We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable Hotel with free breakfast and close to amenities”
Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #27 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Vancouver, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Affordable Hotel with free breakfast and close to amenities”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

Free breakfast with mixed fruit included and free wired internet access makes it easy to decide to stay in this hotel.Sergia was so quick on serving the breakfast and adding more servings when it is all consumed. Also free newspaper every day.
The Hotel is also close to the biggest outdoor shopping center which is the Ala Moana Shopping Center and a walking distance to the beach. The pools are seldom used but it is there if needed.Equus had an option to provide remote control to gated parking if the lower parking spaces are occupied.Laundry is on the third floor of the Marina Tower.
My daughter used the hair dryer and we make use of the small fridge in the room. There is no microwave oven .

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ferdi A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,467 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    713
    466
    174
    69
    45
See reviews for
263
557
181
215
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (306)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 28, 2011

I just wanted to say, much mahalo for having us at your hotel, during the time our hale was being treated for termites.. My daughter in laws Aunty Rene Kahumoku, hooked us up to a room there, and we so enjoyed the gracious hospitality she had given us, as well as other hotel staff members, being just as hospitable, we loved it.. We will certainly tell others of our stay there, once more mahalo nui loa.

Fern Cardenas

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalehuamakanoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

The Equus Hotel is a basis hotel to say the least. The room was satisfactory. A bed, refrigerator, phone,and hair dryer. Very little storage space for clothing if you are staying more than a week. A place to lay your head at night and not pay the beach front prices. Not many amenities like the beach front properties. A "Light" continental breakfast is served daily
Location fair to good, walking is no problem for my wife and I.
Location was four blocks from the beach. Two blocks to The BUS. Six blocks to the shopping mall .
Our only bad experience was road construction in front of the building during our two week stay. The orange cones came up at 7P.M. and left at 7 A.M. A rat-tat-tat all night. We got use to the noise after the third night due to our exhaustive travels on the tour buses

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank R W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tutuila, American Samoa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2011

Rene, Puka and Kika:

Thank you so much for making sure our stay at your hotel is at its best. With the rate of economy going up and prices of everything else multiplying, you've provided the perfect accommodations and services needed always with a warm and friendly tone. The professionalism attitude from the staff is just awesome. This is my fourth or fifth? visit and I always enjoy seeing your smiling faces. Housekeeping constantly checking and making sure I have enough towels, etc.(so can i have even more coffee please? lol)
Location is just perfect! Ala Moana and the Ward Center to the right and Waikiki to the left, so who's complaining?

Thanks again and please don't ever change!

ciao

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank josephinevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed August 26, 2011

First off, Puka, the receptionist was awesome. Secondly, free continental breakfast!
Third all the employees were extremely generous. I loved my stay at the Equus. I WILL be coming back again. Watch out now.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aiea, hawaii, USA
1 review
Reviewed August 25, 2011

My wife and I had an awesome time at the Equus. Thanks to Puka and Rene, I have never felt so welcomed. I would recommend this hotel to family and friends.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Puka and Rene went above and beyond to accommadate me and my family with their customer service and aloha. Cozy atmosphere, and everything is within walking distance. I would recommend this hotel. Great Staff with plenty of Aloha.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jason G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#10 of 84 in Honolulu
437 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#58 of 84 in Honolulu
1,886 reviews
Ramada Plaza Waikiki
#44 of 84 in Honolulu
1,328 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#19 of 84 in Honolulu
1,576 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#13 of 84 in Honolulu
2,331 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Travelocity, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing