We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed second time at the Waikiki Sunset”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Stayed second time at the Waikiki Sunset”
Reviewed October 25, 2013

The family and I stayed at a 1 bedroom suite from October 13 - 19, 2013. We stayed on the 37th floor with a partial view of Diamond Head and the Pacific Ocean. The pullout bed was very comfortable for my 5' 11" son. We had complained to the front desk when we got into our room because we felt it was old, compared to our previous stay at the Waikiki Sunset. Nevertheless, we were content with our room. Everything is located close by: Duke's, Kaipolani Park, Diamond Head, Hee Hing restaurant, and Leonard's Bakery.

We would stay here again.

Room Tip: We love the 37th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RedRaiders63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Especially staying with us for the second time!!! We're glad the amenities was suffice for your vacation needs. Thank you fo pointing out our location to various areas of interest.
Thanks again for staying with us and will be seeing you in the near future.

Mahalo!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    625
    267
    88
    59
See reviews for
801
210
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (257)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2013

We had two rooms on the 16th floor. One of the rooms overlooked a run down apartment building. Both rooms had sleeper sofas that were dingy and lumpy. The carpet is dirty and badly in need of replacing. This is an old property and if you are not comfortable with old, do not choose this building. We asked about the possibility of doing something about the couch and the front desk stated that it was private owner. The staff and housekeeping are fine, but if you have issues with old properties look elsewhere. This place is only for those who need a kitchen or those on a strict budget. The property is also located next to rundown private apartments.

Room Tip: Stay away from room 1612
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sheryl P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Thank you for your candid comments on your recent stay with us. From your review, it seems you stayed in a unit not managed by the Aston Waikiki Sunset. As the units on the 16th, managed by Aston Waikiki Sunset, have been renovated. We do apologize for your experience felt by staying in a private unit. We are working with our Condominium Association on a lobby and common area renovation project that we hope will begin shortly.
Thank you for comments and we hope to see you in the near future in one of our Aston Waikiki Sunset units.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne, australia
Level Contributor
55 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Even though hotel quite old, beds were very comfortable. View of diamond head spectacular. Very happy with position. Would stay here again. Staff lovely on check in, have us all the info we needed. Bidding like resort fee but knew about it before we went.

Stayed October 2013
Helpful?
Thank suziegcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We're glad you enjoyed the view of Diamond Head!!! We look forward to having you back with us should your travel plans find you back in Waikiki in the future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nevada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We just returned from our 10 day trip and had a wonderful time. Had a 2 bedroom suite on the 32nd floor looking out toward diamond head and partial ocean. The bell hop was wonderful and service was great. At 9pm one night my son decided to close the safe that I had just opened and push numbers to lock it back up and after calling desk maintenance came right up even though he was getting ready to go home. The pool was cooler in afternoon but very nice after spending all day in the sun. The small gift shop on 5th floor was very convenient. For a family of five this place was perfect. The pull out couch was very comfortable for a pull-out. In all past reviews it definitely is a little tired and could use a fresh coat of paint in the hallways and new flooring. The activities gentleman set up a nice day adventure for us of parasailing and they picked us up and returned right next door. We definitely will return.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank newtravlers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We are happy to hear you enjoyed your recent stay with us and appreciate the time to let us know of your experience. We're glad to hear our staff went beyond to assist with the issue of the safe. We're very proud of our staff. We're alslo happy to hear how the travel desk were able to coordinate the parasailing and resulted in a great time for you and your party. We are working with our Condiminium Association on a lobby and public area renovation project that we hope to begin shortly.
Thank you for your comments and will be seeing you soon!!!

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Spent 4 nights in the hotel on the 28th floor. Beautiful view of Diamond Head. Spacious 2 bedroom with full kitchen. Clean and functional. Hallways a bit dingy, but otherwise fine. No elevator problems as in other reviews. Good location, easy walk to beach. Very friendly staff with easy check in and out. Amenities fee well publicized in advance so it was no surprise. Helpful concierge on site to arrange tours. Rented beach chairs from the hotel convenience store and carried them to the beach, saving significant $. I'm sure you can find much more luxurious accommodation nearby, but if you are looking for value and a decent, clean hotel, this is a good choice.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for your comments on your stay with us. We're happy to hear how you enjoyed our facilities and location to the beach. We're also glad to hear the travel desk and the convenience store were able to assist with enjoying your vacation with us.
Again, we appreciate your comments and hope you come back and stay with us in the near future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Newton, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013

Value with a good location made this a nice choice. Room was clean and staff pleasant. We stayed on 37th floor with great view of Diamond Head and zoo. Did not understand the many complaints about the elevators because we rarely waited more than a minute and they zipped up and down quickly. Maybe being the off season helped or maybe some people are just too impatient. A Hawaiian vacation should never involve much time spent in your hotel room and/or hotel pool to begin with imho.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank steelpens09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
We appreciate taking the time to let us know your experience with the Aston Waikiki Sunset. Its great to hear how we were able to make your stay enjoyable. Thank you for mentioning how pleased you were with our rooms and our staff.
We hope to see you at the Aston Waikiki Sunset in the near future.

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice place. Nice price. Amazing state!! Aloha Honolulu has lots of action and of course Pearl Harbor near by!! Honolulu is the most fun city in Hawaii and the restaurants are fanatastic near this place. Sunsets and romance as well !!!
Woo!!!!!!!

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Travelhearts5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SUNgm808, Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 24, 2013
Thank you for enjoying your stay in Hawaii and especially with the Aston Waikiki Sunset. We hope you stay with us again in the near future!!!

Mahalo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#26 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#47 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Property: Aston Waikiki Sunset
Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing