We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Hidden Gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Diamond Head Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diamond Head Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

The Diamond Head Beach Hotel is a hidden gem on Oahu's Gold Coast. It is very conveniently located, with access to Waikiki and other amenities, but is in a quiet neighborhood. There is an area in the back where you have access to ocean swimming and surfing or you can just relax and watch the surfers, sailboats and the beautiful sunsets. My wife and I have spent the month of February there for the past five years and we intend to return as long as we are able. I have recommended it to several friends and I highly recommend it to anyone who reads this.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    52
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
60
43
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Marin County, CA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2011

My wife and I and our 2 children were there for the week between Christmas and New Years 2010. The unit was perfect - clean, well-stocked (including sand toys and beach towsls), and spacious. For us, the location is great, as we're members of the Outrigger Canoe Club, which is only a couple doors down. It's close enough to town but out of the hustle and bustle of Waikiki. Also, we accidentally locked ourselves out of our room after hours and the staff promptly headed over to let us in.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mattnpaige
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corona del Mar, California
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Have been coming since late '60s!! Love the quiet location. Can walk to Waikiki.
Already booked Thanksgiving '11 for the family...our 3rd at DBH. Twin boys age 5 love the access to the beach, aquarium and Kapiolani park. The 2 bedroom well stocked for the family. Agent Sarra Khan most helpful and accomodating.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kkc2616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mercer Island, Washington
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2010

My wife and I try to stay at the DHBH at least once a year. The Ohana Beach Rentals company has done a good job since taking over in 2009. Lisi Gau and Sarra Khan are very capable: attentive and knowledgeable.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jsager1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antananarivo, Madagascar
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2010

The one bedroom unit was clean and nicely furnished with a well-equipped kitchen. Wonderful views of the ocean, Diamond Head and Kapoliani Park. Good swimming and snorkeling, with other outdoor activities nearby. Sarra Kahn, with Ohana Beach Rentals Hawaii, was very helpful and friendly. Good value for the location, and much more tranquil than Waikiki.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tanakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dahlgren, Virginia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2010

My stay at Diamon head Beach Hotel was fantastic. The entire staff.....Lisy Gau, Sarra Khan and all the others that I had the pleasure of speaking too were extemely professional and exceptionally wonderful. The units at Diamond Head are top notch and I would match them with any of the fancy hotels on Waikiki. I was on business travel but will definately work with them next year when my entire family facations in Honolulu. Thank you OBR for a great visit.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rnlawson90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Everett, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2010

Would highly recommend staying here as long as you rent through Ohana Beach Rentals. Lisy Gau was awesome and took care of everything. We rented the Oceanfront 1 Bedroom. It was on the 12th floor and we even had a parking spot. We took my Mom to Hawaii to celebrate her 90th birthday. She used to live just 4 buildings down and so we knew the area and wanted to stay in the area, but we also knew that we wanted to be right on the ocean and needed a kitchen. If you stay here you need to stay on the upper floors or your view will be limited. Keep in mind there is no pool, but you do have the ocean close by. There is a seawall so you cannot go in right in front of the hotel, but there is a stairs close by and a great place to step into the ocean for a nice swim. If you need a sandy beach, the Kaimana beach is a short walk.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Malika52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#16 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 1,077 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Modern Honolulu
#2 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 3,257 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#3 of 83 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 stars 2,243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Beach Hotel

Property: Diamond Head Beach Hotel
Address: 2947 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4655
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Diamond Head Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diamond Head Beach Hotel is a vacation treasure that lets you discover the beauty of Waikiki as you’ve never seen located on the beach in Hawaii’s Gold Coast which is secluded from the traffic and the bustle of Waikiki. This oceanfront vacation property is just walking distance from the Waikiki strip and the best beaches on the Oahu South shore. For once in your life, enjoy an enchanting Hawaiian Vacation with ocean front accommodations, picture-perfect views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean and unrivaled tranquility. Come see why the Diamond Head Beach Hotel welcomes back returning guests year after year. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Beach Honolulu
Hotel Diamond Head Beach
Diamond Head Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing