We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay for a day while dad's house being cleaned”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Honolulu, Hawaii
1 review
“Stay for a day while dad's house being cleaned”
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Hotel is decent for a couple on vacation probably with a room that has 1 bed. We had 2 doubles. The room was very small but we managed to fit a playpen along with all our luggage and items my dad had when he was discharged from the hospital.

Cleanliness: Unfortunately my 16 month old was missing a shoe and a ball. I found them under the bed. Under the beds and behind the furniture was a bunch of dust bunnies. Vacuuming regularly is highly recommended.

Location is fine: Walking distance to Ala Moana beach and shopping center and also to Waikiki. Central to pretty much anywhere if driving.

Room Tip: Do not book here if you are traveling with disabled people. No elevators from parking to check in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank sikkusu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2013
sikkusu,

Mahalo for your review, and thank you for choosing to stay at The Equus Hotel. We are happy to hear that you and your father were able to find the location convenient, which is especially important for a recovery. We are sorry to hear that you had a difficult time with our entry, and apologize for this. We are happy to assist in any way with our Bellman who is posted at the entry. However, if this is still an inconvenience to you, we can always find accommodations at our sister property.

Thank you for providing us with feedback on our housekeeping. I assure you this is not a regular occurrence. We have addressed the matter with our staff, and will be sure to provide the highest quality in service and cleanliness in the future. We hope that we will enjoy your company again soon.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    466
    174
    69
    45
See reviews for
263
557
181
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Koloa, Hawaii
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2013

My wife and I were on Oahu for one day, visiting from neighboring Kauai. We weren't there for the beaches, so I can't even attest to the location of the hotel to Waikiki beach. It didn't seem far though- but was definitely not right NEXT to the water. We could walk to some good restaurants and to the Ala Moana Mall. We really liked the room. The bed was a little on the soft side, but very comfortable. The bathrooms were definitely renovated not too long ago and were very nice.
I was concerned about the street noise upon check in, but I didn't even hear it once it was time to sleep. Best night sleep in a long time! My only qualm was that we reserved a "Standard King" room but only had a Queen bed in our room. It didn't bother us too much, though.

Room Tip: I would try for a higher up room to be further from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank SuperDrDavey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
SuperDrDavey,

Mahalo for your review. We appreciate you selecting The Equus Hotel for your visit to Oahu. It is a pleasure to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and were able to relax and recharge before heading back home. We appreciate your feedback, and look forward to hosting you again the next time you visit. Please let us know when you return, and we can give you some great information about our location, and the fun things to do on the upper west side of Waikiki.

With Aloha,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Katoomba, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Don't be deceived by the enthusiastic welcome by Puka at Reception. My requested booking for a harbour view in Moana Tower ( had paid additional for this to occur) was disputed by Puka who was too lazy to refer back to confirmation sent to me by Clifton which was documented on computer so was allocated Room# 607 with a view into another adjoining building!!Whats more Puka was loose with the truth, as according to Clinton, Puka stated that I was happy in #607 which was far from the truth!! Following much discord with other Reception staff, when finally Clinton came on duty for late shift, he in fact confirmed that there had been a room reserved for me in the Tower but at such a late hour declined as too much of an effort to move as it was only an overnight stay BUT it left a bad taste!!! Room # 607 was a refurbished older style motel type off a covered walkway along the internal side of the building, which had been updated. The room was spacious, with American style colonial décor- pleasant décor, furnishing. Had a balcony with a side view of Alamoana Blvd which had constant traffic noise. On arrival shower recess floor was covered in a "white substance' ?? cleaning agent! where was the quality control?? When I eventually found the maid it was rectified quickly. That aside it was a pleasant ( don't know about being ';boutique")place to stay in close proximity to shopping mall, short distance to beach and other attractions. Poor WIFI reception. It is a pity that on this occasion the likes of Puka marred the overall experience. Clinton was so efficient and helpful.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christine K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
Christine K,

Thank you for your review, and taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate every opportunity to improve our services, and will look into each complaint and address them with sincerity.

We would first like to apologize that you had such a misunderstanding with Puka, as he is regularly one of our star employees, and is often a favorite among our guests. It is unfortunate that this had to upset your experience, which I assure you is not a regular occurrence. As you were checking in to the Marina Tower Waikiki, which is a separate Hotel from the Equus, although they share a guest service desk for checkin.

The Marina Tower Waikiki is an extended stay property with kitchenettes and is geared more toward longer term guests- which prefer the privacy of the four rooms per floor, and the guest service desk in an adjacent building. We apologize that your reservation was unclear, and we should have done better to correct this misunderstanding.

Puka believed he was assisting in the best way possible, as often many guests prefer the Equus guest rooms, as they are newly renovated. If he could not get you into the Marina Tower Waikiki, naturally he tried to do his best to find you a suitable alternative. We apologize that it was not to your liking, and would love to offer you another visit, so that we might correct any false impressions from your first visit. Please contact me directly with any further comments or concerns.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed June 24, 2013

me and my wife stayed on the 6 floor and we wanted to give a big thanks to Linelle who serviced our room through out out stay. she went above and beyond and most of all out of her way to fulfill our request even though we were checking out that very same day. Also Thank you Linelle for leaving special notes saying have a great day. We will be returning.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank happypeple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
happypeple,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay. It was a pleasure hosting you, and Linelle is happy to have made such an impact on your visit. She speaks of you both with fond memories, and thanks you for your efforts to share your experience. We hope to have you visit us soon, so that we might enjoy the pleasure of your company again.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon City, Oregon
1 review
Reviewed June 20, 2013

Our first trip to hawaii stayed at The Equus Hotel. Awesome location its next to the mall, also by ala moana park. would stay there again when we go back no doubt..Great staff especially Linelle thank you for your generosity and hospitality..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FrizzyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
FrizzyT,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time with us, and our location was convenient for you. We will be sure to thank Linelle on your behalf. We hope that you will allow us to host you on your next visit, and welcome you into our Equus Ohana.

Mahalo Nui Loa,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, VA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Quaint hotel with wonderful, friendly, accommodating staff. It started with Keo, who was the Bellman who after performing his duties gave us recommendations for dinner & things to see within walking distance in the area. He was so kind. The next morning when we stepped off the elevator we were greeted with the most welcoming "aloha" with a beautiful smile from Robin at the front desk. When we called the front desk, you could still hear her smile in her greeting. Upon checkout, Robin was very accommodating to hold our luggage after checkout, while we grabbed a quick breakfast. I would highly recommend this hotel. The rooms are nicely decorated with the wood from the island and the chairs are a bit taller in height for those who dislike sitting in low sitting chairs. The table is also in island wood. Very quaint boutique hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MizDag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 27, 2013
MizDag,

Big Mahalos for your kind review of our property. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and that we were able to accommodate your needs. We will pass along your kind remarks to our team, especially Ms. Rene and Keo, they will be thrilled to hear from you! We hope to have you back soon, and welcome you into our Equus Ohana!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Britishcolumbia
1 review
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Very friendly staff. Friendly atmosphere, close to shopping, and a short walk to the beaches. Staff was very knowledgeable about the area, and advised us on places of interest to check out. I would visit this place again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toagira
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, June 13, 2013
Toagira,

Mahalo for your kind comments. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your time in Hawai'i and that we could assist you in making the most of your trip. We hope it was a memorable one, and that you will allow us to host you again upon your return. Big Mahalos from the Equus Ohana!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
436 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#20 of 84 in Honolulu
1,576 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,331 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing