We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but that's about it.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Ranked #75 of 84 Hotels in Honolulu
Edgewood, Washington, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but that's about it.”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

So the location of this hotel couldn't get any better. I had trouble finding it because there was no sign out front or anything, but it's located right on the Waikiki strip. However, the location was just about the only good thing they had to offer. They're ceiling leaked, the room was tiny, there's no free wifi except in the lobby, and there is only one elevator so you have to sit and wait for it. This hotel is do-able for its price, but I didn't like it very much. Also, the room keys are unreliable and don't work half the time.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Madison W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, August 10, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to reflect on your recent stay with us at the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel.
In your review, you mentioned that our rooms are fairly small which I agree with. Our rooms only average about 200 square feet. Although our room sizes may not be the largest, our breathtaking views of the Pacific Ocean are unbeatable especially when you consider how affordable we keep our rates. With that being said, please note that our Management has been working with our maintenance department to address your concerns about the room and door lock.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

609 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    216
    154
    55
    64
See reviews for
59
307
71
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

If you are looking for an affordable, clean hotel to shower and sleep in a superb location…look no further! My family (7 of us, 4 rooms total) all stayed at the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel for 6 nights and we all had an amazing time. Prior to booking the rooms I read all the reviews, and as long as you know not to expect a 5 star hotel with all the amenities (no pool, no complimentary breakfast, no restaurant, no room service), you’ll be happy! A lot of the reviews talk about how small the rooms are, but I found there to be a fine amount of space. The bathroom doesn't have counter space, but that’s what the storage underneath the sink is for! And yes the décor is old, but who cares! You’re in Hawaii right across the street from the beach! We had an interior room, and there aren’t any windows, but as soon as you walk out your door you have a view of the beach and ocean through the breezeway (8th floor). My parents had an ocean view room on the 10th floor, and the room was the same size as ours and wasn’t any nicer except they had an amazing view off their lanai! My only complaint was the hair dryer. I have a lot of hair and it didn’t have a lot of power and didn’t get hot. But the water pressure was really good! I also read complaints about the elevator being small and slow. Yes it is small, it only fits 4 people comfortably (although we did fit 7 a couple of times :) ) But we didn’t have any issues of having to wait a long time (4 minutes, if that, at most). Front desk offers complimentary beach towels when you want to go lay out on the beach…RIGHT ACROSS THE STREET! If you plan on staying in the Waikiki area, no need to rent a car; there are plenty of things to do within walking distance and if you want to do excursions, most have transportation available and pick up very close to the hotel. The entire staff at the hotel was also great! They were always friendly and accommodating. If I ever returned to Waikiki, I would definitely stay at this hotel again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank CA_DRVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The place is old and the furnishings in desperate need of help. It's very old-school fung shei with it's Oriental style decor. It looks like it hasn't been updated since the 70s...yuck! We had a view of a concrete wall and the room was teeny tiny. We asked if we could get an ocean view. The answer was no there are no ocean views available and even if there was, it would cost you extra (yes we get that part, thank you!) So four nights staring at a concrete wall...great. The good news is that the hotel is close to everything, so you can literally walk out of your room, cross the street, and be on the beach. There's shopping close by, and there's about 80 ABC stores in walking distance. I won't be staying here again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nwterp99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kevin W, Front Office Manager at Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent experiences with us!

Although we have made a few refurbishments to the boutique property, we do understand the need to do more extensive work in the near future. Until that time comes, we are more than happy to provide our guests with exceptional Customer Service, which you experienced.

If you should ever choose to return to the Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel, please let me know.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Honolulu hotels

Holstebro, Denmark
Level 6 Contributor
113 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

123 steps. That was the distance from hour bed to the beach - absolutely wonderful. The room was nothing special and there were no Windows, but with such a beautiful city around it, there's was only time for sleep in the room. The staff were polite and helpful and the cleaning was frequent and good.
We overheard a conversation saying that other hotels were better for the same price, but we don't know if it's true, but you should check it out before booking a room.
We certainly enjoyed the stay though,

Room Tip: We overheard a conversation saying that other hotels were better for the same price, but we don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MadsThirsgaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2013

This is the second time we have stayed at the Beachside in the last 12 months. After our first visit, we couldn't wait to return. First of all, this hotel continues to be an outstanding value. The hotel's location is perfect. It sits right across the street from the beach where all the activities you could ask for are right in front of you.

There are a multitude of dining opportunities within meters of the lobby door. (Eggs and Things is right there, but we suggest you skip the sucker-line at that place and walk a few blocks East to LuLu's for breakfast. No lines, great view, etc.) We walked comfortably from the Beachside to Orchids at Halekulani for dinner one night, and Azure at the Royal Hawaiian for dinner on another night.

The staff is wonderful as always. Kevin, Lave, Larissa, and Kemoki are all all top notch. It would be shocked to find four better representatives of a hotel. All in all, customer service, hospitality, location, and view make up for any physical shortcomings of the hotel. I would venture to say that there isn't a better hotel value in Waikiki.

Room Tip: Pay for the ocean front, well worth the extra little bit! High floors have less road noise and reall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TR993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utah
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2013

The staff was great, but the hotel itself was just so-so. The room was quite stinky with no ventilation, and there was a cockroach clinging to life right outside our door. The TV does not face the bed, and the pillows were lumpy. We asked for more pillows, but never got them. It was fine for what we used it for....to hold our luggage and sleep, but I would never want to hang out in this room all day and relax. The employee at the front desk (Lave) was awesome!. He was really laid back, helpful, and nice. Their parking is valet and that seemed to run smoothly and efficiently. Overall it was nothing great, but it was not awful either.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sugarsprinkle02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penrith, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

stayed in this hotel for 10 days in late april early may 2013 after a cruise. staff were layed back and friendly nothing ever to much trouble, provided clean room and linens daily, had tour office on site that saved us heaps of money on tours etc, right across the road from the main beach and also provided beach towels,had full beach view from veranda and price was excellent. no pool but who needs it when beach across the road, no gym but daily fee for use of a gym 50 mtrs away.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sug1ar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Honolulu hotels
Waikiki
Aston Waikiki Circle Hotel
Park Shore Waikiki
#21 of 84 in Honolulu
1,435 reviews
Waikiki
Outrigger Waikiki Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Waikiki
Hotel Renew
Hotel Renew
#16 of 84 in Honolulu
2,266 reviews
Stay Hotel Waikiki
#68 of 84 in Honolulu
822 reviews
Waikiki
Waikiki Resort Hotel
Waikiki Resort Hotel
#40 of 84 in Honolulu
1,577 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel

Property: Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Address: 2452 Kalakaua Ave, Honolulu, Oahu, HI 96815-6204
Location: United States > Hawaii > Oahu > Honolulu
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Honolulu
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel offers value accommodations in a prime location, directly across from world-famous Waikiki Beach. You'll be right in the heart of Hawaii's premier beach city at an incredible value. Onsite amenities include FREE WiFi, an activities desk, and a serene patio for lounging. Valet parking is available for $25 per day. With a convenient location and affordable accommodations, Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel is a gem on the Waikiki beachfront. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Aqua Waikiki Beachside Honolulu
Resortquest Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Hotel Aqua Waikiki Beachside
Waikiki Beachside Hotel
Aston Waikiki Beachside Hotel Hawaii/Honolulu

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing