We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Equus Hotel
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$339
$309
Westin.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$420
TrumpHotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$350
$281
Sheraton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Ala Moana Hotel(Honolulu)(Great Value!)
$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$210
$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$608
$540
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
$202
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$199
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
$425
$360
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
Hyatt Regency Waikiki Resort & Spa(Honolulu)
$227
$199
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,604)
Filter reviews
1,604 results
Traveler rating
799
492
188
73
52
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
799
492
188
73
52
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsala moana blvdmarina towerred lobsterabc storealoha spiritwaikiki beachwithin walking distancestreet noisesmall hotelflat screen tvconvention centeracross the streetlight sleepercoffee machinethe entire staffsmall poolbus stop
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
904 - 909 of 1,604 reviews
Reviewed July 19, 2013

We have stayed here before, and we really like the location. You can easily walk to Ala Moana park or to Waikiki. Although a bit small (by U.S. standards) the rooms are clean and comfortable and certainly more than adequate. Basically the hotel had everything we needed. The big plus is the friendly staff; everyone was helpful, some even more so. We would like to thank Keo, Justin, Yoshi, Clinton, and Puka Palenapa for all the times they gave us assistance or a friendly greeting. Justin keep working on that Honolulu Ice Tea it was great! The only downside is inadequate parking at the hotel, (not much they can do about it as space is really limited) for the first half of our stay we had to park elsewhere. Recommend when making a reservation that one ensures reserving a parking space as well.

Room Tip: quieter furthest from the street
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Thomas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2013

Life-travelers,

Mahalo nui loa for visiting us at The Equus Hotel. We appreciate the time you took to review your stay, and provide us with important feedback to improve our services. We apologize for any inconvenience our small parking lot may have caused you. As you mention we do offer an off-site parking structure for the same cost (even less if you only plan to park under 10 hours). It is only 1 block away from our property. As you mentioned, we are a small property, and we will do our best to accommodate your needs, especially for loading and unloading purposes. We are happy to assist in making arrangements for either on-site or off-site parking, therefore you need not be concerned about having parking arrangements. However we will do our best to improve upon these circumstances.

We greatly appreciate the compliments to our staff. They work hard, and enjoy getting to know our guests. We will be sure to pass along your praise to each one of them. We hope that you will return to visit on your next trip to Hawaii, and get to know us better.

Big Mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2013

We chose this hotel only because is twas close to the Ala Moana Shopping Centre and also because we only had a one night stay before our connecting flight home.
When we first rocked up, it was not impressive at all. Looked a bit run down, but after checking in and getting to our rooms, it was a lot better. Rooms were nice, shower looked like it was pretty old but overall was average.

Good location for shopping but besides that, there is not much else around, unless you go for a 20-30 min walk.

Overall a nice little hotel for the price.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank VictorV89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 19, 2013

VictorV89,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Equus Hotel. We appreciate your feedback, and the time you took to review your stay. We are sorry to hear you were unimpressed by our exterior, however we have beautiful rooms on the interior of our building.

The Equus was actually built in the late 50's and was around before all the high rises in Waikiki. We try to share our history in Waikiki, as well as the history of the horse in Hawaii with all of our guests. We are a unique 10 story building among giants. Although we are small, we take pride in being the only family-owned and operated independent boutique in Waikiki.

We hope that we can share more of our story with you the next time you visit. Please let us know when you return, and we will be sure to make it memorable.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

My family and I are staying here while we are awaiting our furniture from Baltimore, MD. We have found this place reasonably priced. The rooms are clean and comfortable. The staff are just wonderful. They go beyond helpful. Renee, who is the manager has made us feel like family. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 16Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

16Michael,

E Ho'okipa Mai!! Welcome with Aloha to our beautiful islands! We hope that your move went smoothly, and your furniture arrived unscathed. We are grateful for your feedback, and are pleased to have been at your service. It was a pleasure having you, and we look forward to another visit soon, maybe even a polo match with us out at Hawaii Polo Club (since you're officially a kama'aina!)

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

First time to stay at the Equus Hotel, but, it won't be the last. Really enjoyed the local Hawaiian atmosphere. The staff was terrific. Great happy hours on Thurs and Friday. The hotel room was very nice. It's a great location with Ala Moana Shopping Center in the next block; the beach a short walk the other way. Local bus stop available as well. Plus, rental car places a block away. Couldn't ask for a better location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Worlldtraveler1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Worlldtraveler1,

Big Mahalos for your kind review. We appreciate the time you took to provide detailed feedback, and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. We are happy to have made your first visit a memorable one, and would like to welcome you to our Equus Ohana. We look forward to many future visits with you!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

i stayed here for 2 nights in june 2013 & would definitely recommend it to anyone who wants to be near Waikiki beach but avoid the big busy resort hotels. The Equus is just a couple of blocks from the beach, along the main street with bus routes & shopping. It's a block up from the waterfront, so does not have a view (well, just a view of the other buildings). The Equus is small & nicely decorated; my room was spacious & included a balcony; good wireless internet. The appliances are modern, they have Keurig coffee makers with a selection of teas & coffees. All the staff I met were very friendly & helpful.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 16, 2013

Brenda M,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay! We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed our location, and we too appreciate being out of the hustle and bustle of central Waikiki. It is great to share such information with fellow travelers, that we are easily accessible, and in walking distance of central Waikiki and its beaches, or you can easily go west to tour Ala Moana shopping center, and its beautiful beach park if you are looking for a quiet escape.

It is great to hear that the room and decor were to your liking. We appreciate the kind comments, and we look forward to hosting you again on your return to Waikiki!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah @equushotel.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews