We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steps, Unmade beds and roadworks”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Honolulu
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Steps, Unmade beds and roadworks”
Reviewed September 23, 2012

It was a bit stressful that the taxi driver took fifteen minutes to find the hotel, then found that I had to climb 20 steps to rec eption with two, 25Kg suitcases, but got there eventually.
The room was small and had a pil]e of dirty towels on a unit so moved to a new similar sized room on the fl;oor above. The balcony was ugly. noisy and uncomfortable.
The bed though was so comfortable. Room service was poor and the bed was made only once in three days and the linen was not changed. We thought we had made a saving when we booked this hotel at around £85 a night but there was no saving, it wasn't worth even that. All in all OK but only just.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank eldobkram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
eldobkram,

Thank you for your review. We are disappointed to hear that you had such trouble getting to our hotel. We do have a single flight of stairs to ascend upon arrival, however we have a bellman to assist with luggage, and several staff members ready and willing to assist after hours.

I am sorry to hear that our balcony was not up to standard, however we are located in the center of a big city, and although we are steps from the beach, road noise is a factor when out on your balcony. Luckily, we have very quite a/c systems so that when indoors, you can experience a peaceful night of sleep.

Our housekeeping service is top notch, and services rooms daily, unless the DND sign is on the door. If this is so, they will not interrupt you, and will return again later. However if this is not removed, they will not enter your room in order to respect your request for privacy. As we are,a GREEN hotel, we make it a point to change our linens every third night, unless otherwise requested by our guests. This is an effort to save on gallons of water and detergent that pollute our planet, and create unnecessary waste. This is a powerful issue for Hawaii and protecting the beauty that our guests come to visit.

I hope that you are able to understand our position, and we apologize for any inconvenience you may have encountered. Our staff is more than happy to accommodate any requests, and in the future, do not hesitate to ask any of them for assistance. We hope that you will return again soon, and experience the hospitality we are so proud to provide.

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    466
    174
    69
    45
See reviews for
263
557
181
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012 via mobile

Pros: The hotel is walking distance from the beach, prices are reasonable, and the staff is friendly, AC in the rooms, small balcony for each floor. VERY CLOSE to enterprise car rental.


Cons: no view to the ocean (it's blocked by bigger hotels buildings), the rooms are a bit old (which doesn't bother me), abd NOT CLEAN (the first day, I found hair everywhere in the bathroom), the freg is not connected to the power and smells very bad.

Summary: go there only if you want to save money, otherwise I would pay up to 50% more and get a better place.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ali A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
equusmgmt, General Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, October 24, 2012
Ali A,

Mahalo for taking the time to review your stay with us. We apologize that you were disappointed with the lack of views at Equus Hotel. However, our property is only 10 stories, therefore we only promote views for our higher floor deluxe rooms. We do provide stunning panoramic views at our sister property, Marina Tower Waikiki. If this is what you are looking for, then I suggest booking Marina Tower Waikiki in the future.

Equus Hotel prides itself on being a family run, independent hotel with outstanding customer service and stylish boutique rooms. I understand that you were checked into a room incorrectly initially, and we apologize for this, however we corrected the matter immediately. It is not common practice to have a guest see an unprepared room, which would explain the fridge defrosting and it's general untidy nature. However, I assure you that these mistakes are not made often, and we do our best to correct the issue immediately when they are.

I hope that you can understand our situation regarding your room, and will give us an opportunity in the future to show you how lovely our rooms, housekeeping and service really are. Mahalo for choosing to stay with us, please contact us upon your return, and we will make ensure a memorable experience.


With Aloha,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed September 6, 2012

No one seemed to know of this hotel. Even the driver who met us at th airport had to call his office for it's location.
Upon arrival, we had to be dropped in front of another building as there is no drive for the driver to pull into in front of the hotel. After carrying our baggage up two flights of stairs, the check in area is small and our reception (we were early) was not too friendly.
We left our bags and went sightseeing returning later to a more reasonable reception, which was good because we were quite worried by now as to what we had booked.
After checking in we were helped with our bags to the building next door. Even though the young man did not like heights he managed to overcome them to show us our room on the 39th floor. This elevation was useful as the location has a busy road (Ala Moana Blvd) running alongside it.
The views were splendid and the room very comfortable with a safe and all the amenities to prepare food if you wished. There is also security on the front door.
The location is within walking distance of the Ala Moana Mall and there are plenty of services in the surrounding areas: restaurants, coffee shops and ABC stores.
Connection to the Internet is easy. There is no restaurant. There is a small lounge adjacent to the reception with toilet facilities. We used these to change prior to traveling to the airport.

Room Tip: If you have no problems with heights, rooms higher up command the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank StewLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
StewLee,

Mahalo for such a detailed description of your stay with us. We are surprised to hear that you had a muddled first impression, however are pleased that we were able to make this up to you. We are an independent, family run hotel, and strive to provide outstanding service and amenities. Our staff is one of a kind, and our aim is to make you feel at home, and experience the aloha of Hawaii. We are happy to have ended with a good impression, and hope that you will join us again in the future.

Many Mahalos,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san francisco california
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Upon Check in at this hotel we were warmly greeted by a young man at the front desk. Check in was a breeze. From the street this property is a hidden gem. You walk up a short stairway alongside a waterfall only to arrive at a quaint and cozy front desk area.

When we arrived at our room were were happy to find all of the amenities to make our stay more comfortable and had a lanai that gay us a small glimpse of the beach. Our room was also equipped with a small mini refrigerator which was perfect to store a couple of snack and chill our water bottles. Wifi was also free!

I needed some additional amenities and spoke on different occasions with Rene and Puka and both were more than happy to help. Rene works in the front office but also helps with the front desk and Puka I believe works the night shift. They are both perfect examples of demonstrating the spirit of Aloha and making us feel welcome on the island.

This property is definitely within walking distance to the beach, mall and close to the epicenter of where all the fun is in Waikiki.

Definitely recommend this property especially if you are on a budget as we were.

Mahalo Equus Hotel!!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Lanai (balcony) and be sure to meet Rene she is absolutely wonderful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank eaquino1265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
eaquino 1265,

Many mahalos for taking the time to review your stay in such detail. We are pleased that you gave us the opportunity to be a part of your experience. Our front desk staff is filled with knowledge and aloha, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of this, as well as the many other amenities. We will pass along your gracious comments to Rene and Puka, as I am sure they enjoyed your company during your stay. It was a pleasure to have you, and we look forward to your return!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah @equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
balitmore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

First I was flying to Hawaii to meet my frist granddaughter last minute my Mother decided she wanted to come so she could meet her great grand child . I emailed the Equus and they emailed me back right away and added a roll away bed And added in the email what a great thing it was that my mother could join us.. We arrived early we were checked right in great with amazing fruit drinks. The lady at the front desk was a RAY OF SUNSHINE. I think her Name is Rene. Every time i went into lobby i was greeted with a beautiful smile. We didn't use the parking garage but i needed a space for one night for my son's car so we could all travel together to paradise cove. Went in and my Ray of Sunshine said not problem gave me the spot. And when i returned the key She remembered where i was going and asked how it was. To me that is perfect customer service ... Now for the room Clean everything we needed . Our cleaning staff was so nice Fely and Grace. There wasn't one person on staff that wasn't so sweet I can guarantee that next June when we fly our for my Granddaughters first Birthday I will be staying here... One more note I was traveling with my mother who is a Senior and my 12 year old daughter and not once did i not feel safe.. And again that is was very important. All i can say is thank you Staff of Equus marine towers for an amazing stay and experiences..This was a very special trip for my family I got to meet my perfect new grand baby but the hotel i was staying in remembered why my family was there and made our stay perfect...
Amy Giunta

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank amy2344
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Aloha Amy!

Many mahalos for choosing to stay with The Equus Hotel for such a special occasion. We are pleased to hear that your trip was a success and that the family was able to reunite, and visit its newest member. It is a pleasure to have made this trip a memorable one, and we will be sure to recognize our staff for such superb service. As a small family hotel, we strive to create an atmosphere of aloha, and make our guests Ohana, which you and your family certainly are. Please be sure to let us know when your next trip will be and we can prepare for your return!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
Reviewed August 21, 2012

Staff is very helpful. Even though the lobby is small, it is cozy. The room is clean and modern. The location is perfect! It is close to shopping center and beach! It also offers breakfast voucher if you e stay in duxlue room. Juice will be provided upon arrive and red wine will be offered free in lobby very Monday and thursday. It will be better to buy ocean view room. I will recommend students to stay in this Hotel if your budget is tight! The downside of hotel is lacking of restaurant. If they can offer wifi in room that it will be better!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackwang1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Jackwang 1988,

Mahalo for staying with us, and taking the time to share your comments. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us, and you were able to take advantage of the guest receptions, breakfast vouchers and great location.

We have recently upgraded our deluxe and executive rooms to include wifi, however Ethernet is still available if needed. We understand that with all the devices and new technologies, plugging in is not always an option. Unfortunately, due to our small size, we do not have space for a restaurant, however we are surrounded by such an amazing selection, there is plenty else to choose from!

We hope that you will return to Hawaii in the future, and we look forward to seeing you again soon!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
Mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 19, 2012 via mobile

Stayed just one night in a tower room with ocean view. We were put on the 40th floor with a magnificent view. The room was very clean, well furnished and the bed very comfortable. The staff was helpful, in and out parking convenient, and we even received vouchers for breakfast at a nearby restaurant. And all for a very reasonable price. Would definitely stay there again.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank EastwestUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
equusmgmt, Guest Relations Manager at The Equus Hotel, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
EastwestUSA,

Many mahalos for your review. It is great to hear that you enjoyed such a spectacular evening, and were able to appreciate the lovely views from our 40th floor units. As an independent boutique, we strive to make your experience effortless and enjoyable, and are glad we could take part in your Hawai'i experience. Please think of us upon your return to Waikiki!

Mahalo,

Mariah Dailey
mariah@equushotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
437 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,577 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,331 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing