We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful place!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Sunset
Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Wonderful place!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Our church women's group have stayed in this hotel for 3 years in a row. We find the accommodations are excellent! We usually rent the two bedroom units-nice and roomy! Enough room for 4 ladies. Very clean units and the parking is easy to get in and out. One free car to a room-other than that it's a $15.00 charge per night. Exterior renovations were going on but it didn't bother us at all. We had a room with a spectacular view of Diamond Head and of Waikiki Beach! Overall, this hotel is wonderful!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rmt3gc7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 2, 2012
Aloha rmt3gc7,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our service, accommodations, location, and view.

I also want to take this opportunity to thank you for your patronage for the past 3 years. We appreciate your loyalty and look forward to welcoming you back soon. Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    347
    631
    273
    89
    60
See reviews for
812
214
25
41
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (264)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dewey, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Spent two weeks in Hawaii this summer. One on the Big Island and one in Ewa Beach on Ohau. We needed a place to kick back before we caught our flight back to the states. We picked a place in Honolulu to have a last bit of excitement after relaxing in the calm area of Ewa Beach. Kids loved seeing the sites and transportation was simple with the trolleys. Food options are incredible and a quick trip to China Town ended the vacation.
Rooms were clean, staff was amazingly helpful and althought it was in the middle of a remodel no noise or stress was to be found.

Room Tip: Get a room facing Diamond head....you feel like you can reach out and touch it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rex00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Aloha Rex00,

Mahalo for your great comments on your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Until then, Mahalo and . . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed for a week and had a wonderful stay. The hotel was undergoing some exterior renovations - but that did not affect our stay - we had little or no noise. Our full ocean and Diamond Head view from the 36th floor was breath taking...what a view to wake up to every day! Our 1 bedroom condo was spacious, comfortable, clean, and well equipted. The beds comfortable, and nice new linens. The kitchen had everything you would need - we fixed breakfast everyday to start our day off right! The amenity fee is an extra $10 per day - but that gave you WiFi - with extremely good connection, and DVD rentals and game rentals - so overall a great deal. The condo had a TV in both the bedroom and the living room. The hospitality common area had a large flat screen TV and lots of comfortable seating - as we met up with numerous others on our group (we all stayed at the Sunset) - for our group to gather and chat. The Sunset had a sundry store that had a good variety for that something that you needed right away... there was an ABC store within a block... and by taking the buss we did a bit of grocery shopping at Safeway - a 10 minute bus ride. For those not aware - groceries are more pricey on the island - be prepared for a bit of sticker shock as prices run about 1/3 more than we see here on the mainland. But even though groceries were a bit higher - it did save us money to have breakfast in the condo rather than find a restuarant for breakfast everyday. Unfortunately the pool had limited availability this trip - but as the hotel is located only 1 1/2 blocks from Queens Beach - that was not an issue. The hotel is located 2 blocks from the Zoo - 4 blocks from the Aquarium - 1/2 block from major bus stop - and the Waikiki bus system is awesome - you can get nearly anywhere you need to go... buying a 4 day bus pass makes this the easiest form of transportation - all the bus drivers are extremely helpful. Had stayed previously at the Aston Banyan and that was a good stay - but I found the Sunset to be even better. We will definitely be booking our next trip with the Sunset next summer!

Room Tip: Upper floor ocean views are spectacular!... But our friends had a mountain view that was also specta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lesley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Aloha Lesley C,

Mahalo for your great comments and for sharing your experience with our readers. You said it all, so all I can say is, I'm very happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will return next summer.

Until then, Mahalo and . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kapolei, Hawaii
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed September 7, 2012

We are kama'aina. Like every year our family stays in Waikiki to attend the Okinawan Festival and to have "family time" during Labor Day weekend. For the past few years we have been staying at the Waikiki Banyan which is a pretty good stay except that the parking policy is somewhat of a hassle. So a family member shopped around and found the Aston Waikiki Sunset. Which offered free parking for 1 vehicle per room! Besides being under renovation which only affected us by restricting use of our balcony we were pleasantly surprised. This hotel is great. The staff was quick and pleasant with our needs, the 1 bedroom was very clean and large, bathroom was a nice size, and full kitchen was ample and useful. Going in and out of the parking garage was no problem. There is no eating place within the restaurant but that was not a problem because we cooked or else eateries were very close. The pool was not very large but the kids didn't seem to care. Upon check I was asked if I needed a 2pm check out. That was helpful to have it offered so I didn't have to remember...like having your mind read and needs understood:)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank AlohafromKapolei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, October 1, 2012
Aloha AlohafromKapolei,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us. Yes, we have lots of Kama'ainas stay with us during the Labor Day weekend. Our location is ideal for attending the Okinawan Festival at Kapiolani Park as well as the other major attractions in Waikiki.

I'm very happy to hear that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back again. Until then, Mahalo and . . . . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Culver City, California
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2012

I booked a 1 bedroom condo for weekend, Parking was easy 15.00 a night fee,check in was easy and fast, there is a 10.00 charge a day for internet and dvd rentals, I had a mauka view (mountain) and they were doing renovations on exterior of hotel so was not allowed to use balcony, room had recently been renovated with new kitchen and bathroom and new furnishings, unfortunately housekeeping doesnt clean the interior windows there were hand prints and face smears on both livingroom and bedroom windows which took away from the beautiful view of the mountains and took away from the quality of there cleaning also found a section of sandwich under tv stand, its a shame to invest in renovations when housekeeping doesnt do a good job, would definetly recommend this hotel if you like condos, I personally do, maybe management will talk to housekeeping to make window wipe part of its routine, it definately would make a better impression. Other then that, kitchen was nice all new appliances and granite countertop, vinyl flooring in kitchen and bathroom. Good location near beach, 1 block, aqauruim, zoo and all within walking distance, pool on 6th floor and convenience store on 5th floor.

Room Tip: I would pick ocean view as mountain view faces pool and the kids screaming echoes up, but then if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank surfingmo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Aloha surfingmo,

Mahalo for your comments regarding your recent stay with us and I apologize for the dirty picture window and the unacceptable cleaning standards. Yes, we do clean the windows as part of our service, so this has to be addressed with our housekeeper. I would appreciate it if you would advise me which room you stayed in and the dates, so we can identify the housekeeper. Aside from this, I'm happy to hear that you like our rooms and locaton.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future. Until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gardena
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

The hotel was undergoing renevations and but it was not a problem and no noise from it. The hotel had pool but it could only be used after 4:30 pm and the hotel completely shades the pool so it is cold and windy. If you desire a pool this is not your place. The hotel is somewhat far from the central part if Waikiki but we would take the trolly back and forth. The room was great! clean, and large. This is just a condo so there are no real amenties or service. There is a store in the hotel but it has little to offer other than drinks, chips and ice cream. I would not stay here again and I would rather stay closer to Waikiki and have a pool with access to the sun. They also charge a 10.00 per day amenties fee which is really a rip off because there are no amenties and you also have to pay 15.00 per day to park.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 925chrisT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Aloha chris T,

Mahalo for your comments regarding your recent stay with us. I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed the size and cleanliness of our rooms and that the exterior enhancement project was no problem. In regards to our Amenity Fee Program, we provide unlimited DVD/Video game usage, daily coffee & tea service, daily newspaper, free local & toll free calls, and in-room safe usage. Our daily parking fee is amongst the lowest in Waikiki. Many of our competitors charge anywhere from $25 - $30 per day.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and I hope that you will consider staying with us again in the near future.

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I was pleasantly surprised when I went to this hotel, as I was not expecting much. Rooms were large and clean. Beds very comfortable and nice. Not too far from the main city center. Had a view of the Diamond Head which was awesome.

Other points
- Free in-room wireless
-Front desk very helpful
-Renovations in progress so the facade at the front isn't pretty, but it's great.
- Cheap and comfortable

Would def stay here again.

Room Tip: Try to get a room that has a Diamond Head view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sarah b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DougOkada, General Manager at Aston Waikiki Sunset, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Aloha sarah b,

Mahalo for your great comments regarding your recent stay with us and I'm happy to hear that you enjoyed our accommodations, location and value.

Mahalo for choosing to stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back. Until then, Mahalo and. . . .

Aloha,

Doug Okada
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Hilton Waikiki Beach
#28 of 84 in Honolulu
4,364 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Holiday Inn Resort Waikiki Beachcomber
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Sunset? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Sunset

Property: Aston Waikiki Sunset
Address: 229 Paoakalani Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-3796
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 Specialty Lodging in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Aston Waikiki Sunset 3*
Number of rooms: 435
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy spectacular views of Diamond Head, the blue Pacific, or the Honolulu city lights. Well-suited to families and centrally located in a quiet residential neighborhood just over one block from famous Waikiki beach, this resort offers relaxed island-style living in spacious one and two-bedroom suites with complete kitchens and private lanais. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Sabre Hospitality Solutions, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Aston Waikiki Sunset reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hotel Honolulu
Resort Quest Waikiki Sunset
Waikiki Sunset Hotel
Aston Waikiki Sunset Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing