We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel for Waikiki with One Major Problem”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We just spent four nights here. The rooms were clean and comfortable and quiet, the location just a couple blocks from beach, the staff friendly and helpful. Decent price too.

However, there is one major headache when staying here: The elevators are FAR TOO FEW. Be prepared to spend several minutes waiting and waiting, and heaven help you if you are on the lower floors - several times those folks weren't able to get in the elevator because they were already packed from the upper floors. Worse, THERE ARE NO STAIRS OPTION. You HAVE to take the elevators, and there are only four of them (one of which was out of order) for 37 floors PLUS staff usage.

Be advised when booking - demand a higher floor or you will waste precious vacation time being aggravated.

Room Tip: As stated in review, get a higher floor if you can. Else, you may have to wait a LONG time to find...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dandrewk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us. We have forwarded your comment on the elevator situation to our Condominium Association office for their review and follow up as they are the responsible party for the lobby and common areas including the elevators. I do know that they have been looking at alternatives and possible upgrades to them. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

458 - 464 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed June 27, 2013

Although the hotel was several blocks from the beach, I was disappointed in the facility- -- towels felt like they were from the dollar store . . . no dishwasher . . washer and dryer were not part of the "amenity package" - although they were not in the condo which was ok, they were down the hall but not complimentary. Why am I paying $15/day??? ........for a newspaper and a package of coffee, and wi-fi? The condo entry door had a hole in the bottom that should have been addressed. The carpet in the halls and condo needed replacement. The ventilation system is poor - early in the morning still in bed, smelling someone's ethnic breakfast was repulsive. The staff were not customer conscious and it appeared that they were doing us a favor to answer questions and the feeling was that they were out to make a buck. When we went to the Aston in Maui, the accommodations were entirely different - many steps above Waikiki. Maybe Waikiki feels that they can get away with these issues, but I will not entertain a return. As a note: 3 days are more than enough in Waikiki . . .

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to send us your comments on your recent stay with us. We are committed to work with the property Condominium Association to fix these issues that you have noted regarding the hallways and carpet, entry door issue, and ventilation problem. Unfortunately, the Association does not allow for dishwashers in any of the individually owned condominium units here at the Sunset. We are also addressing the service issues that you noted as this is not indicative of the type of service our employees extend to our guests. Thank you for bring these issues to our attention.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was located just that little too far away. Even though we are a "fit" family of four, we did find the lengthy walk down to both Kalakaua Ave and Kuhio Street to restaurants and shops a little tiring after doing it most days. The 2 bedroom apartment with kitchen was quite acceptable & clean. We did find it a bit strange though, how they had placed the 2 single beds in the larger of the two rooms. My husband and myself had to make do with a very small wardrobe and squeeze ourselves around the foot of the bed. The second TV was also in the other bedroom. The $15.00 day surcharge payable on check out was not really good value. It supposedly covered the cost of local calls, Wi Fi access, DVDs & PlayStation games. All of the games we borrowed froze on the screen. DVDs were not old, but weren't new releases either.
The air conditioning worked great in the lounge room, but did not reach the bedrooms. The wait time on the lifts was extremely long for most times of the day. Cleaners wanted to come in at 9am which I thought was a bit inconvenient. No actual cleaning was done, only beds made & towels replaced. Staff at reception were very courteous & friendly.

Room Tip: Check that adults double bed is not in a small bedroom.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate receiving your feedback and comments on your stay with us. We have been working with our vendor and will be upgrading to Sony Playstation 3's along with Blu ray discs for the games and movies which will eliminate the inconsistencies that some guests have been experiencing. Mahalo for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013 via mobile

I gave this 4's based on what I was expecting which was a decent hotel a few blocks off the beach designed to save a few bucks. It is clean, has a decent pool and has very nice staff. It's a bit aged with some stained carpet and whatnot but it is very safe and the rooms are clean and comfortable.
The $15 a day resort fee gets you wifi, movie and video game rentals. Parking is $15 per day which is worth it if you are gonna be driving.
It would be great if it had some sort of food or bar but there are places close by so no big deal.
I did have a small issue checking in when I was told our room would be ready at 3pm and they forgot to call us an let us know but the manager was awesome and tossed us free goodies to make up for it.
If staying with a group and needing a kitchen I'd stay here again for sure. If just with the wife I'd spring for a nicer beach hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hpaterson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate your feedback and comments and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Mahalo for chosing Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

I stayed at this hotel in June while in Waikiki for business.
I have never stayed up this end of Waikiki before and I wasnt too sure at first if i would feel safe at night as it looked much quiter and darker up this end, but all was fine.

The hotel is quiter at night as it is located at the end of the main part of Kalakaua Avenue. At night you can hear the wind as the hotel is right near Diamond Head, but i quite liked that.

The hotel itself is a little dated, but good value.
I stayed in a 2 bedrom suite and it was very spacious. Full kitchen with oven, and all you could need in the kitchen.
Spacious lounge room and balcony/lanai over looking Diamond Head, i bedroom with double bed and 1 bedroom with 2 single beds.
I loved the views from the Balcony......great to sit out on at the end of the day and have a drink.
Suite was clean and well maintained, but the bed spreads could do with an update ( would really freshen the room up i think).
Front desk staff were "ok", not great.
Hotel is within walking distance to everything.
Overall great value for families and groups and especially anybody who wants the use of kitchen facilities while away.
You can also have a grocery service deliver to the suite prior and during your stay.

Room Tip: Room 3114 has an uninterupted view of Diamond head and Partial Ocean views. Balcony/lanai and loung...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are working with the Condominium Association on a lobby and public area renovation project that we hope to begin within the near future. Mahalo for selecting Aston Hotels and Resorts.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 19, 2013 via mobile

Booked through Pleasant Vacations. Staff is great and hotel is not bad. Rooms look updated and service is good. Hotel is a little tired looking but fine for the family. Three blocks from beach and convenient parking. Watch out for mandatory services fee of $15 a day regardless of services used due at sign out. Also says sleeps five but that's three on a king and two on a fold out couch. Had to pay $30 extra a day for roll away.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

We appreciate hearing from you on your stay with us. We are working with our Condominium Association on a Lobby and public area renovation project that we hope to start in the near future. We do have rooms that have two beds with the sofa bed that will sleep five a little more comfortably. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2013

I have to agree with the earlier comment about the pots and pans, horrible. Location is 5-mins. walk away from the beach. We had a room with a 'mountain view' which was good. I wouldn't pay extra for an 'ocean view' room here, we looked at one on the 32nd floor and there are a ton of other skyscraper hotels to block your view. We stayed for a week and booked through a time share, so we only got maid service 1x. They didn't take out the trash or sweep (there was still sand all over the bathroom floor when we got back), so don't expect much from the cleaning crew. Also $15/DAY PARKING FEE and, lucky for us because of the way we booked, we got out of paying the $15/DAY MANDATORY AMENITIES FEE which you have to pay whether you choose to use the amenities or not. I don't know why they don't just add this cost in to the cost per room per night, but I can't tell you how many times I heard people complaining about this fee as I walked through the lobby. Idk, next time I think I will pony up the extra dough and stay some place a little nicer.

Room Tip: Get something on a higher floor, otherwise your view of anything will be blocked by surrounding sky...
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RachelDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wcvgm808, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2013

Thank you for sharing your comments on your stay. We have contacted our vendor who provides us with the kitchen equipment in our rooms to see what recommendations they have. While we do have guests who do not have problems with the pots and pans, it is a topic of interest with both the vendor and us to check on this. Due to contracting, we are unable to include the amenity fee into the room rate but we have received comments from families traveling that they appreciate the components, especially those that have children. The $15.00 daily parking charge is actually one of the most inexpensive in Waikiki as most hotels are now charging upwards of $25.00 to $35.00 per day for parking. We do appreciate hearing from you. Mahalo!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,457 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,413 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $191 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing