We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Definitely Returning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Berkeley Vale
Level Contributor
90 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Definitely Returning”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

I have stayed here more than once and will keep staying here. Larissa and Lave at front desk start the stay with their beautiful personality and proffesional service. The rooms aren't huge but I'm 195cm and 115kg and I was perfectly comfortable! There is no better location, my partner and I woke every morning to a perfect ocean view. Value for money here cannot be topped.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    216
    153
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
306
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

In July 2013 I booked a short stay at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel via Booking.com. The location seemed really good, the Standard Queen room was quite cheap - so far, so good. Luckily for me I was in Waikiki a week earlier and decided to drop by the hotel and check it out. Good I did, because the booked Standard Queen room was in fact a room... without windows, like a ship cabin! Which is not mentioned anywhere. What a hole! It goes without saying that I cancelled my reservation immediately, but I can only imagine what a nasty surprise it would have been had I not checked it out personally.

Room Tip: Avoid the Standard Queen room - it has no windows. Ask as many questions as possible beforehand and...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Eva I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
Aloha,

Thank you for taking the time to share about a recent booking you had with us! Although you did not stay in the hotel, we appreciate all feedback!

Located just a few steps from the majestic Pacific Ocean and offering probably the most unbeatable prices on Kalakaua Avenue, the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is truly a Waikiki gem! With minimal amenities yet extraordinary customer service, our Hotel is proud to offer many different room options for guests who choose spend their hard earned money. Please note that the room you booked (and were due to stay in) is our most affordable room category and very comfortable for the traveler who may be on a budget; however, for those who wish to spend a bit more on their accommodations, our top room category which is called Ocean Front, offers our guests a private lanai where they can sit and enjoy the warm Hawaiian breezes and sweeping, unobstructed views of the beautiful Ocean.

Wherever you chose to stay, I truly hope you were able to take some fond memories home with you. And please remember that the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel has something for everyone!

With much Mahalo!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edgewood, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2013

So the location of this hotel couldn't get any better. I had trouble finding it because there was no sign out front or anything, but it's located right on the Waikiki strip. However, the location was just about the only good thing they had to offer. They're ceiling leaked, the room was tiny, there's no free wifi except in the lobby, and there is only one elevator so you have to sit and wait for it. This hotel is do-able for its price, but I didn't like it very much. Also, the room keys are unreliable and don't work half the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us at the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel.
In your review, you mentioned that our rooms are fairly small which I agree with. Our rooms only average about 200 square feet. Although our room sizes may not be the largest, our breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean are unbeatable especially when you consider how affordable we keep our rates. With that being said, please note that our Management has been working with our maintenance department to address your concerns about the room and door lock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable, clean hotel to shower and sleep in a superb location…look no further! My family (7 of us, 4 rooms total) all stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel for 6 nights and we all had an amazing time. Prior to booking the rooms I read all the reviews, and as long as you know not to expect a 5 star hotel with all the amenities (no pool, no complimentary breakfast, no restaurant, no room service), you’ll be happy! A lot of the reviews talk about how small the rooms are, but I found there to be a fine amount of space. The bathroom doesn't have counter space, but that’s what the storage underneath the sink is for! And yes the décor is old, but who cares! You’re in Hawaii right across the street from the beach! We had an interior room, and there aren’t any windows, but as soon as you walk out your door you have a view of the beach and ocean through the breezeway (8th floor). My parents had an ocean view room on the 10th floor, and the room was the same size as ours and wasn’t any nicer except they had an amazing view off their lanai! My only complaint was the hair dryer. I have a lot of hair and it didn’t have a lot of power and didn’t get hot. But the water pressure was really good! I also read complaints about the elevator being small and slow. Yes it is small, it only fits 4 people comfortably (although we did fit 7 a couple of times :) ) But we didn’t have any issues of having to wait a long time (4 minutes, if that, at most). Front desk offers complimentary beach towels when you want to go lay out on the beach…RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET! If you plan on staying in the Waikiki area, no need to rent a car; there are plenty of things to do within walking distance and if you want to do excursions, most have transportation available and pick up very close to the hotel. The entire staff at the hotel was also great! They were always friendly and accommodating. If I ever returned to Waikiki, I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CA_DRVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The place is old and the furnishings in desperate need of help. It's very old-school fung shei with it's Oriental style decor. It looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70s...yuck! We had a view of a concrete wall and the room was teeny tiny. We asked if we could get an ocean view. The answer was no there are no ocean views available and even if there was, it would cost you extra (yes we get that part, thank you!) So four nights staring at a concrete wall...great. The good news is that the hotel is close to everything, so you can literally walk out of your room, cross the street, and be on the beach. There's shopping close by, and there's about 80 ABC stores in walking distance. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwterp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with us!

Although we have made a few refurbishments to the boutique property, we do understand the need to do more extensive work in the near future. Until that time comes, we are more than happy to provide our guests with exceptional Customer Service, which you experienced.

If you should ever choose to return to the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holstebro, Denmark
Level Contributor
104 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

123 steps. That was the distance from hour bed to the beach - absolutely wonderful. The room was nothing special and there were no Windows, but with such a beautiful city around it, there's was only time for sleep in the room. The staff were polite and helpful and the cleaning was frequent and good.
We overheard a conversation saying that other hotels were better for the same price, but we don't know if it's true, but you should check it out before booking a room.
We certainly enjoyed the stay though,

Room Tip: We overheard a conversation saying that other hotels were better for the same price, but we don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadsThirsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Beachside in the last 12 months. After our first visit, we couldn't wait to return. First of all, this hotel continues to be an outstanding value. The hotel's location is perfect. It sits right across the street from the beach where all the activities you could ask for are right in front of you.

There are a multitude of dining opportunities within meters of the lobby door. (Eggs and Things is right there, but we suggest you skip the sucker-line at that place and walk a few blocks East to LuLu's for breakfast. No lines, great view, etc.) We walked comfortably from the Beachside to Orchids at Halekulani for dinner one night, and Azure at the Royal Hawaiian for dinner on another night.

The staff is wonderful as always. Kevin, Lave, Larissa, and Kemoki are all all top notch. It would be shocked to find four better representatives of a hotel. All in all, customer service, hospitality, location, and view make up for any physical shortcomings of the hotel. I would venture to say that there isn't a better hotel value in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean front, well worth the extra little bit! High floors have less road noise and reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#38 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Waikiki Central Hotel
Waikiki Central Hotel
#36 of 84 in Honolulu
4.0 of 5 bubbles 765 reviews
Park Shore Waikiki
#23 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,328 reviews
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing