We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Was just fine”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We were greeted with a cold glass each of pineapple juice, allowed a 4 hour early check-in and given a choice of rooms. Our queen room was clean and comfortable. Couldn't get TV to work and notified front desk. Maintenance was there inside of 5 minutes and got it going. (actually just a loose plug). Staff was friendly and helpful. Yoshi at front desk greeted us every morning when we came down to get our breakfast vouchers, gave helpful advice on beach, shuttle, etc. Yoshi also handed out beach towels...that was a nice little perk. Kika also asked if things were ok and told us to let her know if there was anything she could do. Renee was also nice.....Hey, Nice folks....what can I say? We thought it was Just Fine, thank you....D & T

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kymac_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,571)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

934 - 940 of 1,571 reviews

Reviewed February 27, 2013

The Equus gets 2 thumbs up. My room was great and most of all Linelle's customer service was beyond met. I will refer to my friends and family about this hotel. Much Mahalo Linelle. Outstanding job. One of a kind person.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Danandlauri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2013

we purchased a decoration paddle in big island and it is kinda oversize, so we had a problem to checked it in. The front dest manager, Rene, is really helpful and helped us find a cardboard. Although it is not completely fit, it is still works.
The room is quite clean and the location is good too. Personally, I dont like crowded beach such as Waikiki, this hotel is really close to ala moana beach park which is a cozy beach in comparison with waikiki. Walking distance to ala moana mall too!
Anyway, it is good!
Enjoy your stay in hawaii! Aloha!

Room Tip: dont stay at lower level, the water tube broke before the night we left this hotel, we have to take...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank winter913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2013

I traveled with a group of 6 people. Friday evenings were the best. Linelle is very knowledgeable and is very good with the guest. I was amazed on how she was able to entertain everyone in the lobby area and have the time and patience to help every single gust. Including me. She is such a people person its hard to come across people like that. Keep up the excellent job Linelle. Hats off to you. Thank you.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank floridaguy9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I had a great stay at the Equus. Great job To Linelle who helped us with our planning and venturing around the island. We will be returning. The wine was great and so was the atmosphere. The music in the background suits the lobby area.

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stevebanana767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

I liked a lot of things about this hotel. Excellent location and close to everything. Car rentals, ABC Store, Beach, other hotels and restaurants. Older, dated hotel and room was similar to what you'd expect in Europe, i.e.being efficiently laid out without a lot of extra elbow room. Since we wander and try to discover new things when we travel, we do not spend a lot of time in the room itself.

The staff is very helpful and accomodating and make any negatives easier to accept. All in all a good value for the location. The bed was very comfortable and the fridge in the room had a freezer that you can actually utilize.

The only downsides for my wife and me, was the lack of a larger dresser/chest of drawers for our clothing and the noise from the street. Because it is an older hotel, the balcony doors do not block out the noise. The last night, I used earplugs and slept well. Because Hawaii is 5 hours behind the East Coast, I assume that everyone goes to work early and subsequently, the street noise starts early. My wife is a sound sleeper, so it didn't bother her as much as it did me.

If you want to keep your expenses down, but still be well located, Equus is a good choice. The staff is very friendly and more accomodating to your needs than some very expensive properties that we have stayed at. As strange as it sounds, if you bring some inexpensive earplugs along, you can enjoy a good nights sleep and not be awakened by scooters and traffic noise.

Room Tip: Try to stay on the opposite side from the Ala Moana intersection where the ABC store is located. (I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rgpieper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Equus hotel was just the perfect fit for us! Linelle was awesome! She made us feel very welcome!! Justin made us laugh everyday, wonderful personality and Yoshi was very helpful. Room was clean, perfect location, walking distance, close to everything!
Andy and Dawn

  • Stayed: February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connoranderson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
0.2 mi away
Aqua Palms Waikiki
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,926 reviews
0.8 mi away
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#11 of 84 in Honolulu
740 reviews
0.8 mi away
Aqua Oasis
Aqua Oasis
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
Queen Kapiolani Hotel
#61 of 84 in Honolulu
1,558 reviews
0.6 mi away
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
Waikiki Gateway Hotel
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
367 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#46 of 84 in Honolulu
1,456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range: $144 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Equus Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing