We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good price and location for convention”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good price and location for convention”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Booked for a recent convention and had an excellent stay. When there was a problem with our TV, the front desk sent up a maintenance man promptly, who took care of the issue immediately and courteously. Only issue was that I wasn't able to check in early (although I saw several other people receive keys while I was waiting). However, in the hotel's defense, I was there about 45 minutes before the official check-in time. Front desk staff was generally pleasant. I agree with an earlier review that it was somewhat loud at night, since you're on a major roadway (we were on the 7th floor). I didn't necessarily have difficulty sleeping, perhaps because a roommate put on a white noise app on her phone during the night, but it may be an issue for some. Walk to the convention was easy and quick if using the back entrance (maybe 10 minutes). Wireless Internet quality was good, and rooms were nice and clean. The hotel prides itself on minimal environmental impact, which I thought was great. Be aware that there is no elevator to the ground level (which makes carrying luggage to/from the street difficult), and the elevator between floors is quite slow. It's also kind of in between downtown Honolulu and Waikiki, so expect a long walk (but doable) or bus ride to either.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from Ala Moana Boulevard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kscwhoop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
kscwhoop,

Big Mahalos for your review and for choosing to stay with us at The Equus. We appreciate your detailed comments, and assitance in making us better at what we do. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time here, and the location and rooms were to your liking. It is an easy distance to either Ala Moana Beach Park, Mall, or Waikiki Beach.

Thank you for mentioning our Environmentally Friendly efforts, we encourage guests to take part in what we strive for, and as you can see on TripAdvisor, we are awarded a Green Leader. We constantly are looking for new ways to improve our guests experience and the footprint we all leave on the fragile eco system of Hawaii.

We are glad to hear you had no trouble sleeping, and hopefully our dreamy pillowtop beds had something to do with it! Again, we thank you for your visit, and we hope to continue to assist you upon your return to Waikiki.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    452
    173
    68
    44
See reviews for
254
543
178
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Muncie, Indiana
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Good room, friendly service. We were in the only suite and it was roomy and quiet. Good location- just across the road is the beach. The bus is pretty affordable and will take you anywhere in Waikiki. The hotel has a texting service for guests to request help or suggestions while you're out. Possible downsides: No bar, small pool is in the shade, and I didn't see a fitness center. Overall, good. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: The suite is nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank AprilKrowel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
AprilKrowel,

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us, and we appreciate the time you took to review your visit. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay in our Polo Suite and were able to avail of our new texting service. We hope that this was able to provide you with improved service at any hour of the day. Our location is well placed out of the hustle and bustle of the Waikiki strip, but as you mention we are within walking distance of all Waikiki has to offer, Ala Moana shopping mall and Beach Park, and of course the bus makes easy access to all of these sights as well. We hope that you enjoyed your time in Waikiki, and were able to experience the Aloha Spirit of Hawaii. We invite you back to stay on your next visit!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2013

Things that were good:

Service was friendly.
The room was of a decent size.
The room was nice. It was clean, bed was nice, air conditioning worked, etc. No problems.
The pricing was good.

Things that could be issues:

Road noise. I was on the 8th floor and it was NOISY even with the sliding door closed. I'm a light sleeper but I had ear plugs. With the ear plugs I had no issues sleeping. My friend was on the 10th floor and he said apparently the 10th floor has very good sound proofing (and also higher prices). He said he barely heard any road noise. So if you're a light sleeper, bring ear plugs or book a room on the 10th floor.

Elevator. There's only one elevator and it's slow. You might have to wait a while for the elevator.

Location. If you want to do visits to Waikiki, this hotel is a little far unless you take the bus. It's definitely walkable (it's about 1.5 miles away or so) but it's a tad far compared to other hotels when talking about going to Waikiki.

Parking. Like most if not all hotels in that area, parking costs money nightly. But they only have like 10 spots and you just have to hope no one steals your spot. I'm not sure if it's possible if you paid for a spot to have your spot taken but the staff seemed to imply this was a possibility. Never happened to us, but it almost did.

Getting to front desk. If you have luggage that's hard for you to handle, be warned that there's a few steps that you have to take before you get into the lobby of this hotel. You maybe able to flag someone to help you with your luggage but I wouldn't count on it so expect to carry your luggage up some stairs. It's not that many and the steps are low so you should be able to drag your luggage up without too much problems if you have wheels on your luggage.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank b c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
b c,

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with valuable feedback. We appreciate your comments and are happy you enjoyed your time with us and our rooms were suitable for your comfort. We apologize for the inconvenience that the elevator may have caused you, as you mentioned we do only have one elevator for 10 floors. It is peak season in Hawaii, therefore there is much higher traffic on the elevator, so we are apologetic that this may have delayed you.

Thank you for pointing out the small inconveniences that should be brought to our guests attention before booking with us. We have made a concerted effort to eliminate these issues, such as a Bell Service to assist with parking as well as luggage up the stairs. Luggage is delivered directly to your room, unless you prefer to keep it with you. The parking is limited on-site to 15 stalls, however we also offer an off-site parking structure only a block away. This off-site structure also offers low rates for evenings if you are planning only to have the car parked over night.

Thank you again for your review, and helping us to improve our services and share your concerns with fellow travelers. We appreciate your assistance in this matter, and look forward to another visit sometime soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Arrived at Hotel to find 19 steps to reception and had to carry all our luggage by our selves. The staff were very unhelpful and didn't explain anything about our room. Had an issue with the air conditioner which needed the room card inserted before it worked but this hadn't been explained to us. The room was very hot when we arrived. The beds were the smallest double beds we had ever seen more like the size of a king single. The lift was the slowest we have ever come across with people waiting considerable times at peak traffic times during the day. There are obviously 2 sections to the hotel as this is not the one shown in the picture.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank steino15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
steino15,

Mahalo for taking the time to provide us with your detailed concerns. We appreciate such an opportunity to utilize our guests feedback and continue to improve our services. We are also quite disappointed to hear of your review, and the struggles you had during your visits.

To address our staircase, this is certainly something that can be troubling, and we do our best by providing a bellman, as well as many other team members to assist with luggage up and down the staircase. We are aware that this is a shortfall, and we are certainly working to improve the ability of our Bell Service to assist all customers at all times of day. If you are conerned about the single flight of stairs to reception, a solution would be to provide us with your arrival time so that we can be sure there is assistance available outside regular checkin hours.

We are a small boutique hotel, and this of course is something we are proud to be. We respect that there are many different travelers with different needs, and tastes. Therefore we do our best to make all our guests aware of exactly what we provide, and the fact that we are small scale, with minor quirks that give us character- being one of the oldest hotels in Waikiki. We completely understand if our visitors are looking for a large resort like property with expansive pools and large building layouts- if this is the case, we are not the place for you, and we will gladly provide you with suggestions for your next visits.

We are an independent boutique property, and we strive to provide outstanding service, with stylish rooms and a host-like nature to guide you during your visit to Hawaii. We hope that the issues you encountered during your stay did not hinder your vacation, and we apologize for having inconvenienced you at all. It is important to us that all visitors to Hawaii experience the culture and wonder that Hawaii has to offer, and we hope you were still able to enjoy yourselves. With that said, we invite you to stay with us upon your return, and we would be happy to accommodate you, or suggest another venue that might be more suited to your taste.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii, United States
1 review
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We were surprised at how many amenities this hotel managed to fit in a quaint space. It's clear that the staff takes pride in their craft. They were genuine and never missed an opportunity to assist us. The atmosphere was warm and surprisingly personal for a small hotel in Waikiki. The theme of Equestrian and old Hawaii cowboy was thread throughout the hotel. We enjoyed the historical photos. The staff made us feel like family and we look forward to visiting again soon. The only downside was that the elevator seemed rather slow to respond.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elizabeth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Elizabeth L,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Equus, we are pleased to have exceeded your expectations. As a family-run independent boutique hotel in Waikiki, we strive to provide as many amenities and services as possible to our lovely guests. Making all added services complimentary so that there are no hidden fees. It is our duty to provide the most memorable experience of Hawaii, and to share our island and its cultures with our guests as we host you through your visit. We are pleased that you were able to join us for this experience, and welcome you to our Equus Ohana. We look forard to your next visit!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2013

I had called to make reservations, and puka and rene were wonderful helpers. They provided us with the true Hawaiian hospitality. So I'm booking my next reservation when I come to Hawaii with Equus. My advice to all, is to book the Equus.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kaylamalta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Kaylamalta,

Mahalo for your kind comments, and taking the time to share your experience with fellow travelers. Even the reservation process is an important part of your experience, and we are pleased that Rene and Puka could assist you so thoroughly. We hope to see you at The Equus soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Papamoa, New Zealand
Level Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This was our sixth stopover at this hotel .20 th July & 5th Aug '13 .
The hotel is well situated, clean & tidy and the staff are always obliging and helpful .It is good value accomodation and we would not stay elsewhere when passing through Honolulu . We will return.

Green Features: Green Sensitive. Energy saving where possible. (Use stairs as fitness centre )
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank jrski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
jrski,

Big Mahalos for taking the time to review your many visits through Waikiki, and our property, The Equus Hotel. We are pleased to be a part of your regular travel through Hawaii, and happy to be able to provide value, comfort and service during your stay. Please continue to visit us and we sincerely appreciate your loyalty. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 547 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,246 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing