We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome Location!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Head Beach Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Diamond Head Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Awesome Location!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Our last visit to Oahu was short and sweet…as was our stay at the lovely Diamond Head Beach Hotel. We got to stay in the Pikake Suite, and the 12th floor ocean view from the balcony was simply amazing! The room was clean and the staff there were very friendly and helpful, not to mention a great price too :) Just outside of Waikiki, the area is very quiet..if you've ever been to Waikiki at night, you'll know that's a very good thing! Will definitely be back again soon…hopefully longer this time, LOL

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    53
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
60
44
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

I recently completed my tour with the military in Hawaii and have been renting a condo at the Diamond Beach Hotel from Ohana Beach Rentals Hawaii while we look for a permanent residence. This condo hotel has been perfect for our needs and in a great location. There is swimming, surfing and snorkeling right out front. There is also a nice lawn where the kids can play which faces the ocean and is a killer place to watch the sunset. We even saw turtles swimming in the water on a regular basis. It is a perfect distance from Waikiki for a relaxing environment, yet a short walk down the beach or through the park to get to Waikiki nightlife and restaurants. There isn't much parking in the building, but plenty across the street and around the park. The staff is friendly and helpful and the location is quiet and beautiful. I'm attaching some of our pictures so you can see for yourself. We are sad to have to leave but highly recommend it to anyone visiting Waikiki.

Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2014

Just returned from a week at the Diamond Head Beach Hotel, a hotel/condo building on the "Gold Coast" of Oahu.

We've read many of the other reviews and think that some people haven't understood what they signed up for. This is NOT a "Hotel" in the normal sense of the term. It is a condo that has many rental units in it.

The bad news: You get no housecleaning, no 'sheet turrndowns' or mints on your pillow, no room service, no front desk or concierge service, etc... Yes, you'll probably use the same sheets the entire stay unless you change them yourselves. No pool. No sandy beach if that's what you really want. This building is smooshed between two other buildings on either side. The unit we had (603-Tierra) had no water view and side view of Diamond Head. There is no parking but you can usually find metered parking on the street across from the building.

The good news:
1) You are on the Gold Coast of O'ahu! You are steps away from great snorkeling, swimming and surfing! You get into the water via the seawall; a long concrete bulkhead that has been there for decades and is holding up all the condos. It is what allows for the condos to be, very literally, right on the water. So close that there isn't even a beach. The buildings are about three feet from the water separated by the seawall. The seawall has a set of stairs that you use to get into the water. Right at the bottom the snorkeling is great and gets better the farther out you go.

2) You don't go to Hawaii to stay in your room... so the view isn't a big deal. Our unit had a kitchen and we made many meals there and took them down to the front grassy area that looks right out over the water. Lovely view!

3) It was clean and ready to be used.

4) It had spare sheets, plenty of towels (both beach and bath) and a fully equipped kitchen.

5) The building is removed from the noise and tourists of Waikiki but close enough to walk. We walked into Waikiki a few times for coffee, dinners, and exercise. Lovely walk along the park that fronts the beach. Perfect location.

If you stop thinking of this place as a 'hotel' and more like being able to use a friends condo while they're gone, then you get a better idea of what it's like. It's not cheap, but the payoff is good.

The only contact we had with staff was the woman who ran the rental office. She was definitely working on "Hawaiian time" but was otherwise very helpful. Other than that there were no staff to be seen except the woman who cleans and sweeps the public areas.

Complaints: It's a bit spendy, but it is Oahu. The cleaning fee ($250) is pure robbery for a couple like us with no kids and who are very clean to begin with.

Yes, we would stay there again. Our unit (603) was great but we might try for one higher up for better views. We would also bring a "kitchen kit" of condiments that don't necessarily want to buy at Safeway... the unit only had salt and pepper, nothing else.

Overall we had a great time. I feel it helped knowing what we were getting into. It matched our expectations and we had a great time in Honolulu!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank SteveDeligan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

This place is your worst nightmare. Trash left in the rooms; food stuffs, beds unmade. The staff make you feel as though you are responsible. When I asked to have the room cleaned I was told that she was getting ready to go home for the day but she would stay and "help me" if I wanted her to. Eventually she did the responsible thing and put me in another room for the night with the plan to clean the room that I reserved by the next day. Well, the next day the room was still not ready. I had booked tours for the next day and missed my tour because I had to stay and argue about wanting a clean room to sleep in.

Bottom line - go somewhere else and deal with other companies.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Twizzly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Voorhees, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

This is my first time staying at this hotel and let me tell you, this place is a Hidden Gem! I was referred by one of my friends that is a repeat at this hotel and thank goodness I listened( based on the last poor review). I stayed on the 12th floor in a beautiful unit facing the ocean directly(loving it!). My most memorable part of the whole stay was in the lanai late at night with the hubby, looking at the beautiful night sky( was so romantic!) The unit was very clean and upgraded. I had the pleasure to meet Linda the property manager, who walked us to the unit and made us feel right at home.


The property overall seems like its well taken care of by management. The Diamond Head area is quiet and not as busy as Waikiki, so if you're looking for some place to relax and away from tons of people. This is it , you found it here!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mooloolaba, Australia
Level Contributor
195 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

One of best locations in Honolulu. Away from the noise of waikiki, and next to kapiolani park. It is quiet and the downstairs ocean area is stunningly beautiful. The waves pound on to the wall area, and you can take a ladder and swim in the ocean right there. It is also five minutes walk to the kaimana beach area.

The rooms themselves, at least what we had on the third floor, are really really old. Very few things actually worked. I could make a list but every issue was wonderful resolved by Linda, the property manager.

The rooms however have a great wind that blows through, and as such even in summer you don't need an AC.

So the place is stunning but really old. There is no front desk, so if you know honolulu, I would strongly recommend it. However, if your first time, then better to get a more serviced apartment or hotel room.

Cleaning is extra as are parking spaces.

The bus stops right there, and is really convenient. Tennis courts, bball courts, and areas to walk and swim are all right there.

Again, a perfect location, stunningly beautiful.

Recommended but as the rooms are owner maintained, it depends on which room you get.
405 is pretty good, 305 is from the 1970s

And, Linda the property manager, and Kyle, are excellent, and do their best, in a very tough situation, managing a property that needs to be refurbished.

Room Tip: High up. Diamondhead view is lovely. Make sure it is a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mystic18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Harbor, Washington
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

The penthouse on the 14th floor facing the water was one of the nicest places to stay in Honolulu!!! However, be prepared to carry your suitcase and anything else up that last flight of stairs! The lanai had a 180 view of the water . The unit had a 270 degree view including Diamond Head!! The sliding doors and windows opened wide for nice sea breezes and NO city noise! This is not a resort, nice yard, water access off the sea wall next door, we even saw a monk seal our first day. If you want a quiet homey atmosphere, this is for you

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank oaksusan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,298 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Beach Hotel

Property: Diamond Head Beach Hotel
Address: 2947 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4655
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Diamond Head Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diamond Head Beach Hotel is a vacation treasure that lets you discover the beauty of Waikiki as you’ve never seen located on the beach in Hawaii’s Gold Coast which is secluded from the traffic and the bustle of Waikiki. This oceanfront vacation property is just walking distance from the Waikiki strip and the best beaches on the Oahu South shore. For once in your life, enjoy an enchanting Hawaiian Vacation with ocean front accommodations, picture-perfect views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean and unrivaled tranquility. Come see why the Diamond Head Beach Hotel welcomes back returning guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Diamond Head Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Beach Honolulu
Hotel Diamond Head Beach
Diamond Head Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing