We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Equus Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Equus Hotel
Ranked #26 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Yellowknife, NT, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Comfy Beds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

We stayed at the Aqua Equus Oct. 13th, 2007. After travelling all day the plush queen sized beds were most enjoyable. The continental breakfast in the morning offered tasty pastries and fresh fruit, along with coffee and juices. The only down side to the Equus were the stairs that you had to lug your luggage up to get from the parkade/street level to the lobby/elevators. The hotel is located at the marina end of the "strip" and is a fair distance from wakiki beach. And our room did not have a bathtub. Besides these minor issues I would still recommend this property.

  • Liked — The beds
  • Disliked — location
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Valings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    685
    440
    167
    66
    44
See reviews for
249
529
174
208
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
tulsa, ok
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2007

Most of these reviews are right on target. Excellent rooms and beds, without any "resort frills". You won't beat it for comfort, style and cleanliness. However if you require a rotating restuarant, piano-bar, dinner show, spa and full-hot breakfast with your hotel, then the Equus is probably not for you. Other than that it's a great room to unwind and relax for another days activities.
For those that insist on negatives.
1. The street traffic is noticeable even on the 8th floor.
2. You do have to walk to anywhere. ABC store or McDonalds is a 2 minute walk. Red Lobster and Outback Steakhouse are maybe 3 minute walks. Only because you have to wait to cross the street. I guess that's a negative? And the beaches really are a 10-15 minute walk.

If all you plan to do is hit the beach this is probably not the place for you. However, if you want 5-star comfort for a 2-star price. Equus is hard to beat.

  • Liked — The Equus understands the real purpose of a hotel room. To rest and relax!
  • Disliked — No view of anything, except the building next door
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank reddrover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2007

We stayed at the Equus for part of our Honeymoon in October. The hotel was better than expected.
PROS: Clean, central, friendly.
CONS: Noisy, there's no ramp into the hotel.
The "continental" breakfast consists of juice, fruit, muffins and pastries. The room we received was very noisy, not great for sleeping, after complaining they moved us next door to Waikiki Marina. Great service tho!

  • Liked — It's near the Aloa Mona shopping centre.
  • Disliked — The noise
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank esnam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Altadena
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2007

This was our first time stayinig in a hotel on Oahu since my husband was born and raised there (and family is still there). It took a bit of convincing and since The Equus seemed nice with such a great price, we booked and am SO glad we did.

The room itself is on the small side but still comfortable. The bed was great with nice bedding (I even liked the faux Hawaiian quilt on the bed!). Everything was clean, especially the bathroom which is what concerned me the most about this "budget" hotel...but it was very nice and extremely clean. The free wireless internet connection was nice since we were both on working vacations. We only took advantage of the free continental breakfast on the day that we left but it was a nice little spread.

The only thing we could have used in the room was a little table (either a small dining table or even a desk) but no biggie, we ate and used our laptops in bed :)

The cons of this hotel are what have been mentioned on TA before, the slow elevator and the parking. For such a great price, we didn't really mind the slow elevator...it does take a few extra minutes but it's not that big of a deal. The parking lot is terrible though, we always hoped that we wouldn't get hit on the way in/out....it's a circular path with cars going both directions on a one-lane path. Parking was an additional $18/day.

We would definitely book at The Equus again in the future!

  • Liked — comfy bed, free wireless internet
  • Disliked — elevator, parking
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank ipolani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2007

Stayed at the Equus. Local shopping Centre very handy. Service was great. Rooms even better! Slept on a king size bed. Would go back in no time!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tashie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dsh8
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2007

Last month I stayed in Hawaii on business...I wanted to stay in Waikiki but didn't want a hotel full of college students on summer break. The Equus was extremely inexpensive, and I'm always up for trying different hotels, so I originally only got my reservation for a couple days. I ended up extending it for two additional weeks. Flat-screen plasma TV's in some of the rooms, the only place I found for the price with a free continental breakfast; it was really a great place to stay. The employees there were really great to me, and it seemed like there was always someone polishing the brass steps at the front of the hotel. Great place...I'd go back there again whether I'm traveling again for business, or for vacation.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank dsh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2007

We stayed at the Equus for a week in August and I would definitely stay there again. The rooms were clean, it was a pretty good location and value for money. Like other posters have said it is not a well-known location so make sure you have the address with you to find it. We just had to walk across the road to another hotel to get the tour buses so it was fine.
THE PROS - The staff were friendly - particularly the girl at the front desk whose name I can't remember - and let my sister check in early after she arrived feeling really sick. Also our air-con broke down one day and they fixed it right away. The room was nicely renovated and clean. It had the most comfortable beds and pillows we've ever slept on. The TV had about 40 channels. there's an internet computer in the lobby that just cost a few dollars to use. It was 5 minutes walk to Ala Moana shopping centre although a bit longer into Waikiki. there's an ABC shop on the corner and a McDonalds nearby as well as a few restaurants.

CONS - I agree with another poster that they could try to clean their rooms faster - we got back some days at about 4pm and our room still hadn't been done but that was a minor irritation. There was a bit of noise but we had the air-con on so that drowned it out. On the first morning we were there some kids were diving in the pool at about 6am but they were quickly told to stop. Also the toilets sound like airline toilets when they flush so you hear the neighbouring rooms flushing but you get used to it. lol. We had a room right down the hall from the check-in counter so I can't comment on the lift because we didn't use it. The only other downside I can think of is that we had to go to the Aqua property next door to do our laundry but housekeeping was using all the washers and dryers to do the sheets and towels so they should really have separate facilities for guests.
Apart from that it was a great stay and we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank rosemaryo23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Coconut Waikiki Hotel
#9 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Shoreline Hotel Waikiki
#24 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,428 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#55 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,863 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Aqua Oasis
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
Vive Hotel Waikiki
#12 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Equus Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Equus Hotel

Property: The Equus Hotel
Address: 1696 Ala Moana Blvd, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-1460
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu > Waikiki
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Honolulu
#6 Business Hotel in Honolulu
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
#23 Romantic Hotel in Honolulu
#24 Family Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Equus Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Equus is a charming boutique hotel located on Waikiki's "Upper West Side" where you will find an abundance of restaurants, easy access to one of the world's largest shopping malls, a quick stroll to the beach and gorgeous sunset views. The hotel guestrooms are warm and contemporary, keeping true to the hotel's equestrian theme with Ralph Lauren-inspired touches throughout. An intimate lobby and lanai offer a dipping pool, gazebo and a weekly cocktail reception.All guestrooms are appointed with cozy pillow-top beds, flat screen TVs, refrigerator with freezer, Keurig coffee maker with organic coffee, and complimentary full property WiFi. Portable printers can be delivered for those on business. Best of all, the friendly staff offers the kind of personal assistance delivered with Aloha that only a small, family-run hotel can offer. IMPORTANT NOTES: *Stairway Access Only *Valet Parking Only $25/night *Provide Arrival Time - for luggage assistance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Equus Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Equus Hotel And Marina Tower
Equus An Aqua Boutique Hotel
The Equus Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing