We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waikiki Aston Sunset. Great stay!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Reviewed October 11, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised with the great stay my family and I had at this property. I stayed in an older Waikiki hotel in the past (I think they are all older now), but this hotel is very well renovated, bug-free and smelled fresh and is clean. Very comfortable and close to the beach (two blocks, big deal), I would recommend this hotel to anyone, unless you are looking to spend a lot of money at one of the other older hotels!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank mbonacio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Aloha mbonacio,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us and I'm very happy to hear that we exceeded your expectations.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,421)
There are newer reviews for Aston Waikiki Sunset
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

553 - 559 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2012

We had booked this condo long before they announced renovations and were very dissapoionted when we learnt of the renovations. We chose it because it had 2 bedrooms so we could have a bit more space than a standard room and because of the pool. Unfortunately by the time we knew of the renovations, all other properties with 2 bedrooms and a pool were booked out or only expensive rooms left. We had no choice but to accept a $12 discount per day for the inconvenience of noise, no tennis court and no pool for most of the time. Wohoo $12/day. I continued to check TripAdvisor to see what others thought of the place so I could get an idea of what we would be in for. On arrival we found that the photos on the website were a bit dated. The foyer and exterior of the building particulary near the entrance were run down and very tired. The room was fine except the bedding layout of 1 dbl/qn and 2 single beds was not supplied so a visit to the reception followed by 3 visits from staff to correct sorted this out. We found out on the first night that small cockroaches inhabited the lanai at night (hundreds of them)which meant the door had to be closed from dusk. As no windows could be opened, we were left with noisy air conditioning all night. Unfortunately some cockroaches also came inside, which we squashed where possibly but one visited our bed early one morning. Not a nice wake up call. Also a fair bit of bird poo on the lanai and chairs and table meant we could not use them. Maybe they should be cleaned more often. The laundry backed onto our bedroom but only once we heard a faint noise of the washer or dryer so no problems there. I had researched what to do about tips and many websites suggested we tip on departure for the number of occupants x number of nights. We felt after our first day of not daily tipping that housekeeping expected a daily tip and were not as generous with the housekeeping. Despite info outlining that all linen was changed every 3 days, the beds were never changed with clean sheets once in the 9 nights we stayed. They were remade but with same sheets on all but one day. This one day they just did not make beds at all. Not a problem really, but not what we expected. The towels were changed daily, however sometimes not all dirty ones removed. They forgot once to give us any toilet paper which meant a call to housekeeping. Overall the renovations did not disturb us much, just some hammering, drilling noise when we were in the room during the day, and the lack of pool/tennis court use. The free wifi that is advertised in each room is hopeless. I would connect then the next thing I knew the connection would drop out and I would have to reconnect and reenter the password. It was also very slow, so in the end used data roaming on my phone and paid for it accordingly. Using the wifi at other places we stayed was quick and efficient, which showed it was not my phone. The $10 per day amenity fee was OK, but other places we stayed included the playstation, safe and wifi for free. Unfortunatley one DVD we used was damaged to the point that we could not watch it fully, and a playstation game would not work after 1/2 hour use. So really the only thing we got more than other hotels for our $10 per day was a daily paper, tea and coffee which we dont drink and local calls. I probably would stay here again but I feel the hotel should update their website with more realistic photos, or not photshop them, or better still update. Also pest control would not go astray. Housekeeping were not as friendly after not getting daily tips, but I hope they were at the end of the stay. If they had been more responsive during our stay we would have tipped more.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Jane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2012

Aloha Jane S,

Mahalo for your detailed comments regarding your stay with us. I would greatly appreciate hearing from you on the room # you stayed in and the dates of your stay so I can address your comments properly.

We do a quarterly pest control program, but from what you described, we need to do a thorough inspection and treatment of this room so it would be very helpful if you could provide this information.

I want to take this opportunity to apologize for any inconveniece you experienced while you were here.. I'm very happy to hear that you are willing to stay with us again and it would be my pleasure of assisting you with your reservations. Please do not hesitate to contact me when you're ready to do so.

Until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012 via mobile

Service is excellent, rooms have a floor to ceiling windows with gorgeous views of Diamond Head and the ocean. No restaurant in hotel, but lots close by. Nice balcony for bkft. Close to beach n zoo. DVD and playstation room with a small resort fee.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bjnrn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Aloha bjnrn.

Yes, the views from our rooms are spectacular. Our Diamond Head view is second to none and we have great ocean and mountain views as well.

Mahalo for staying with us and for posting great comments for our readers to see. We look forward to your next stay and until then, Mahalo and. . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our church women's group have stayed in this hotel for 3 years in a row. We find the accommodations are excellent! We usually rent the two bedroom units-nice and roomy! Enough room for 4 ladies. Very clean units and the parking is easy to get in and out. One free car to a room-other than that it's a $15.00 charge per night. Exterior renovations were going on but it didn't bother us at all. We had a room with a spectacular view of Diamond Head and of Waikiki Beach! Overall, this hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rmt3gc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded October 2, 2012

Aloha rmt3gc7,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, accommodations, location, and view.

I also want to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage for the past 3 years. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent two weeks in Hawaii this summer. One on the Big Island and one in Ewa Beach on Ohau. We needed a place to kick back before we caught our flight back to the states. We picked a place in Honolulu to have a last bit of excitement after relaxing in the calm area of Ewa Beach. Kids loved seeing the sites and transportation was simple with the trolleys. Food options are incredible and a quick trip to China Town ended the vacation.
Rooms were clean, staff was amazingly helpful and althought it was in the middle of a remodel no noise or stress was to be found.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Diamond head....you feel like you can reach out and touch it!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rex00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Aloha Rex00,

Mahalo for your great comments on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Until then, Mahalo and . . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for a week and had a wonderful stay. The hotel was undergoing some exterior renovations - but that did not affect our stay - we had little or no noise. Our full ocean and Diamond Head view from the 36th floor was breath taking...what a view to wake up to every day! Our 1 bedroom condo was spacious, comfortable, clean, and well equipted. The beds comfortable, and nice new linens. The kitchen had everything you would need - we fixed breakfast everyday to start our day off right! The amenity fee is an extra $10 per day - but that gave you WiFi - with extremely good connection, and DVD rentals and game rentals - so overall a great deal. The condo had a TV in both the bedroom and the living room. The hospitality common area had a large flat screen TV and lots of comfortable seating - as we met up with numerous others on our group (we all stayed at the Sunset) - for our group to gather and chat. The Sunset had a sundry store that had a good variety for that something that you needed right away... there was an ABC store within a block... and by taking the buss we did a bit of grocery shopping at Safeway - a 10 minute bus ride. For those not aware - groceries are more pricey on the island - be prepared for a bit of sticker shock as prices run about 1/3 more than we see here on the mainland. But even though groceries were a bit higher - it did save us money to have breakfast in the condo rather than find a restuarant for breakfast everyday. Unfortunately the pool had limited availability this trip - but as the hotel is located only 1 1/2 blocks from Queens Beach - that was not an issue. The hotel is located 2 blocks from the Zoo - 4 blocks from the Aquarium - 1/2 block from major bus stop - and the Waikiki bus system is awesome - you can get nearly anywhere you need to go... buying a 4 day bus pass makes this the easiest form of transportation - all the bus drivers are extremely helpful. Had stayed previously at the Aston Banyan and that was a good stay - but I found the Sunset to be even better. We will definitely be booking our next trip with the Sunset next summer!

Room Tip: Upper floor ocean views are spectacular!... But our friends had a mountain view that was also specta...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Aloha Lesley C,

Mahalo for your great comments and for sharing your experience with our readers. You said it all, so all I can say is, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will return next summer.

Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We are kama'aina. Like every year our family stays in Waikiki to attend the Okinawan Festival and to have "family time" during Labor Day weekend. For the past few years we have been staying at the Waikiki Banyan which is a pretty good stay except that the parking policy is somewhat of a hassle. So a family member shopped around and found the Aston Waikiki Sunset. Which offered free parking for 1 vehicle per room! Besides being under renovation which only affected us by restricting use of our balcony we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is great. The staff was quick and pleasant with our needs, the 1 bedroom was very clean and large, bathroom was a nice size, and full kitchen was ample and useful. Going in and out of the parking garage was no problem. There is no eating place within the restaurant but that was not a problem because we cooked or else eateries were very close. The pool was not very large but the kids didn't seem to care. Upon check I was asked if I needed a 2pm check out. That was helpful to have it offered so I didn't have to remember...like having your mind read and needs understood:)

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AlohafromKapolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Aloha AlohafromKapolei,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, we have lots of Kama'ainas stay with us during the Labor Day weekend. Our location is ideal for attending the Okinawan Festival at Kapiolani Park as well as the other major attractions in Waikiki.

I'm very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, Mahalo and . . . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#27 of 84 in Honolulu
4,458 reviews
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Pacific Beach Hotel
Pacific Beach Hotel
#51 of 84 in Honolulu
3,413 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,526 reviews
Aqua Palms Waikiki
#57 of 84 in Honolulu
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 46 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range: $191 - $342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Aqua-Aston Hospitality, LLC, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing