We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“handy location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Reviewed July 23, 2013

The potential is there but definitely needs a facelift. Very very happy to move on to a better hotel after 3 days. The good points were location and we had everything we needed but the traffic noise is quite bad and the aircon unit in the 1 bedroom unit was so noisy. I put it on auto as low did not work. It was freezing in the bedroom and suitable temp in the lounge. But noisy was the main problem. couldn't leave the lounge balcony sliding door open as the traffic was too noisy. For four people, two people have to sleep on the pull out double sofa bed and the springs were so bad and noisy, a good sleep was not had. If you do not need to use the sofa bed, might be better. It is a 3 star type hotel. Good reception service, housekeeping was basic but possibly standard for USA. The apartment was sufficient for 3 days.

Room Tip: I requested early check in and they accommodated us which we really appreciated and the staff were c...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fourafar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for providing us with your comments on your recent stay. We are somewhat isolated from the main traffic routes in the Waikiki area and we are also working with our Condominium Association on a lobby and public area renovation project. Mahalo for selecting Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,420)
There are newer reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

452 - 458 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

We have just spent the most wonderful 10 nights in Oahu at Aston Waikiki Sunset. First impressions of the building are that it is in need of a facelift, the reception area and corridors are very old fashioned, but once inside the room it was a very pleasant surprise.

We had a two bedroomed suite with kitchen and living area which had a great view over looking Diamond Head. The room was clean and the maid replenished our towels, bathroom supplies and made beds daily. We were also supplied with coffee and tea every day.

The internet connection was reliable and the laundry facility was handy.

If I ever get the chance to return to Waikiki I will most certainly return to Aston Waikiki Sunset, the location is fantastic as it is only a 10/15 minute walk to the bars and restaurants which makes it quiet for sleeping. The beach is 5 mins walk with a very safe beach and lovely grassy sitting area as well as sand.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Caitkirs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for taking the time to let us know how your expereince with us was during your recent stay. We are happy to see that ou enjoyed yourselves and we look forward to having you back with us in the future. We are working with our Condominium Association on a lobby and public area renovation project which we hope to begin soon. Mahalo for choosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

We stayed here for 6 nights in Feb 2013. 2brm apartment was spacious and enough space for 5 of us. Main bedroom a bit small. Clean enough although the cleaners do not really do a very thorough job. Was not impressed to pay a "resort fee" as we really never got anything for it except the daily paper. Coffee and tea was never replenished - bought our own stuff at the ABC store. Bathroom products were not replenished during the entire stay. Would have thought that this was a standard and you should not have to ask. Swimming pool was closed on the day we arrived for repairs even though when I checked on the net it was supposed to have already been done so that was disappointing. Location was fine and a nice walk to the beach and handy for the bus route also. Could do with a refurbish. Front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and can't fault them.

Room Tip: Get an ocean view room/apartment, worth paying a bit extra for.
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lepa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for letting us know how your experience was during your recent stay. We do take these comments seriously and have addressed them with our housekeeping staff. We are also working with our Condominium Association on a lobby and public area renovation project that we hope to begin soon. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Not a bad place to stay and a good view from the 19th floor overlooking Diamond Head. Could see a peak of the beach from the windows and balcony. Full kitchen was adequate and fitted us and our three teenagers nicely. Main bedroom was tiny and the bed had a few inches between it and the wall so not easy to get in and out of bed. A tv in the main bedroom would have been nice. Bbq's out by the pool were good and we used them twice. Both times it lightly rained (summer) but that was okay. Location wise it was only a short walk to the beach past an ABC store which was good for picking up milk and supplies when needed. Wi fi in the rooms was great and free. A bonus when you have teenagers.

Room Tip: Floor with a view is nice
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vickopro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

We are please to see that you enjoyed your time spent with us and for providing us with your comments on your stay. Mahalo for selecting Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed in a 2 bedroom on the 35th floor. We were surprised by the wonderful view and the convenient location. It is by no means one of the pricey 5 star resorts on the beach, but for the price and easy location this place is great. We could see the elephants in the zoo from our lanai. Walked to the beach for fireworks on the 4th. A variety of quality restaurants nearby for many eating options. Pool and sun deck we great. Yes, the elevators were a bit slow, but I'm on vacation, who is in a hurry? Kitchen is not super well stocked but was adequate for what we needed. I would stay here again no problem if looking for space for a family that is close to the beach and a good value.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
1  Thank Warren P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

Thank you for providng your coments on your recent stay. We are happy to see that you enjoyed your time with us and we look forward to having you back in the future. Mahalo for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Among the three hotels we stayed at during our recent 2-week vacation in Hawaii, this was the most comfortable and convenient, and by far, the best value. Close to everything (Zoo and beach were just a couple of blocks away), but not so busy as to be loud, striking floor to ceiling views, and full kitchen were all pluses. As a family of four (kids age 8 & 11), we felt like were on vacation and yet had the comforts of home. Housekeeping did a great job, the front desk was friendliest on the island and remembered you (Brendan, Ofelia, and Jen were particularly outstanding and very helpful). Complaints by others regarding amenity fee and $15 for parking are petty (try a Hilton on for size and THEIR "resort fee" and other petty add-ons, and you'll see what a value Waikiki Sunset is.) Wish we could get back to Hawaii more often, but next time we do, we'll book here again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sha503
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate your taking the time to share your comments and are happy to hear that our staff was able to meet your expectations during your stay with us. We look forward to having you back with us in the future. Mahalo for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just spent four nights here. The rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet, the location just a couple blocks from beach, the staff friendly and helpful. Decent price too.

However, there is one major headache when staying here: The elevators are FAR TOO FEW. Be prepared to spend several minutes waiting and waiting, and heaven help you if you are on the lower floors - several times those folks weren't able to get in the elevator because they were already packed from the upper floors. Worse, THERE ARE NO STAIRS OPTION. You HAVE to take the elevators, and there are only four of them (one of which was out of order) for 37 floors PLUS staff usage.

Be advised when booking - demand a higher floor or you will waste precious vacation time being aggravated.

Room Tip: As stated in review, get a higher floor if you can. Else, you may have to wait a LONG time to find...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandrewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We have forwarded your comment on the elevator situation to our Condominium Association office for their review and follow up as they are the responsible party for the lobby and common areas including the elevators. I do know that they have been looking at alternatives and possible upgrades to them. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,457 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,411 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $190 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing