both nights we've left the sliding door wide open because the ocean breeze here is magnificent. No air conditioning needed. The king bed is exquisite ... just soooo comfortable. Several pillow choices facilitate finding just the right one for pleasant dreams.

The king room is somewhat crowded, with all the furnishings, and we had to get creative to place all of our luggage where it would be accessible, but we found nooks for all four pieces. One entire wall of the room is mirrors, so you don't get a claustrophobic feeling at all.

The king room has a cute wood mini-dinette table with two chairs, a bureau for clothes, two night stands, and a full size luggage bench. The kitchenette counter area is pretty granite with a Keurig coffee maker and Newman's organic coffees. The hotel actually provides raw sugar (hurray!) and Half & Half, instead of the cheap stuff you usually find with hotel coffee service.

The mini-refridge has a freezer so you can bring ice cream up to your room ! No microwave though, so drink your coffee before it cools.

The bathroom is smallish, with the vanity/sink area separate from the shower/toilet section. There is no tub so, if you want a soak, you have to go down to the first floor "Refresh" pool. Towels are thick and fluffy, and our housekeeper left us her personal greeting - a chickadee she made out of washcloths ! We delight in those little "above and beyond" services.

I love the toiletries - non-toxic Earth Tempo brand. And they actually supply body wash, along with the usual bar soap, shampoo, conditioner, lotion. A step above 90% of other hotels in this respect.

The free Wi-Fi connection actually works here, unlike the last hotel, which saves money on visits to Starbucks. The wall-mounted flat screen TV is only about 27 inches, but I doubt most visitors to Hawaii are sitting in their hotel rooms watching TV, so screen size is not very relevant.

The safe is the old-fashioned kind with a key. Don't lose your safe key because the hotel will have to charge you $50 to replace it.

I'd read some complaints about the elevator, but we've had no problem with it. There is only one elevator for ten floors, so sometimes it takes awhile to arrive. But there's no problem whatsoever traveling up and down, and it's certainly not in danger of breaking down.

There is no fitness center or restaurant on site, but dozens of restaurants are within a ten minute walk in either direction. I believe the only private gym in Waikiki is 24 Hour Fitness (15-minute walk), and you can pay on a per visit basis if you must work out during your stay.

My one complaint would be that there is no recycle bin in the room, since this is a bronze level "green" hotel. But that won't keep me from staying at Equus next time we return to Oahu.
This is a fantastic little gem in an area of the city where most lodging is ridiculously overpriced.

Room Tip: The higher the floor, the better your view. Choose a room toward the front of the hotel for the bes...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
ML T,

Many warm mahalos for the excellent review with such care and detail provided. This truly exudes kindness and respect for what we do, and what we have to offer; and it is appreciated by our entire Equus Team. You go above and beyond to serve us with detailed comments and feedback to assist us in improving our services for future guest, and also in providing great information for those guests still making their decisions on accommodation.

We cannot thank you enough for the pleasure of your company during your visit to the islands, and we are grateful that you selected The Equus as your new home on Oahu. We can only offer to return the favor many times over. We welcome you into our Equus 'Ohana, and we look forward to many more visits in the future.

Big Mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,448 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    703
    457
    174
    69
    45
See reviews for
260
548
180
213
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (300)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed November 2, 2013

We stayed at The Equus hotel October 20-31, 2013. The hotel is not on the beach but it's close to Waikiki beach to the left and across the street and the Ala Moana beach & park to the right another 15 minute walk. Ala Moana beach & park is a huge park with a walking path all around it, very nice for jogging or taking a walk, the beach area is good also.
The hotel has 10 floors and it's on a busy street, try to get a room high and at the end of the hotel. The hotel is small, nothing fancy, but the staff keeps the place clean. To the right of the reception there is sitting area, this is where they have pineapple juice for their guests, no charge.
In our room we had a single serve coffeemaker, a fridge and a small sink next to the coffeemaker which we found it very convenient to rinse cups or wash hands.
The location is great, everything is within walking distance and the buses run regularly, we took the bus several times, just ask the driver if you are not sure you are on the right bus.
The Ala Moana mall is close by, there is a food court on the first floor with a lot of restaurants.
We were not disappointed staying at The Equus hotel on our vacation.

Room Tip: choose a high floor, to avoid the traffic noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia51Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Mia51Boston,

Aloha from The Equus 'Ohana! Thank you for taking the time to detail your visit, and provide us with valuable feedback. It is a great assistance to our future guests to have comments such as yours to rely on for their visits. We greatly appreciate your stay, and we hope to host you again in the near future.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

Overall perfect.... Great location
Lovely rooms. We would stay there again
Close but not on the beach
Very walkable to shopping and great beaches
Walk to Waikiki
Room was clean and well appointed and personnel were all very helpful

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lilliup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
lilliup,

Mahalo nui loa for your kind comments. It was a pleasure to host you at The Equus. We are pleased to hear that your trip was enjoyable and that you had a memorable visit. We greatly appreciate your efforts to share your positive feedback, and look forward to many return visits!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
113 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013

We stayed here based on previous reviews. The rooms are really nice, quite large, with the beds very comfy and the bathroom well appointed. Outside the rooms it is a little stranger. The reception is up a flight of stairs with no lift and the reception area is pretty small. The lift is old and we crossed our fingers every time we got in it that it would make it to our floor. The entrance to the rooms is from an outside corridor - again a little strange but fine.

Overall I would recommend it. It was good value, close to the beachs and not too noisy (as it is on one of the mainish roads). It is a short walk to restaurants, malls and bars.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johnandlucia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
johnandlucia,

Big Mahalos for your review. We appreciate every opportunity to improve our services, and are pleased that you have provided great detail on your visit. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your time with us and that the location and rooms were to your liking.

It is important to us to create an experience and an ambience of old hawaii in our entire property, and we are sorry to hear that this was not the case. We apologize sincerely that you did not enjoy our outdoor corridors and lobby. Many hotels in Hawaii are developed this way, as it is one great way to utilize our fabulous weather . We apologize for any delay with our elevator, it takes a little time, but we hope to make up for this with excellent service and a unique experience that will make you forget you are in any rush to go anywhere. Enjoying your vacation and relaxing is our goal, we will strive to adjust our services and look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit, for another Equus Experience.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
48 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Equus Hotel based on TripAdvisor reports and were very happy with our decision. Good position near to restaurants, Waikiki and the Ala Moana Center. I notice a lot of people mention being welcomed with a glass of fruit juice - they must have run out just before we arrived as we were never offered any but still we enjoyed our stay very much and if we visit Waikiki again, we would not hesitate booking at this hotel.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank suquie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
suquie,

Aloha and mahalo for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to the islands. We are pleased to hear your positive feeddback, and that our reviews pointed you in the right direction. We truly strive to provide a unique experience of our local culture while you are visiting Hawaii, and we hope that we were able to do so. We apologize sincerely for missing your juice at checkin, however we hope that you were able to avail of our complimentary Mai Tai service on Thursday and Friday evening. If not, you must allow us to host you again and share these experiences on your next visit. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

When I go to Honolulu for business, I usually like to stay on one of the edges of Waikiki to avoid the bulk of the tourist crunch. After reading reviews here on TripAdvisor I thought that I would give the Equus a try. I was happy with my decision as the hotel was very nice and well-located. Staff were very helpful and friendly. Parking was extra (I had a car for work visits) and a little tight, but worked out OK. Elevator was somewhat slow, but I have found this to be the case at multiple other properties as well. Room was cozy but not cramped and there are multiple places to eat and things to do within a short walk from the hotel. Noise was not an issue (I stayed in a room towards the back of the building, away from Ala Moana Blvd.). I thought that the Equus was a good value.

Room Tip: Per suggestions on TripAdvisor, I requested a room away from the Blvd and this worked out fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FluvialMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
FluvialMan,

Mahalo for taking the time to share such a detailed review of your recent business trip. It is a great assistance to fellow travelers to share such great comments regarding our location and services. We are happy to hear that everyhting was to your satisfaction, and we do hope to become a regular visit on your future trips to Hawaii. Please contact us directly upon your return for any special requests or reservation assistance.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I have to say that we had a wonderful time at the Equus. The beds were soft. We didn't hear any street noise and the front staff was amazing. I would definitely stay at the Equus again ! The walk to Waikiki beach is a safe 15 minute walk away and there is a trolley stop about 1 block away if you are unable to walk that far. You also get free Mai Ti's every Friday and Saturday at 5 pm which is a great time to speak with other travelers on what sites they would or wouldn't recommend.

Room Tip: We were on the 6th floor and could see the Harbor and a sliver of Waikiki.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank lpackersl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, November 5, 2013
lpackersl,

Mahalo for providing such outstanding feedback from your recent visit to the islands. It was our pleasure to host you during your stay in Waikiki, and we are happy to hear that we were a convenient choice for all of your travel needs. We hope to continue to provide excellent service to our loyal customers, and new guests. We welcome you into our Equus Ohana!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
358 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,540 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#45 of 84 in Honolulu
1,308 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,259 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
2,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd, Priceline, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing