We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“..... enjoying the Aloha spirit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Diamond Head Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Diamond Head Beach Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“..... enjoying the Aloha spirit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

This was our second one month vacation at the Diamond Head Beach Hotel and we have already booked “our” month for next year with their friendly staff - need I say more. Perfect location within easy walking distance to Waikiki, the Aquarium, the Zoo or all the way up to Diamond Head crater. Good parking and bus transit in front of the hotel. You live waterfront with great sunning, swimming, snorkelling etc. and a nice patio to enjoy the Hawaiian sunset with a glass of wine

Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Dorte2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    53
    8
    10
    10
See reviews for
60
44
17
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2012

Our stay at Diamond Head Beach Hotel was fabulous. It is close to everything and has bus stops in front. I did rent a car and was able to park in a safe designated spot. Our room was very clean and comfortable. My boyfriend and I remarked several times that this was a great spot to stay for our first time and plan on coming back.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melissa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2012

I stayed in the "Kaimana Suite" unit 102. It was just renovated days before I checked in, and it's beautiful! The benefits of staying on the first floor are tremendous. 20 steps out my door and I'm relaxing by the ocean watching the surfers! There is no sandy beach area right out front, but there's a very nice grassy area with lawn chairs that I spent quite a bit of time at during windy days when the beach wasn't pleasant. Kaimana beach, my fave, is a short 2 min walk down the road. The building is completely secure and I was perfectly comfortable being a single female traveler. Everything in the suite is updated and modern, the bed is soooooo comfy! I loved the flat screen tvs. There's an ample storage room/closet off of the living room, which came in very handy when I had a couple friends come and visit! Decent bedroom closet as well. Room for all our suitcases plus enough hangers and space to hang our clothes. The only thing missing was a microwave, but I have heard from other visitors that none of theirs' had one either. Nice lanai off the bedroom, with a peekaboo ocean view! The building's location was perfect for what I wanted. I knew this before I came, as I had scoped out the hotel a few months prior on another trip. An awesome location for runners, as there's a very popular running path around Kapiolani park just outside. 10 mins walk to Waikiki central or up to shops/food in lower Kaimuki/Diamond Head. There's many great local places that aren't overrun with tourists!

The management is amazing with Ohana Beach Rentals, who own many of the units there. Meagan, who assisted me through booking, was exceptional! Communication is key for me, and I really felt appreciated and welcome from the moment I contacted them to even after checkout, when I received a very nice thank you email. Every question or need I had was responded to immediately. That extra touch of actually caring really shines through with them. I will definitely book again!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank midnight143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2012

We just completed another great year at the Diamond Head Beach Hotel. We have gone every February for the last six years and have already signed a lease for 2013. It's location on the Gold Coast is the best. It is close to Waikiki but without the hustle and bustle. At night, with the windows open, it is very quiet. Close by are bus stops, Kapiolani Park, the Elks and several restaurants. It is quite possibly the best location in Honolulu. I highly recommened it.

Room Tip: Get a room or condo as high up as you can for great ocean views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mjay99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2012

If you get a chance, stay in Suite 1203. It was so clean and was home away from home. The view from the windows was spectacular with Diamond Head and the ocean on one side and Waikiki, the ocean and a glorious park on the other. So quiet and peaceful. The gals in the office were great to deal with--Cassie and Cyra. They helped in so many ways. We returned home with renewed energy.Thank you so much.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fircrest, Wa.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2012

As I'm sure many can relate....I was in dire need of a restful, peaceful vacation. I spent almost 2 months at the Diamond Head Beach Hotel and couldn't be more pleased with my choice. The location is perfect, bus stops right in front, access to Diamond Head, numerous Farmer's Markets, lovely beaches, museums, shopping....everything Honolulu has to offer. It is safe, the people are friendly and I hope to return many, many times.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wearsdeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2012

We have been travelling around the Hawaiian Islands. The Honolulu Suite (rm:1101) at the Diamond Head Beach Hotel was our third self-cater accommodation. The view was great the decorating was nice, but the floor was not clean, there were no dishcloths or dish towels, there was an infestation of ants in the kitchen, the sleeper bed was not made-up, the set of dishes was incomplete and there was no plunger in the bathroom. When I attempted to solve problems all I could get was an answering machine at the Ohana office. I did eventually receive some dish towels and cloths: they were new but not clean I end up having to wash them myself . Overall, very sloppy customer service. Our stay was a very disappointing experience. We won't go back.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RHM5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OhanaBeachRentals, General Manager at Diamond Head Beach Hotel, responded to this review, January 17, 2012
Aloha RHM5555,

Thank you for sharing your concerns regarding your recent stay at The Diamond Head Beach Hotel. I sincerely apologize any missteps that may have occurred during your stay and I regret that we were not able to speak in person about the challenges with your suite. Our number one goal is to provide the same wonderful experience for all of our guests that so many others have enjoyed year after year. Please feel free to reach out to me at any time so we can talk further about your experience and discuss how we can improve for in the future. I look forward to speaking with you soon.

Kind regards,
Cyra Callahan
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Diamond Head - Kapahulu - St. Louis
The New Otani Kaimana Beach Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#22 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,295 reviews
Waikiki
The Modern Honolulu
The Modern Honolulu
#4 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Halekulani Hotel
Halekulani Hotel
#7 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Diamond Head Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Diamond Head Beach Hotel

Property: Diamond Head Beach Hotel
Address: 2947 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-4655
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:2 star — Diamond Head Beach Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Diamond Head Beach Hotel is a vacation treasure that lets you discover the beauty of Waikiki as you’ve never seen located on the beach in Hawaii’s Gold Coast which is secluded from the traffic and the bustle of Waikiki. This oceanfront vacation property is just walking distance from the Waikiki strip and the best beaches on the Oahu South shore. For once in your life, enjoy an enchanting Hawaiian Vacation with ocean front accommodations, picture-perfect views of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean and unrivaled tranquility. Come see why the Diamond Head Beach Hotel welcomes back returning guests year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Diamond Head Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Diamond Head Beach Honolulu
Hotel Diamond Head Beach
Diamond Head Beach Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing