We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family Getaway”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
“Family Getaway”
Reviewed March 22, 2013

Loved our stay at the Equus Hotel! Our room was clean and well maintained. It is located near Ala Moana Mall and beach which made entertaining very convenient. We thank Mukai, Inc. for finding us this Fab hotel at great price, with complementary breakfast. The staff was so helpful and truly represented the Spirit of Aloha ...shout out to Puka!!!!

Room Tip: Room has a/c and is quiet considering how close you are to Waikiki strip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breezee M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,433 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    696
    452
    173
    68
    44
See reviews for
254
543
178
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Pago Pago, American Samoa
1 review
Reviewed March 18, 2013

This is my 2nd stay at the Equus Hotel and something brought me back, thats the hospitality of the staff. Appreciates the attitude at the bell desk helping with a smile all the time, the front desk staff always answering and coping with requests, and the housekeeping staff keeping the room oh so clean. Thanks to Linelle for the aloha and fresh juice from the get go and the follow ups, great attitude.

Room Tip: Excellent for business travelers, close to eateries, to convention center, to Ala Moana...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faletoa U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
1 review
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The concierge, Linelle's charm is only exceeded by her superior customer service. The rooms were clean and inviting.. can not miss the hotels cocktail nights where you can mix with the staff and fellow guests in the lobby. I traveled with 3 children, 1 with a disability that requires a wheel chair for long walks. Even tho the hotel has stairs to the foyer the staff did not hesitate in helping me carry her to the foyer.. rooms were large enough for a family of 4.The hotel is positioned in a safe location and is close to major shopping outlets and restaurants.Have to also mention a young gentleman named Justin who was pleasantly helpful during our stay.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank antoinete m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 13, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the equus hotel for awhile. When we checked in there Bellsman Keo helped us with our luggage and we got a shell lei. We where then given a glass of chilled juice from Linelle who introduced herself as there concierge. She was very nice and polite. What we were getting tired of was waiting to check in. The clerk at the front desk name yoshe was more concerned answering the phone then helping the guest to check in. He had a line of people waiting. Thank you soooo much to Linelle who took it upon herself to invite me and my husband and the other group of people that was waiting to there lobby area to have a seat and to feel free to ask her any questions that will make our stay more memorable and comfortable. Please work on your front desk clerks thats why i rated service a 1.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank canadastheway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I had a great time in hawaii missing all the aloha very friendly people. What i liked most was our concierge lineele.lineele she made my stay very welcome. She had a great attitude towards me and others i just want to say thank you for everything.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank color05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

I liked my room. It was Beautiful. I liked the fact that they have a concierge Linwood who helped with my stay and my planning of the week. I will be returning soon. Squid nice lobby area. The Front desk needs to speed up there check in when its time to check in.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank markandjan167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Very friendly, helpful staff, especially Linelle during the free happy hour Thurs/Fri. Renovated rooms have a fridge to save on meals if you want, lots of fresh airflow with the window open, and great air conditioning when shut. Bring earplugs first few nights, lots of traffic along main Blvd. Parking is very tight under the hotel if you have a large rental car, and expensive at $20 a day.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stexve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 300 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,872 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#25 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 548 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,247 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing